We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Save
Review Highlights
A profound and insightful look at the Sydney Opera House

Had a wonderful tour today led by Eoghan, learning about the history of Sydney's most iconic... read more

Reviewed November 23, 2019
rodbv
,
Florianopolis, SC
Design Innovation and Housing Choice arch-tour

We were warmly welcomed by SAW tour leader Eoghan Lewis. The walking tour yesterday was excellent... read more

Reviewed November 17, 2019
kooiying2019
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 168 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sydney
from $46.52
More Info
from $151.70
More Info
from $28.32
More Info
from $69.45
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
166
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
166
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour interesting comments interesting facts about the city story telling super informative opera house his passion knowledgeable guide an eye opener highly recommend this tour surry hills central park tour leader excellent tour inner city behind the scenes few hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 168 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2019

Had a wonderful tour today led by Eoghan, learning about the history of Sydney's most iconic construction, the Opera House. I had no idea of the personal and political drama surrounding its construction, and the fascinating characters involved. Eoghan is an architect himself and his passion and knowledge of the subject (both technical and historical) makes this tour a must for anyone who wants to dive a bit deeper into the "whys and "how" some decisions (some good, some bad) resulted on what the Opera is now. Next time I'm in Sydney I'll make sure to join another SAW tour!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank rodbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019

We were warmly welcomed by SAW tour leader Eoghan Lewis.
The walking tour yesterday was excellent - informative, thorough, educational and relevant. It was also jam packed with interesting stories, history and influence of the different layers of Government instruments. Within a 3 hours tour, I have certainly learned so much about the evolution of the urban scene or design of Redfern, Waterloo and Surry Hill. There were so much to absorb in a short time but it was very satisfying. To all visitors to Sydney, I would highly recommend any of the tours by Eoghan. The tours will provide an in-depth appreciation of the making of the City.
Indeed SAW forms an important fabric of Sydney.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank kooiying2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2019

Great itinerary through the back streets and laneways south of Sydney's Central Station into Surry Hills. Our guide, architect Eoghan Lewis, brought the story of each building, park or place to life, explaining not just design merits (or otherwise), but behind-the-scenes political forces shaping things, with a sprinkling of history. We saw contentious new and older apartment buildings, great and some dubious public spaces, and a number of architects' own homes. Highly recommended, not just for archi-nerds, but any thinking individual interested in the city.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2019 via mobile

Had an excellent tour - Modern Sydney - led by Sam. Easy paced, interactive and very informative. Provided a fantastic insight to some of the 20th century buildings in the city along with a cultural background. Having visited a Sydney a number of times I actually ‘Saw’ some buildings for the first time! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank SilverGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

This tour is highly recommended for anyone who loves architecture and design. It was an amazing tour, insightful, motivating and more so inspirational. The tour guide had me captivated with the content, and story telling. It left me wanting more. I''m certainly eager to explore the other tours SAW has to offer. What an excellent tour. Well Done!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews