We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best espresso in The Rocks and yummy breakfast”

The Fine Food Store
Ranked #35 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Tucked away on Kendall lane, the oldest laneway in The Rocks, The Fine Food Store has been a much-loved favourite of locals for over 10 years. Recently revealing its Brooklyn-inspired renovation, this cool and contemporary cafe offers a succinct menu of fresh and tasty offerings from braised-pork sliders to salmon gravlax with fennel salad. They pride themselves on the highest standard in coffee, from cold brewed to single origin espresso - to be enjoyed at a picturesque window seat or to-go when you're on the run.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best espresso in The Rocks and yummy breakfast”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

had breakky at this cute cafe twice. the espresso is 10/10 and the food was very good as well (avocado and ricotta on sourdough, vegetarian cooked breakfast). the food is made with fresh and "honest" food.
The shop has some very yummy food and is a great stop for gifts or just to indulge yourself.
The cafe is in the midst of the Rocks but it is not a touristy spot at all. nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    175
    44
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic breakfast!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Great coffee and a great breakfast as well. The atmosphere was relaxed and service friendly. I will probably visit again before I leave Sydney next week. The spicy beans with poached eggs were very good.

Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good honest food, relaxed setting.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have most of our breakfasts here when on holidays. Fantastic coffee, possibly best in Sydney. Food is fabulous and unfussy. I have three boys and we are always welcome. Take away meals great for dinner when stuck in a hotel too. Early for breakfast is best with a family as it gets very busy. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KDagge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Quirky, personal - and good food!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Right next door to my hotel, I ate breakfast here instead... excellent coffee and good selection of food - both to eat and take away. Service friendly and personal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
655 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoyed a fantastic, fresh, healthy lunch with excellent cappuccinos before our Sydney Bridge Climb. Tough to find seating but worth a short wait. Salads, sandwiches and dessert were delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fine Food Store also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Fine Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing