We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney Central
11
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very helpful staff. Great location room was very quiet. Only downside - one of the king beds was on landing upstairs. People in bedroom had to walk past this bed to get to bathroom. Definitely needed second toilet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind words about our team and location! It was a pleasure to have you and your group with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time at Park8 Hotel.

The point you make about the 2 Bedroom Loft Apartment and the shared bathroom is a valid one indeed. The two bedrooms interconnect and the bathroom is en-suite to one bedroom (meaning that you pass through the bedroom to access the bathroom). We do try to make the configuration as clear as possible on our website and when guests book with us directly, but your review has prompted refresher training to ensure this is being communicated by the team when relevant.

We generally suggest that our 2 Bedroom Loft is suited to small families, or groups of close friends travelling together. We do have close work colleagues who like the configuration as well, but completely understand that in many cases colleagues prefer more privacy.

For groups that would prefer two bathrooms, we do have some interconnecting Standard rooms so we encourage you to call us and enquire about that option!

It would be lovely to welcome you all back to Park8 Hotel in the future. We wish you a happy and safe festive season and all the best until your next visit.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 783 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beds are very comfortable which for us was most important. Rooms a bit dark -- ours was on the 5th floor and was noisy, not with traffic noise but from an air conditioning unit outside. Also the windows were frosted which meant little natural light. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were there for 3 nights. There was a small kitchenette - it would have been better if there was some cutlery / dishes to make use of this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fam_gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear fam_gordon,

It was a real pleasure to have you with us at Park8 Hotel! Thank you for providing your helpful feedback for fellow travellers.

Our Standard rooms are our only room type with frosted windows. On your next visit, you might like to try our Deluxe rooms with unfrosted windows which can be opened for fresh air, or our split-level Loft Apartments with floor to ceiling windows allowing a lot of natural light. We will definitely provide a great return rate for you when you enquire directly!

Our Loft Apartments do all have cutlery and crockery in the rooms, but we can certainly provide such items in our Standard and Deluxe rooms on request. Please never hesitate to contact our 24/7 reception desk if any questions or issues come to mind throughout your stay as we almost always have a solution on hand and if we don't, we'll do our best to find one!

We would love to have you back with us and hope that you will stop by when you are next staying in Sydney.

Take care until then!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Located very centrally near Hyde Park and perfect for getting around the whole of Sydney. Room was large, and had a frosted glass window so there was light but no view (we weren't there for the view) and mainly clean although a little dusty behind doors and due to dark furniture you could see more dust after a few days. The bed was large and one of the most comfortable hotel room beds I have slept in. We left our bags with reception as we arrived early, when we returned they had been taken to our room for us which was a nice touch. The hotel has a very small coffee bar at the front serving drinks and food which is very useful. All the staff were very friendly and helped us with maps and advice, the free wifi was a big benefit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunsttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear tunsttravel,

Thank you so much for providing your lovely feedback! We are really glad to read that you enjoyed everything.

We appreciate the notes regarding room cleanliness too, as we strive to maintain the highest standards at all times and feedback such as yours assists us in doing so!

For other travellers out there, our Standard rooms are the ones with frosted windows, ensuring maximum privacy. They are really well sized, comfortable, economical rooms and we are so glad that you enjoyed yours, tunsttravel!

We hope to have you with us again soon. Remember that we are available 24/7 and love to welcome back familiar faces, so please do not hesitate to get in touch when you are next staying in Sydney.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

There are only two downsides to this hotel. One - the outside of the hotel has three names, so it is hard to find and it is an old building that has been renovated. Look past both of these and it is excellent value for money. The service is excellent and very friendly. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms while small are very comfortable. The bathroom is well set out and modern, the services in the room are good and despite being on a main room and we were on the second floor roadside, it is quiet. My only criticism is that there could have been more lights, especially ifyou want to read in bed. But for the money we paid, it was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear DogJudge,

We are really thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words!

We do have little clip-on reading lights available from reception on request, so please do not hesitate to call our 24/7 front desk and have one delivered to your room at your next stay.

Being such an intimate little property, Park8 Hotel is quite well hidden with our 'blink and you'll miss it' shop-front. Signs from neighbouring businesses can add to the confusion as you mention! For future guests, we are at the corner of Castlereagh and Park Streets, near to the Post Office. We have an excellent on-site espresso bar, Cafe8, which is also open to the general public during week days so you can look for that to identify us as well!

DogJudge, we look forward to having you with us again and hope that life treats you well until then.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location is very convenient, and the staff very helpful, but I strongly encourage those wishing to stay here to request a room at the back. Mine faced onto Park St and I was continually woken by trucks/buses pulling away from the traffic lights. Despite earplugs, I probably got less than four hours sleep - not a good start to the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from either Park or Castlereagh Sts. Apparently rooms ending in 6 or 7 are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atreloar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear atreloar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback and helpful hints for fellow travellers!

We are so distressed to read that you suffered such a poor night's sleep! Our central location is excellent indeed, but being a low-rise building in the vibrant CBD does allow for occasional street-noise intrusion in some of our rooms.

For any light sleepers we would definitely recommend our Loft Apartments or Standard Rooms as the quietest options. Our Deluxe rooms are all either facing Park or Castlereagh Streets (perfect for watching the outside world go by!) with windows that can be opened for fresh air, and although they are the favourites of many guests they are more noise-affected than the other room types. As you mention though, the Deluxe rooms ending in 6 & 7, especially on level 4, are the quietest ones of that type. We will always welcome requests for the quietest possible room!

We really hope to have you back again and would love for you to contact us directly when you next plan to visit Sydney so that we can ensure a better sleep second time around.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The service from the Park8 employees was five-star from the moment we made the booking over the phone. Friendly, professional and helpful from that point until we checked out and had someone come out with our luggage to help put it in the car.
The location is also perfect for anyone wanting to stay in the heart of the city - Pitt St mall, Hyde Park, Town Hall, QVB and everything in between are less than three minutes' walk away, but inside it was still surprisingly quiet. We were on the fifth floor and had next to no noise from outside at any time during our one-night stay.
The room was really nice - we had a loft room and there were separate TVs and A/C units upstairs and downstairs. Tere were a few small things that took the polish off it a little bit - nothing that actually affected our stay, but small things like chipped and scuffed paint, poorly laid tiles in the bathroom and a bathroom vanity with the front broken off the bottom of it. They were all only minor but it made the room have a slightly less-than-premium feel. Still, we slept really well and the staff's manner outweighed these small negatives.
We used the hotel's deal with the nearby Hilton to park there - it's just around the corner only about 200m away, but be warned that due to a lot of one-way streets in that area you've got to go a long way around if you are driving from the parking station back to the hotel to pick up your bags. It took me 25 mins to get the car out of the parking station, through the traffic and back to the hotel to pick up my wife and bags waiting in the foyer.
All in all though we really enjoyed this place, commend the staff and would book again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear njk17,

Thank you so much for the great review and useful information for fellow travellers!

The entire team is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and that we will have the pleasure of your company again one day!

We really appreciate the notes about the room and if you were inclined to contact us directly with the name on your booking or room number, it would be greatly appreciated so that we could address the specific items you mention. In any case, we're continuously working on improving our property and will conduct full audits throughout all loft apartments to get them in top condition.

We do apologise that you had to battle through the Sydney maze of one-way streets and traffic on departure. To be honest, even living and working in Sydney, we never bother with cars in the CBD because it is such a headache! Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter.

Remember that we are here 24/7 for any future reservation enquiries - we love to welcome back familiar faces and look forward to having you back!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Second time staying at this facility. Corridor and room decorations give the place a boutique appearance. Rooms are clean and surprisingly quiet. Central location is convenient to get to town hall in one direction and Hyde Park in the other - only challenge is getting the taxi driver to find the place since the main entrance is off of Castlereagh.

The people behind the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

Free wifi at this location.

Ask about the free gym passes to the Fitness First location at Park and Pitt St.

For the price, cleanliness, location, and amenities, it has become my favorite place to go when staying overnight in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear jojufa,

Ah you've made our day - we couldn't ask for anything more than to be your favourite place to stay in Sydney!

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your second visit (and we hope to see you enjoying many more!).

Thank you also for the great tip to fellow travellers regarding our complimentary Fitness First passes! It's a great little extra and the gym is located only a 5 minute walk from the hotel - we love to see this service utilised by our guests!

We hope to be welcoming you back soon and hope that life treats you well until then.

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#95 of 179 in Sydney
448 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#104 of 179 in Sydney
699 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#85 of 179 in Sydney
417 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#50 of 179 in Sydney
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $300 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing