We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lunch special was cheap and delicious”

ya Malaysia Chatswood
Order Online
Ranked #2,841 of 7,779 Restaurants in Sydney
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tried the lunch special of 2 pieces of fried chicken, prawn noodle soup and tea which was very good value indeed for $16. The chicken was moist, tasty and quite substantial for a side dish. The prawn noodle soup was as good as any Malaysian eatery I've been to. The tea included is made with condensed milk as Malaysians and Singaporeans like it but my Aussie friends turn their noses up at it. I was impressed with it and can't wait to try other dishes.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Nice Malaysian meal in Chatswood, above train station inside The Precinct food court. There are a couple of nice Malaysia restaurant at Chatswood. Unfortunately, one of our favorites Chef Rasa Sayang has left Chatswood last week. But we discovered a new Malaysian restaurant with reasonable price & great taste at The Precinct food court above train station. Good service & nice comfortable environment. I tried seafood Laksa & it was delicious & full of seafood of course.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank OhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019

I've eaten here 3 times now and been happy every time. This is really good Malaysian food at reasonable prices. Check out the laksa (I thought this is awesome - not too coconut creamy!) chicken rice, char kway teow, wat tan hor and har mee. Sambal eggplant is good too. Won ton mee soup is a little too bland for my taste but its child friendly. I will go back to try the nasi lemak.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank poohpawsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Authentic Malaysian laksa, nasi leak and very tasty prawn noodles soup with a tinge of chilli (just what you need this cold winter).
We ordered satay too - personally prepared by Manager Kent. Due to Jo charcoal grill allowed in enclosed area, the taste is a little lacking compared to those available in Singapore or Malaysia. However, Kent's special satay sauce enhanced the flavour. Worth a try.
Reasonable price. Will definitely come again

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank TerriK861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ya Malaysia Chatswood also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to ya Malaysia Chatswood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing