We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Park8 Sydney is a blink and you will miss it small boutique hotel right on the edge of the main shopping area of Sydney. The new Westfield Sydney Shopping Centre is just two blocks away with its many food options. The interior décor of PArk8 Sydney suits its Boutique aspiration with slate grey painted walls and thick dark green carpets. The beds are comfortable if too warm. I was given one of the rooms with fixed frosted windows, denying me a view, presumably because the room faces into the alley, I suppose. The rooms are quiet and the rain showers are instantly hot when needed. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, even when I arrived 4 hours before official check in time. My main gripe is that the rooms could do with more vacuuming as the surfaces in the rooms were persistently covered with dust, likely because of the thick carpets. Thoughtful included room extras include an ironing board, an iron, hairdryer, anglepoise table lamp. The Romy branded shampoo and other toiletries were great to use also. I recommend this hotel if you are in Sydney for a meeting or convention and want a reasonably priced hotel to stay in that is really close to shopping and food options. Oh yeah, the airport train stops at the Museum and the Town Hall stations, both just 2 short blocks away from Park8 and easily the fastest and cheapest option to get here from Sydney International Airport

Room Tip: Maybe ask if the room windows are frosted or not as that will mean that you will not get a view at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Steven W,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Park8.

We have taken your notes about dust on board and will certainly work harder in our housekeeping department to stay on top of this. In addition, all rooms are undergoing their routine professional carpet cleaning currently, so that should certainly help the situation. Being right in the centre of the city, it is amazing how the dust can quickly accumulate!

We can't wait to have you back again one day, and wish you all the best until then!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 783 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The room looks better than the picture.As expected the room was small but not the smallest that I had ever stay(compare to Japan and HK rooms) However, room house keeping can be done better as the staff had forgotten to remove our left over dinner for 2 nights,it was just outside our room until we need to remind them. Location is quite at night once all the stores are closed personally I think the Chinatown area are more lively at night with store/mall opening at 7plus.

Overall, hotel is still value for money and good location near train station, Hyper park and malls. Took a cab to the airport around 10plus on weekdays and cost only $38.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Vivi2009,

Well, it is not that often that you hear of travellers stating that a hotel looks BETTER in person than in pictures! We do really try to represent ourselves honestly and we are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised when you arrived to us.

We are terribly sorry for that housekeeping oversight and thank you for kindly prompting our team. We have used your feedback in refresher training for all staff to ensure future guests do not experience the same.

Thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to having you with us again one day.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friends and I traveled from Melbourne to have a weekend in the city for my birthday. The location was perfect. The hotel has a really charming atmosphere with the little cafe downstairs and the decor. Smell of coffee - lovely. The room was perfect, we had a really good view of the city, heaps of room and the bed was excellent. Staff really friendly and helpful. Thanks guys you are now my Sydney home away from home. Such good value for money. Christy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dearest Christine S,

We are so thrilled that we helped make your time in Sydney enjoyable and we are honoured to be considered your home-away-from-home!

We can't wait to have you back and hope that life treats you well until your next visit!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a fantastic location, perfect place and excellent, friendly and chipper customer service...with all the things you need (like great service, great coffee, great beds, big bath to soak in, heavenly shower, excellent blockout curtains, great customer service, best location centrally in the city), without the expensive pomp, ceremony, grandeur and over pricing of the big name hotels. Behind the 'easy-to-miss-entrance' lies a cosy enclave of a reception that leads to a relaxing escape that cocoons you from the city bustle. Yet step outside again and you are in the thick of things if you want to do something special. Very close to the big-name shops and QVB, Circular Quay, Cockle Bay Wharf and Darling Harbour...and close to 4 train stations to take you anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Suzie G,

Wow what amazing feedback! You write beautifully - we might have to recruit you to do some copy-writing for us!

The entire team here is just thrilled with your kind words and we were so happy to have you and your family with us. We hope to be welcoming you all back sooner rather than later!

Take care until your next visit, and you know where to find us if we can assist any way in the future.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is great, just a couple of blocks away from the shopping streets, very close to Town Hall station too.

The staff was really friendly & helpful to us.

The room is new and clean, with a nice basin & kitchen top. Overall great experience for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Van N,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us - it was our pleasure to host you! We hope that you will be back to visit soon! Remember that we are available 24/7 to help you with future reservation enquiries, and we are also happy to help with enquiries at any of our sister 8Hotels around Australia, Bali, Fiji or Paris.

Take care until we see you again!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed here about four times on work trips. The first time I wasn't that impressed as I arrived late into Sydney and could have done with a hotel that did room service and there was nothing open in the area bar Burger King! My other stays were much better, it was super handy having a coffee place in the hotel and it was easy to get into where I needed to be for meetings. The staff were mixed the first few times they weren't all that helpful but on my last few stays one of the guys there was great and had a much better attitude than the others. The bed was really comfy and I had a great nights sleep. I would recommend purely for the location!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear saffjackson,

We are so happy to hear from you again! It was a pleasure to have you with us last year.

We do have simple, yummy food options available 24/7 in our on-site espresso bar, Cafe8, including toasted sandwiches, thick-cut toast, bacon & egg rolls and banana bread.
However, it is true that for such a big city, Sydney does not have a lot of very late-night (good) restaurant options around!
If you are ever arriving very late to our hotel again, please feel free to contact us ahead of time and we can see what we could arrange for you, outside of our usual cafe offerings.

It is great to see that you found that our service improved with each stay. We always try to learn from guest feedback and any issues that may arise from time-to-time, and we are glad you noted ongoing improvements.

We hope to have you back again soon - please do not hesitate to contact us at any time for best rates guaranteed.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with my sister. Such comfy beds (they turned the king into two singled) & fluffy pillows (I normally bring my own). Staff were helpful. The coffee was awesome & the bacon & egg rolls (with avocado) were huge, well priced ($6) & yummy. Short walk to Pitt st Mall, QVB & very close to Town Hall Train Station & Hyde Park. Would definitely stay here again. Our room was $155. I had booked several months in advance. The hotel was nicely decorated, modern greys, white & green. There were beautiful black & white photos of Hyde Park throughout. Was such a pleasant stay we definitely wanted to recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear ELW78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your lovely review!

We are thrilled that you made the most of our excellent location and our on-site espresso bar (open 24/7 for our guests!).

Our super comfortable bedding is from an amazing company called Microcloud - if you ever want to look into getting the pillows or mattress protectors for yourself, let us know as our 8Hotels guests get a special price!

We can't wait to have you back again in the future - make sure you contact us when you're next planning your visit so we can give you the best possible return rates.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
693 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#128 of 179 in Sydney
2,210 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#77 of 179 in Sydney
1,406 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,051 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $305 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing