We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Gem in the rocks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fine Food Store

The Fine Food Store
Ranked #65 of 5,392 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Tucked away on Kendall lane, the oldest laneway in The Rocks, The Fine Food Store has been a much-loved favourite of locals for over 10 years. Recently revealing its Brooklyn-inspired renovation, this cool and contemporary cafe offers a succinct menu of fresh and tasty offerings from braised-pork sliders to salmon gravlax with fennel salad. They pride themselves on the highest standard in coffee, from cold brewed to single origin espresso - to be enjoyed at a picturesque window seat or to-go when you're on the run.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem in the rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had breakfast there on a lazy Sunday morning. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and good food. Good service, the right buzz in the room. And just fun to sit and chat, look a

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wizard139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    141
    36
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stumbled on this café having made a booking at the Sydney Visitor Centre, which is in the same building. A very pleasant lunch (veg and chickpea soup if my memory serves me well) outside, as well as a decent cup of coffee. Friendly staff and some interesting people to eavesdrop on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Amazing Flavor Combinations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

In the Rocks area, this small deli style restaurant is worth a visit. We had the Lamb Sausage Sandwich, the Breakfast Sandwich and the Chicken Avocado Sandwich and each of them was yummy, unique and bursting with flavors. The staff seemed to take pride in their offerings which made the experience better. There were a bunch of baked goodies available and they looked really good but we did not have a chance to sample them.

The is a self help area with a bunch of condiments and water & cups.

Located in a quieter ally, but once you enter the street it is easy to spot. Overall a good experience and we would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frem862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was looking forward to going out for dinner with friends, but they couldn't come. This left me alone in the Rocks at 3pm on a Saturday Afternoon. I went around looking for a nice place to grab a bite to eat and was walking up Kendall Lane and there, hidden amonts the concrete jungle was a small store called the Fine Food Store. I thought why the hell not and went in and it was amazing. The atmosphere of the store is literally like an unknown jewel. The service was amazing, the waitress who served me at the counter was so nice and helpful - making sure I got the answer to every question I asked to ensure I got the best meal possible. I ended up ordering a sandwich to takeaway and ate it up on observatory hill in the sun. Possibly one of the most simplest and best meals I have had. If you haven't already I would recommend grabbing a bite to eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lwkenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Made a special effort to come here, not sure it was worth it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for some nice cafe style food so, based on all the positive reviews, I decided to make my way to the Fine Food Store. Just finding parking was difficult and expensive.

On arrival I was told that just about everything that they still have available for lunch is on display (in the display fridge below the counter). I chose a chicken and mushroom in fylo and a cappuccino. The food was clearly warmed up in the microwave and was a bit bland, but it had a decent amount of filling so wasn't too bad. The cappuccino was pretty good, but could have been a little hotter.

I'd say that if you find yourself walking past the restuarant it's not a bad choice at all, but I wouldn't make a special effort to eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fine Food Store also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Fine Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing