We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$138
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$172
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$211
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$144
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$202
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$141
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$217
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$287
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
293
310
120
41
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
310
120
41
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom lofthyde parkcastlereagh stgreat locationboutique hotelsmall hotelst jamesthe heart of the cityreception areapitt st mallironing boardstreet noisewithin walking distancetown hall stationgood sizecomfortable staywould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 783 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a great little hotel within walking distance to Circular Quay, the Rocks, and Darling Harbor. The room had a fridge which was a real bonus and there is a coffee bar in the lobby with GREAT coffee. The staff are friendly and helpful and the wi-fi is free and really good - something we have come to realize is not to be taken for granted in Australia. The room is a little small but we didn't care about that because we weren't there except to sleep. The rooms on the front of the hotel are a little noisy so ask for a room in the back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Andi S,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay AND our wonderful coffee! We consider ourselves very lucky to have our little 24/7 onsite espresso bar, Cafe8, and we love hearing of our guests enjoying it during their time with us.

We hope that the rest of your journey has been smooth and fun, and we wish you safe travels home again at the end of your holiday.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was very disappointing especially given the good reviews...check-in was pretty unfriendly and when we checked out we asked about getting a taxi and they told us to go to the taxi rank - no offer of calling a taxi or helping to hail once despite us having a lot of luggage. Room was average, no view, shower no bath and shower not very hot or powerful. Expected more for the price we paid - if you have other options in the same price range am sorry to say I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citybreakfan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear citybreakfan1980,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us.
We are so disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations.

The service issues you mention are highly uncharacteristic and we are sad that you didn't get the warm welcome and attention that we normally bestow upon our guests! It is unacceptable and we want you to know that we have taken your words to heart, and will always think of your review to remind us how important it is to extend our very best service to each and every guest, at all times, without fail!

It sounds as though you stayed in our Standard room, as they have frosted windows for privacy (being overlooked by a neighbouring building). We have sent you a private message to try and determine which room you were in so we can further investigate the maintenance items you mentioned, and we hope to hear from you soon in that regard.

We really hope that you will give us a second chance. Please feel free to contact us directly if you are ever coming back to Sydney so that we can extend a great return rate, commensurate with the issues you experienced this time around. Remember also that we have several properties around Sydney, each completely unique in location and design. If we can't win you back to Park8 Hotel (which we really hope we can!), we would be happy to arrange great rates for you at a sister property instead.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were transferred for one night since our other hotel had to move all guests out due to construction work for that night.
The rooms have an athmosphere of cemetery with all the dark furniture. fair enough for one night!
But at 8.00 AM the next morning, we got shoot out of the bad from noise right behind our bed. A man was driling and shaping at the cladding. What a nice wake up call! when asking the manager for reason of moving into this house and a kind of an excuse, the answer was: "You know, we get a wunderful new cladding!" Thanks for that excuse, I WAS your guest, once and never again!

Room Tip: Ask for potential construction work, they MAY you tell you not being able to sleep!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Gregor J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. Of course, we are so disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Park8 Hotel!

We are very sorry for the external building construction when you stayed with us. Unfortunately, from time to time, there can be unscheduled maintenance works required in hotels (we really wish there wasn't!), and this was one of those unexpected and unavoidable situations. It was not aesthetic cladding work, but the removal of a drain pipe on the building which was hazardous to passers-by. We are sorry if this was not clearly communicated to you when you were with us - we can imagine how frustrated you would have felt, thinking that the work was just for nicer cladding!

We do our very best to keep our guests well informed about our hotel and to present ourselves honestly, and it is a real shame that we could not have predicted this disruption during your stay or forewarned you.

We wish you all the best on your future travels.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a great hotel. We stayed here to celebrate a special birthday and the staff went out of their way to ensure it was special indeed! The loft suite was more an apartment, with lounge and kitchen (complete with microwave and basic cooking utensils) downstairs; bedroom and bathroom upstairs. It was spacious and nicely furnished. It was surprisingly quiet given its location in the heart of the city. The bus is at the door and the city circle station is one block away. A short stroll to a supermarket and Westfield is just a block in the opposite direction. The staff were wonderful (thanks, Chris!) and made great suggestions for getting around and what to see and do. The management even followed up with us on some comments we made about minor maintenance....great service! We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for quiet, friendly, value for money accommodation in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear HappyWanderers13,

We were honoured that you spent your special occasion with us, and we are thrilled that you had a nice time here.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback for fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September 2013, in a loft bedroom. It is a small hotel and very individual, which I like. The room was great, a sitting room downstairs with kitchenette (microwave only) and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. I was on a business trip and missed having a desk and chair - I have since discovered that another of the loft apartments has this and that they are putting more in, just to remember to ask for one if you need it. The staff were all very friendly and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Dormouse61,

Thank you so much for your review!

That's a very helpful tip you have provided for any guests looking to stay in our fabulous Loft Apartments - most do not have a study desk but some do, so please just request this at the time of booking and we will do our best to accommodate.

We really look forward to having you back again and hope you stay well until your next visit!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews