We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
320
75
24
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
320
75
24
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darling harbour great location coffee pods washer dryer bedroom suite from town hall station comfortable beds would definitely stay here again a wonderful stay full kitchen enjoyed our stay front desk staff the air conditioning good size stayed for nights central location gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Meriton Suites Sussex in the beginning of our two weeks excursion exploring Australia. At the end of our trip we planned on staying at an Airbnb. After discovering that our Airbnb was nothing like the photos we went back to Sussex! It’s soOooOoo nice! We loved it! Great location. The staff was amazing. We needed a room with a tub for our child and the only rooms with tubs are upgraded. After checking in last minute there was only three bedrooms available (which we did NOT need being only a party of 3). Arnthor Sigurdsson gave us a 3 bedroom at a discounted rate just to make sure we were comfortable and had all we needed! My Only complaint is there are no outlets in the bathroom. I don’t how it’s done in Australia, but in the States us ladies get ready in the bathroom and not having an outlet for my curlers was annoying. I had to curl my hair in the living room in front of the mirror next to the kitchen.

Room tip: Outlets needed in the bathrooms!
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 36blairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSussex, Manager at Meriton Suites Sussex Street Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 36blairel, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Meriton Suites Sussex Street. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found comfort and convenience in our luxurious, fully equipped suites in the heart of Sydney. We thank you for your feedback and we look forward to sharing your kind praises with our Guest Service Manager Arnthor. Please know that we do have power outlets available inside the vanity cabinet in the bathroom suite. 36blairel, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future. Kind Regards, Kate D. Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The building is nice and the facilities are well appointed for this level of accommodation. We stayed for 6 nights and as a result, only got a "express" clean for the 6 days we were there. All that is a change in your towels and additional consumables such as toilet paper and tea bags refreshed.

Do not expect anything similar to a hotel service if that's what you are looking for. Some days, the bed wasn't made and dishes weren't even placed in the dishwasher. We constantly had to ask for new soap and shampoo. On one night, nobody even came to do the express service even though we were away from the apartment from 10 am to 8 pm.

I'm not sure if that's what the express service is meant to be, but I also stayed at the Meriton Campbell Street last year and definitely they at least started the dishwasher and wiped down some of the tables etc each night.

Overall the experience is fine, but to rate something as 5 star you really need 5 star accommodation and 5 star service. The facilities and room are approaching 5 star, the service is similar to staying at a roadside motel so I can't say that the experience lived up to expectation.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSussex, Manager at Meriton Suites Sussex Street Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear D W. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Meriton Suites Sussex Street. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations for your stay with us. Rest assured your feedback is duly noted and has been shared with our teams for improvement. D W thank you for staying with us and we do hope we may welcome you back to stay with us at Sussex Street in the future. Kind regards, Arnthor S. Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This brand new Meriton was a lovely place to stay. It was close to Darling Harbour and the CBD. The rooms were clean and comfortable with everything you need. The only problem I had was reaching in the higher cupboard to get saucepans etc out to use. Therefore I didn’t cook in the apartment. I know I could have called for help to get them down. Perhaps a step stool in the room may have helped

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank palmermarylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSussex, Manager at Meriton Suites Sussex Street Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear palmermarylin, thank you for taking the time for sharing with us your recent experience at Meriton Suites Sussex Street. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found comfort and convenience in our luxurious, fully equipped apartments. We thank you for your feedback and we do apologize that you found it difficult to reach some of the kitchen utensils, your feedback is duly noted. palmermarylin, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future. Kind regards, Arnthor S. Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

3bedroom/ 2 bathroom apartment with very comfortable beds. Beautiful deep bath in en-suite bathroom.
Open the apartment door and WOW what a spectacular Darling Harbour View from the huge windows. A very well equipped kitchen with enough glasses, cutlery etc for all people. Seating is ample too.
We had 6 people staying, however only 4 towels were supplied, but a call to housekeeping and this was rectified.
This apartment does not have parking. There is a parking station next door however will cost around $75per day.
I advise parking at Meriton Kent Street for discounted parking of $45 and it’s only a maximum 10 minute walk to get back to Sussex Street.
Meriton Sussex Street is in a great location. Under 5 mins walk to Darling Harbour and about the same to Pitt Street/George street. Surrounded by some great little cafes and bars. Not as spacious as Meriton World Tower however in saying that, they are lovely apartments.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 801michellep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSSussex, Manager at Meriton Suites Sussex Street Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 801michellep. Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy some of the amazing views our suites have to offer. 801michellep, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future. Kind regards, Arnthor S. Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Had a great stay, suites were great and reasonably priced for a family of 4. Stayed for six nights over Christmas and enjoyed the location. Only negative was the temperature of the pool. It was below 20 degrees and we mentioned various times. Not many people swam in there for long and even our kids didn’t brave it for long!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank geoffh868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jazmin-MeritonSuites, Online Reputation Supervisor at Meriton Suites Sussex Street Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi geoffh868,
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed our fully equipped suites!
Rest assured your valued feedback is duly noted; it is feedback such as yours that allows us to enhance our product and service offerings for future guests. geoffh868, we do hope to gain the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards, Jazmin P - Online Reputation Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews