We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”
Review of Park8 Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Ranked #57 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were passing through Sydney and chose this hotel mainly because the website stated that there was carparking available. It would have been helpful to know that the hotel does not have its own facility, but instead directs you to the hotel next door (at $75 per day). Further complicating the problem, there is nowhere to park on Castlereagh St while you check in. The receptionist did not have any other parking suggestions, so we were left to stand in the foyer and google solutions ourselves. We ended up leaving the car in an underground mulit-level across the park ($35 per day), which was a 15 minute walk away. My lift key didn't work and needed to be re-coded.
The room was in need of an update- the carpet was lifting and worn in areas of joins, and there were several light globes which needed replacing (the receptionist tried to replace a couple of them, but didn't have the correct globe). The bed, however, was wonderfully comfortable, with nice linen. It was fairly noisy, but I that's to be expected of the CBD.
We had breakfast included, and it was pretty good! Room service only, from the little takeaway cafe downstairs. Breakfast wraps and toasties, and good DiBella coffee.
The location was excellent for access to buses and for attractions.
While overall we weren't unhappy with our stay, we probably won't stay here again. We usually drive when we come to Sydney, and the parking issue was a real sticking point for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear esbs,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your review.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our huge king bed. As well as having great 8 Hotels branded Sealy mattresses, we now have amazing Microcloud Mattress Toppers on all beds which make them the most blissfully comfortable beds out there!

We also wish we had our very own on-site parking, but unfortunately that is not possible in our building. We do recommend that our guests leave the car at home wherever possible as we are very well serviced by all public transport options and Sydney parking is notoriously expensive. However, we understand that this is not always possible and so we have negotiated a great-value rate for our guests at the nearby Hilton Secure Parking complex of $60/24 hours. When paid directly at the complex the rate is at least $80/24 hours. Although the $35 rate you paid across the park is very decent, we find that a 15 minute walk is generally too far for most guests. We have done our absolute best to find the best value, most convenient parking option possible.

There are many loading zones along Castlereagh Street and there is also a driveway to the building next door right near our front door. We encourage all guests who are driving to phone us when they are nearby so that we can arrange to meet them on the street to unload the luggage and take it to the hotel while our guests proceed to the parking complex. We really try our best to make the process as smooth and easy as possible for our guests.

We hope that you will reconsider staying with us, perhaps on an occasion when you don't require the car!

Take care and we wish you a very happy Easter this coming weekend.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    307
    118
    40
    18
See reviews for
135
268
70
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My first impression of a below par establishment was confirmed just after I checked in. The lift key card did not work and had to be recoded. My non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke, light globes were out and the ironing board was nowhere to be seen. It appeared at midnight when the staff knocked on my door. Not an appropriate time. I will find a different establishment next time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Audit007,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, though it is a shame you did not enjoy your stay with us. It appears you experienced an inordinate amount of issues which is not usual at our establishment.

We are a strictly non-smoking hotel, as you mention, and extend our profuse apologies that you found that your room smelt as though it had been smoked in. Unfortunately, there are the odd occasions when some guests do not observe this policy (penalties do apply in such instances). We have special odour removing procedures in place and the room will not be used until the smell has been completely removed and the room sanitised. This complaint has been passed on to the entire team to reiterate the importance of checking and rechecking every single room to ensure no odour lingers.

There seems to have been a miscommunication between you and our Front Desk team with regard to the ironing board and we are so sorry for the intrusion and inconvenience caused. We would absolutely never bother a guest at such an hour unless we were contacted by them directly for a specific request. Regardless, the ironing board should certainly have been available in your room prior to check-in as per our hotel standards. Housekeeping has been briefed on this issue.

We are sorry that we will not have the pleasure of hosting you again and we genuinely wish you all the best in the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We live close to Sydney and decided to treat ourselves to a room for a night out instead of having to deal with taxis and transport!

We weren't disappointed with our choice. We stayed in a loft room which was lovely. It had a large spa-shaped bath and the size of the whole apartment was impressive. The bed was comfortable however the pillows were not. The pillows were very thin and there was no selection of pillows. The only problem was our air conditioner. It made a lot of noise every time to compressor kicked in (about every 10 minutes!). Between the air conditioner and the pillows we unfortunately didn't get a very good nights sleep.

The staff were incredibly friendly (even smiling when we requested more towels at 3am!).

The location is fantastic. A short walk from everywhere we wanted we to go.

We would stay here again, after checking that the air conditioning is working quietly!

Room Tip: The loft apartments are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mikaila D,

It was so lovely for us to read your kind words and we are really delighted that you enjoyed your time at Park8 Hotel.

We genuinely appreciate the important feedback regarding the pillows and the air conditioning unit. We have scheduled an air-conditioning maintenance inspection to check all of the loft rooms and follow up on the compressor noise that you mentioned. Our housekeeping team are also checking the quality of our pillows throughout the whole hotel, providing replacements as required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park8 Hotel and we will be more than happy to check the above items in your room prior to check-in to ensure the best possible stay!

Take care until we next see you.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Well I hope that Mercedes will post this review. I want to address a few issues I faced when I decided to give Park8 a try. My friend and I travel to Sydney regularly and we decided to change from our normal hotel so I found Park 8 on the internet and was happy with what I saw. I rang the hotel four times and was reassured that the rooms were of an excellent standard. When we arrived I was shocked at how dusty and dirty the hotel was and how much the rooms needed renovating. Cracked paint and mould in the bathrooms, a strong smell of old alcohol and smoke from downstairs ... Oh yes this boutique hotel sits above a pub. When I inform the staff (Hugo and Mercedes ) that I wouldn't be staying there ... Hugo disappeared and then Mercedes took over( and from the conversation) I felt she had done this before ... I asked for a refund and finally was reassured that I would get a full refund of my money so as to did accommodation in a more suitable hotel . I have jut discovered they have kept a nights ccommodation from my account and I am saddened as
She reassured me that they were sobbusy they would fill the room
immediately. We asked them to hold the room until 4 pm as it was 3:15pm and she informed us that she would but inwe didn't contact her by then they would give to other customers .We were able to secure the HIlton hotel for $199 which was cheaper than Park8 we were paying $255 for a run down dusty hotel for a 5star luxury room at the Hilton. So Mercedes I would appreciate the return of my money as what you say your hotel is on the Internet is very misleading .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Honestythebestpolicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear honestythebestpolicy,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to post this review and the fact that you even remembered us by name. We share two of the exact same sentiments; 1) that honesty is always the best policy indeed; and 2) that of complete shock.

It is a real shame that, in spite of our best efforts to accommodate your multiple requests and having provided a complimentary early check-in, we were unable to provide a wonderful stay for you. However, we are glad to hear that you found alternative accommodation and ended up enjoying your time in Sydney.

After you advised that you were not satisfied with the view from the room, it was agreed with you that we would keep the room as a confirmed booking for the first night (at a very special rate) because you were concerned about finding another hotel. You also asked that we hold the second night for you which Mercedes agreed to do until 4pm that afternoon. You went out and then called the hotel twice to reconfirm that you held a confirmed booking for the first night at a special rate and that we were holding the room for the second night until 4pm. On both occasions, this was clearly reconfirmed. Accordingly, you were indeed charged for the first night's accommodation. The second night was released at 4pm without penalty as agreed.

We wish you all the best for the future.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Let me say it was great to see such a beautiful smiling face on arrival at your hotel. And the smiling still followed through even from the Manager at 4am return. I've been in the indusrty for over 20 yrs and have travelled alot, so it was very reassuring to see that our hospitality workers are doing their bit in keeping Austrailian tourism alive. After all we all want to feel like we are home when travelling, what better way then a friendly smile and a chat.. Also the location and room where spot on.. (but we can get that anywhere) Top marks for such pleasant staff...

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatterbox2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Chatterbox2012,

At Park8 Hotel, we genuinely love what we do and thrive on interaction with our valued guests. It is so rewarding to receive such a lovely review.

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We will be ready and waiting with giant smiles and friendly chatter to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

At around $200, you could do a lot worse than Park8 for a bed for the night.
Very friendly reception staff. Clean room.
A bit noisy outside but it is low rise in the CBD.
For the money, I couldn't complain at all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imqaretman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Imqaretman,

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time with us and grateful for you taking the time to provide your feedback. We definitely cannot complain about a 4/5 rating! Thank you so much.

The whole team is looking forward to welcoming you back one day and hope that you stay well until then.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Excellent location, walking distance to Darling Harbour, Rocks/Circular Quay, Chinatown. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions on restaurants, places to go, etc. Definite kudos to the staff!

The room itself was small by American standards. I was travelling with a friend and we had (2) twin beds - it was a good thing we're friends and didn't mind the proximity to one another too much but it was definitely close quarters for sure.

Con: no drawers in our room which made unpacking a bit of a pain. Plenty of hanging space but since we were there for four nights, I would have liked to been able to unpack more. Unfortunately, the room was so small, I don't know where a bureau would have gone anyhow. Bathroom was a decent size but the shower did not drain that well. Yes, the lift was a bit slow but nothing that hindered our stay. Our room looked out onto Castlereagh so it was a little noisy at times. Nothing ear plugs can't fix.

While we were there, another friend stayed in a king-bed sized room and it was a good space, bigger bathroom and the layout seemed more efficient.

Overall, great little place. A bit on the pricey side for the size and overall accommodations of the room (the most expensive of our entire trip) but I'm guessing competitive for Sydney.

Can't complain about the location!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park8Hotel, Manager at Park8 Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear SCTraveler95,

Thank you for the kudos! We really appreciate the lovely things you've said about our team in your review and feel very proud indeed.

We really do have an excellent, central location and it's great to note that you enjoyed every minute of it. We are always happy to help with recommendations and directions at our 24 hour reception and invite all guests to spend some time with us so we can ensure you make the most of your time in Sydney.

Our luxurious rain shower heads do provide a lot of high-pressure waterfall, which makes for a lovely shower I am sure you'll agree! Your valuable comments regarding the shower drainage were passed on to our Maintenance and Management teams for investigation and consideration in future development of the hotel.

It is great that you had the opportunity to see two of our different room types during your stay, being the Standard room you were in and the Deluxe room of your friends. All of our rooms are king bed rooms (unless requested as single twins) and very comfortable, but when you next stay with us you will have a good idea of which will best suit your individual needs.

We hope you enjoyed your entire trip thoroughly and look forward to welcoming you back to Park8 Hotel when you next visit Sydney. Take care until that time.

Warm regards,

The Park8 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#55 of 179 in Sydney
1,380 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#125 of 179 in Sydney
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#47 of 179 in Sydney
1,013 reviews
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 179 in Sydney
628 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park8 Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park8 Hotel Sydney

Property: Park8 Hotel Sydney
Address: 185 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Sydney
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park8 Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, this intimate 36 room boutique hotel is located on the doorstep of Sydney’s iconic Hyde Park and central to the best shopping, dining and entertainment districts. Park8 offers an oasis of comfort, space and tranquility. Interiors are inspired by Sydney’s natural surrounds which resonate throughout the spacious guest rooms & lofts and feature modern luxury amenities fused with old world charm. Experience the highest level of discreet and personalised service and the genuine warmth and care of our professional team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Park8 Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park8 Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing