We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Post
Inbox
Search

“Genuine Peking experience ”
Review of Taste on the Rocks

Taste on the Rocks
Reserve a Table
Ranked #3,814 of 7,779 Restaurants in Sydney
Description: Serving all of the best dishes in town! You can now order online!! Serving all of the best dishes in town! You can now order online!!
Restaurant details
Description: Serving all of the best dishes in town! You can now order online!! Serving all of the best dishes in town! You can now order online!!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Since it’s refurbishment this pleasant restaurant has continued to improve though it has its idiosyncrasies, they are actually typical of mid level dining inChina.
Today enjoyed Peking Special Seafood Fried Noodle and Shredded Pork, Bok Choy, Rice Cake. Getting ready for Chinese New Year this coming Saturday.
And a chilled schooner is Ashsi beer.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ate an early dinner here with a friend in December and was impressed with all aspects of the experience. The food was of high quality, the decor pleasant, the service good and the view over the harbour very nice. While you would not call it cheap, I would say that the value was good for the quality provided. I would have no hesitation going back if I was in the area and looking for a feed of Chinese.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

I used to visit more than once per week for lunch for several years.

They did a refurbishment mid 2019 and reopened with new staff. I have given them several months form August 2019 until now January 2020.

All I can say is what a disappointment. The level of service and attitude of staff has plummeted and the quality of the food product (at least the beef) has deteriorated to a level where I won't spend my money here.

Normally a refresher might improve the offering, but this place has gone backward since its days as Mr Chow's.

If you want Chinese there is another option one street away, I go there now.

Oh, and did I say the price has gone up in line with the decreased service and quality.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

This site has for many years operated as a Chinese restaurant. It had become somewhat tired, and lacked vibranancy. Today a great change, a complete renovation, bright lighting, excellent decor, and a very welcome feel. The menu follows the tried and true Peking style, the duck superb, textbook preparation, tableside presentation and service. On my visit, also shared a selection of entrees and mains, all of which were well presented with the clean fresh taste of a good chef in the kitchen.
Service level prompt, courteous and well informed without being invasive to dining enjoyment. A good drinks list with great wine selection well researched to accompany the food .
I was impressed and will no doubt revisit many times.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Bendooley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste on the Rocks also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Taste on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing