We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Review of Bounce Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bounce Sydney
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a great stay, the rooms and facilities are clean, the staff are friendly and welcoming and there are events organised for most nights of the week. The hostel is well maintained and there are 24 hour staff that ensure you have a great time but also that people are not disturbed if wanting an early night. The hostel also has a great location directly across the road from Central station so not far to walk with heavy backpacks. Would recommend t anyone that wants somewhere nice and reliable to stay in Sydney.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    253
    55
    12
    14
See reviews for
42
86
336
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean place, friendly & helpful staff. Located in center of city and easy access to bus and central station. There is a train that takes you to the airport in less than 15 mins. Walking distance to Coles for groceries, 5 mins to George street. Take train to Bondi beach or bus to Coogee beach. I had work in UNSW and there is bus which takes you directly to the campus within 15mins. Large kitchen with TV, couch, dining area and nice balcony. You have everything that you need for a comfortable stay. Wi-fi is charged.

Room Tip: Stayed in the 6 room female dorm, was quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoornimaGovindrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. It is secure, clean and nicely designed. It was surprisingly comfortable and quiet (except for Sat night due to the pubs nearby) even though I was in a shared female hostel. I slept very well for the two nights that I was there. The rooftop lounge and kitchen is well-equipped. One morning, I was at the kitchen at 6 am and the staff were already meticulously cleaning the kitchen and lounge. One the very best things about this hostel is the location. The Central Station is just across the road. The only thing is that the shared bathroom and toilet is a bit dirty and smelly by the end of the day. Perhaps the management could consider to clean it more frequently.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaS260177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Look no further if you need a place to stay in Sydney.

This place has it all. They plan events almost every night including food and bars. Event info can be found on their website. There's a movie room and nice large upstairs kitchen as well. I wouldn't say the upstairs balcony was anything spectacular, but I bet it could be nice in warmer months.

Got to meet some good people in my room and the hostel overall. Rooms aren't huge, but it's good enough. Huge lockers with outlets in the actual locker. I fit 2 suitcases in mine. Major plus.

It's located right next to central station, a major transit hub, which goes to the airport. Super easy to get to and around on public transport with bus stops nearby. Good 25 min walk to circular quay and the tourist attractions, but a nice walk in winter with cooler temperatures.

The only downside is paying for wifi.

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at, definitely would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank trfan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I miss everything in Sydney ! Bounce Hostel Sydney is just awesome and great for solo and budget traveller. My trip couldn't be wonderful without staying in Bounce. Hostel just located right beside of Central Station which is an ideal location to travel around the cities. The check in time is fast and easy, everything smooth for my stay at least. Cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Bounce was one of the cleanest and most modern hostels I've stayed in throughout my travels through Thailand and Australia.
Good rooftop lounge and secure rooms. The fact that it is so big meant it didn't have such a friendly and welcoming vibe that I experienced in other places. There are lots of people who are staying here long term also.
The location is excellent, literally across the road from central station - from which you can get anywhere in Sydney, or you can also walk to the sites - opera house etc in about 20 minutes.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisacoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location of Bounce Hostel is bang opposite Central Station in Sydney and thereby making it in walking distance to Market City, George Street and Elizabeth Street. The central location notwithstanding, the environ is so very quiet and calm, which makes the stay relaxing and making you feel wanting to get to the room after a long day of roaming around across all tourist-y attractions of Sydney. The jewel in the crown of Bounce Hostel is the attitude of the staff - really very friendly, warm and receptive, supportive and guiding. For us, as a family with young children, coming into Oz for the first time, the support we received was truly overwhelming. Be blessed and be this way always. And about the facilities - I would call them awesome, theme parties, internet on tap, laundry facilities and nicely furnished rooms - all making for a very cute package.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopisuhasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,770 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#2 of 178 in Sydney
777 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,777 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounce Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounce Sydney

Property: Bounce Sydney
Address: 28 Chalmers St | Next to Central Station, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bounce Sydney 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the '#1 Hostel in Australia', 'Most Popular Hostel in Sydney', and been listed in 'Top 10 Large Hostels in the World' at the 2014 and 2013 Hostel Awards.Bounce provides upmarket accommodation for backpackers and budget travellers. Fresh, new, modern and we're conveniently located opposite Central Station. We've got air-conditioning in every room, high-speed WiFi internet, a secure key card system, huge lockers, three lounge areas, and an awesome rooftop terrace and BBQ area with stunning views of the Sydney skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bounce Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounce Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing