We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were there this week only for one night but all the fabulous reviews previously are spot on, great service, great location, great room and excellent customer service. We had a loft room, it was big, clean and loved overlooking the street checking the world go by from above. Could not fault the hotel, will definitely recommend and return next time we are in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Kookie8,

We hope you enjoyed a great weekend!

Thank you so much for your kind words; what a wonderful start to the week for us, reading such a lovely review!

It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to see you again in the near future! As you know, we are here 24/7, so just let us know when you are thinking of travelling and we will take care of the rest.

Have a great week!

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 783 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location, literally a short stroll to town hall station, westfield, myer, monorail stop etc etc. The service was fantastic. Just didn't think it warranted the $300 per night fee that we paid for it. Also, a little noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank petalpetalpetalpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear P B,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Park8 Hotel and for your valuable feedback posted here. It was a pleasure to have you with us for your special occasion!

We are so thrilled that you were well looked after by our team! We love to see our guests enjoy their time here and will do everything within our power to ensure that is the result.

It is wonderful that you made the most of our convenient, central location! Of course, the flip side of being a boutique hotel in the heart of the vibrant Sydney CBD can mean that the hustle and bustle can at times intrude indoors. However, we do have sleeping aids available from reception 24/7 and will always accommodate requests for the quietest room possible. Noting in your booking request that it was a special occasion, we wanted you to enjoy one of our most special rooms which included views to Hyde Park and a free standing bath tub. For guests looking for the absolute quietest room option, we would definitely recommend our split-level loft apartments, located on the highest floor and not heavily penetrated by street noise. Although, as stated, we can accommodate requests for a quiet room in all room types.

We have various great promotions for sale throughout the year and encourage guests to contact our 24/7 reception for details, to ensure you secure the best value rates possible.

We really would love to have you back one day soon and wish you all the best until we see you again.

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

on a recent visit we booked the park 8 and were told they had an understanding with a local parking spot.As I have used this type of parking in the past I was upset to find on arival the parking cost was $60 per.use.once in once out $60. Or the other spot they had was 7 city blocks walk up/down hill.Im 60 and use a cane to walk, not good.! As for the mold it was all round the bath. the rest of the room was v good except for the noise, but it is city center.All the staff were excellent and did all they could

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear danny g,

It is such a disappointment that the parking situation hindered your stay with us, though we do really appreciate your kind comments about the team!

If we could add on-site parking to the hotel, or bring down Sydney's rather high parking prices, we certainly would! That not being possible, we have done our best to secure the most convenient, cost effective option nearby at the Secure Parking facility one block from our hotel, where we have negotiated a $60/night rate for our guests as opposed to the usual $79/night rate charged directly.

We do have a sister property, the Pensione Hotel, located just across the road from the parking facility you used - they are also a lovely establishment with great service and perhaps you would consider staying with them on future visits to Sydney. Or perhaps our Diamant Hotel in Potts Point, just on the fringe of the CBD, would suit you as they offer on-site parking at $35/night (as well as the friendly, professional 8Hotels service!).

Thank you very much for bringing the cleaning issue to our attention so that it could be immediately rectified.

We really wish we could have provided a perfect stay for you, on this occasion and later in the year as we had originally discussed. We wish you all the very best for the future and especially for the upcoming 'special day'!

With warmest regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe room for one night only. Certainly recomend staying here. In the heart of the city, our deal included 12.00 pm check out on a Sunday and unlimited coffees in the foyer downstairs. Fantastic coffee, the staff here are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. You would think there would be very loud traffic noises but it is actually very quiet in the rooms. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe room that we were in was on Castlereagh Street side but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Kim L,

Thank you kindly for your recommendation and glowing review! It has really made our day.

We are so glad that you felt well looked after by the team and had the chance to enjoy our delicious Di Bella coffee.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope that life treats you well until then!

With warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good spot in the city near the Pitt Street mall and Museum and Town Hall Stations. It's quiet even though it's located right near a pub. The hotel is clean, but the rooms felt a little old and small, in particular the bathroom, which didn't seem like it had been renovated very well. We got a good rate (under $200) and I'm not sure I'd stay here unless we got a low rate again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelChick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear TravelChick78,

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our convenient central location and found everything clean and tidy! We are also glad that you felt it was good value on the special you booked. We have various promotions available throughout the year and can be contacted directly 24/7 for information on our best value options.

It is a shame that you weren't overly taken with your room, and we would love to know which room number you were in so that we could follow up on your comments further. Please feel free to contact us directly with more information. We do have several different room types at Park8 Hotel, all with different configurations, and it may be that another room type would better suit your preferences.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back someday soon. Take care until then.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Apart from the excellent location (one can walk from the hotel basically to everywhere that matters in central Sydney), the hotel offers a very pleasant environment and a totally helpful staff. I stayed for 6 nights in a standard room and I did not find any bad things to say (well, maybe they could do a better job in cleaning the dust in the room - I have the impression that they do not clean the furniture properly). As a guest, I had complimentary access to the gym one block away from the hotel - an excellent gym, by the way! Free wifi is really a treat and works perfectly. I did not order things from the cafe, but it was always busy, so I guess it offered good food / drinks. If you are here looking for a nice place to stay, I guess you will not have to search further.

Room Tip: I called in advance to let then know that I am a light sleeper and they assigned me a very quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHG_Brasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear CHG_Brasilia,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! It is a shame that you didn't have the opportunity to try anything from our little espresso bar, but it's a good reason for you to come and visit again!

Thank you for your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your room. We have used your comments in our weekly refresher training to ensure our high standards are maintained at all times.

Please feel free to contact us directly at any time when you are returning to Sydney; we love to welcome back familiar faces! Stay well until then.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel on the corner of Castlereagh and Park Streets is well situated near Hyde Park, George Street, and Pitt Street Mall for shopping. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and provided excellent service. The foyer is very small with an adjoining mini cafe / bar - all quite cozy and ambient. Unfortunately we missed out on Happy Hour the day we arrived! The room we stayed in is modern and clean and I LOVED the oversized shower head! The king size bed was very comfortable, and I liked that there was a crisp white doona cover rather than a grubby bed spread. I personally found the pillows to be quite flat and wonder about the quality or whether it is time to replace them with new ones. There are block out blinds and curtains, so the room remained really dark in the morning - great for anyone who enjoys a sleep in. I am a light sleeper, so was bothered by the street noise on the first night. Sydney is a city that doesn't stop! I bought some ear plugs and that helped a lot. Overall, this is a hotel without frills, such as newspapers, cable TV, or gym, but what it does offer is done really well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarycA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear MarycA61,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to host you and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

What a shame that you missed out on our Happy Hour! It's only a new initiative in the hotel, so we are super excited that you mentioned it. Make sure you call us directly when you next visit so that we can schedule Happy Hour during your stay (we don't operate it every day yet, but hopefully in the future we will be able to!).

You are not the first guest to mention the pillows and we will be updating them throughout the hotel. Please also remember that you can call reception at any time with any requests or concerns - we can easily assist with issues such as replacement of pillows as they arise, to ensure a comfortable stay for you. We also have sleeping aids available at reception so always ask us before purchasing such things; it's highly likely we will already have it available at the hotel for you!

We do have Foxtel channels available in all rooms, and complimentary passes available to the nearby Fitness First gym - just enquire at reception during your next stay and we will happily provide further details. The Daily Telegraph and The Australian newspapers are available from the cafe for our guests as well. We do apologise that these extra services were not explained to you during your stay, but you will definitely be able to enjoy them all next time!

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back and hope that life treats you well until we next see you.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#100 of 179 in Sydney
693 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#128 of 179 in Sydney
2,205 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#77 of 179 in Sydney
1,403 reviews
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,050 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 179 in Sydney
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $305 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing