We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for tourists”

Peter's Fish Market
Ranked #1,132 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $2 - $42
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Barbecue, Seafood
Description: We are a premier fresh seafood supplier and restaurant located in the heart of the Sydney Fish Market. We pride ourself on the largest fresh Seafood range in Sydney and focus on sourcing sustainable, ethical seafood.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a premier fresh seafood supplier and restaurant located in the heart of the Sydney Fish Market. We pride ourself on the largest fresh Seafood range in Sydney and focus on sourcing sustainable, ethical seafood.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must for tourists”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The venue is on the waterfront near Sydney's Darling Harbour. The seafood is always fresh off the trawlers and the oysters, prawns, calamari and fish are displayed in totally hygenic refrigerated cabinets. The experience should not be missed. Watch your food closely as the seagulls will remove it the instant you take your eyes off it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank middo_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    23
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Barely scored Average”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Not bad, not great, nothing special. I was mostly disappointed as was hoping for some lovely fresh seafood but it was no better or worse than the local fish shop at home. Maybe worse in that the batter was particularly oily and I had to fight off the seagulls from stealing my chips - they won in the end as I wasn't about to finish chips or let my kids have them after they'd had a go at them. Maybe the 'atomosphere' of dozens of dirty great ibis trolling in the large trash bins and seagull poop covered tables and chairs, would be acceptable if the food was something to write home about but given the ordinariness of it, the luck lustre food emphasised the grottiness of the whole seating area outside. Yes the serving was huge - a large seafood platter - but prawns were in no way fresh, their powedery-ness gave way to the fact were well and truly old. The calimari and spicy baby octopus were rubbery (spicy sauce was dreadful).
We've had the most amazing fresh fish (in Yamba) and this wasn't.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parrotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
406 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“We went there 3 days in a row”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A fantastic variety of cooked and raw fish, shellfish & seafood.Everything you can think of was on offer and at competitive prices too, We ate oysters, moreton bay bugs, prawns and queued for the excellent sashimi. Nice outdoor seating too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Juicy Grilled Barramudi”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

They have very nice grilled barramudi & a lot of fresh sashimi.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank typical_uranian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
218 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Freshest Seafood”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

For the freshest sea food, an amazing variety of shell fish in particular, don't miss a trip to the Sydney Fish Market. It's very close to Darling Harbor. While there are many seafood vendors there, my favorite is Peter's Fish Market. They sell crabs, oysters, lobsters and a thing unique to the land down under "Bugs" which are kind of like a lobster but smaller with less waste and fabulously tasty. These are not fancy digs at all. There is a liquor store across the hall that sells wine, beer and cups. They provide free bottle/can openers and corkscrews! While nothing in Sydney is cheap, prices here are really reasonable, the quality of the seafood is exceptional and the service from behind the counter is great. Everything is sold by the Kilo so you can have as much or as little as you like. They'll crack your crabs and lobsters, shuck your oysters and give you some pics and you can also get some nice dipping sauce too. There's ample seating in the market and also outside on the waterfront.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeatsea03242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Fish Market also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Peter's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing