We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #56 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a lovely weekend stay at this hotel.

Loved the decor of the foyer and cafe. So convenient for a morning coffee and quick snack before starting a day.

The room was generously sized, with a great view of the city and park. The design was great, and it was all very clean. One thing I would note though, is my shower soaps weren't replenished for day two, but I was about to use the backup soap bar.

Staff were very friendly, and always on hand with recommendations about the area, especially Mercedes and Daniel.

Amazing location, at a good rate. Will be back and happy to recommend.

Room Tip: The corner deluxe rooms are particularly spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Adrian B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us in Sydney!

We appreciate your note about the replenishment of amenities and will be sure to keep a closer eye on these details. Never be afraid to call reception in such instances so that we can rectify the situation right away - that's what we're here for!

We really look forward to having you with us again; remember that you can contact us 24/7 with any reservation enquiries. Take care until we see you next!

Warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    305
    118
    39
    18
See reviews for
135
266
69
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When I travel for business I don't need the fake extras like pillow service, newspaper etc. I just want a clean room, comfy bed, pleasant staff and a decent desk area to do work. Park8 delivered this in spades and a few nice extras like free internet and a killer Cafe downstairs that doubles as room service - I don't have to feel guilty shelling out $30 for cornflakes and pot coffee, I can get a great variety of toast, tea, jaffles etc and all delivered to the door. The staff are all young and friendly - made me feel really welcome

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Tony T,

We were thrilled to read your kind review!

It is our goal to provide exceptional service and we are so happy that you felt well looked after! It's excellent to read also that you enjoyed our Cafe8 items! 'Killer Cafe' - we LOVE that!

You will always be welcomed back by your Park8 family, and we hope to see you again sooner rather than later. Take care until then!

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were there this week only for one night but all the fabulous reviews previously are spot on, great service, great location, great room and excellent customer service. We had a loft room, it was big, clean and loved overlooking the street checking the world go by from above. Could not fault the hotel, will definitely recommend and return next time we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Kookie8,

We hope you enjoyed a great weekend!

Thank you so much for your kind words; what a wonderful start to the week for us, reading such a lovely review!

It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again in the near future! As you know, we are here 24/7, so just let us know when you are thinking of travelling and we will take care of the rest.

Have a great week!

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location, literally a short stroll to town hall station, westfield, myer, monorail stop etc etc. The service was fantastic. Just didn't think it warranted the $300 per night fee that we paid for it. Also, a little noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank petalpetalpetalpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear P B,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Park8 Hotel and for your valuable feedback posted here. It was a pleasure to have you with us for your special occasion!

We are so thrilled that you were well looked after by our team! We love to see our guests enjoy their time here and will do everything within our power to ensure that is the result.

It is wonderful that you made the most of our convenient, central location! Of course, the flip side of being a boutique hotel in the heart of the vibrant Sydney CBD can mean that the hustle and bustle can at times intrude indoors. However, we do have sleeping aids available from reception 24/7 and will always accommodate requests for the quietest room possible. Noting in your booking request that it was a special occasion, we wanted you to enjoy one of our most special rooms which included views to Hyde Park and a free standing bath tub. For guests looking for the absolute quietest room option, we would definitely recommend our split-level loft apartments, located on the highest floor and not heavily penetrated by street noise. Although, as stated, we can accommodate requests for a quiet room in all room types.

We have various great promotions for sale throughout the year and encourage guests to contact our 24/7 reception for details, to ensure you secure the best value rates possible.

We really would love to have you back one day soon and wish you all the best until we see you again.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

on a recent visit we booked the park 8 and were told they had an understanding with a local parking spot.As I have used this type of parking in the past I was upset to find on arival the parking cost was $60 per.use.once in once out $60. Or the other spot they had was 7 city blocks walk up/down hill.Im 60 and use a cane to walk, not good.! As for the mold it was all round the bath. the rest of the room was v good except for the noise, but it is city center.All the staff were excellent and did all they could

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear danny g,

It is such a disappointment that the parking situation hindered your stay with us, though we do really appreciate your kind comments about the team!

If we could add on-site parking to the hotel, or bring down Sydney's rather high parking prices, we certainly would! That not being possible, we have done our best to secure the most convenient, cost effective option nearby at the Secure Parking facility one block from our hotel, where we have negotiated a $60/night rate for our guests as opposed to the usual $79/night rate charged directly.

We do have a sister property, the Pensione Hotel, located just across the road from the parking facility you used - they are also a lovely establishment with great service and perhaps you would consider staying with them on future visits to Sydney. Or perhaps our Diamant Hotel in Potts Point, just on the fringe of the CBD, would suit you as they offer on-site parking at $35/night (as well as the friendly, professional 8Hotels service!).

Thank you very much for bringing the cleaning issue to our attention so that it could be immediately rectified.

We really wish we could have provided a perfect stay for you, on this occasion and later in the year as we had originally discussed. We wish you all the very best for the future and especially for the upcoming 'special day'!

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe room for one night only. Certainly recomend staying here. In the heart of the city, our deal included 12.00 pm check out on a Sunday and unlimited coffees in the foyer downstairs. Fantastic coffee, the staff here are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. You would think there would be very loud traffic noises but it is actually very quiet in the rooms. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe room that we were in was on Castlereagh Street side but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kim L,

Thank you kindly for your recommendation and glowing review! It has really made our day.

We are so glad that you felt well looked after by the team and had the chance to enjoy our delicious Di Bella coffee.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope that life treats you well until then!

With warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good spot in the city near the Pitt Street mall and Museum and Town Hall Stations. It's quiet even though it's located right near a pub. The hotel is clean, but the rooms felt a little old and small, in particular the bathroom, which didn't seem like it had been renovated very well. We got a good rate (under $200) and I'm not sure I'd stay here unless we got a low rate again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear TravelChick78,

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our convenient central location and found everything clean and tidy! We are also glad that you felt it was good value on the special you booked. We have various promotions available throughout the year and can be contacted directly 24/7 for information on our best value options.

It is a shame that you weren't overly taken with your room, and we would love to know which room number you were in so that we could follow up on your comments further. Please feel free to contact us directly with more information. We do have several different room types at Park8 Hotel, all with different configurations, and it may be that another room type would better suit your preferences.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back someday soon. Take care until then.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#54 of 177 in Sydney
1,315 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#48 of 177 in Sydney
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#124 of 177 in Sydney
2,052 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 177 in Sydney
603 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#42 of 177 in Sydney
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Property: Park8 Hotel Sydney
Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing