We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Glenmore

The Glenmore
Reserve a Table
Ranked #22 of 425 Quick Bites in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: The Glenmore Hotel was built by Brewers Tooth & Co in 1921 and has been an Aussie icon ever since. It is one of the last surviving pre- Harbour Bridge buildings on Cumberland Street, north of the Cahill Expressway. The site is known to have been occupied from the early years of 1800, although it is likely that, like the other ridges of The Rocks, it was occupied by the encampment of settlers in the first weeks of the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788. With its colonial old English charm and character, The Glenmore has been a popular watering hole, which has survived depressions, wars and plagues. This hidden gem in The Rocks was starting to show her age and in early 2012 it was closed for refurbishment for 9 months of loving restoration. The building itself is heritage listed for it’s traditional Rocks pub allure.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Went here for a Surprise birthday party we had a private room and I must say what a great place to party. Service was amazing. We had a bar. tab and food tab. ,there was also a roof top bar with amazing view of the Sydney Harbour if you don’t want. It to be too fancy and want a relaxed atmosphere this is the place. To go weather it’s just for a drink or to get together to celebrate ,

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 983 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

My wife got the chicken sandwich and enjoyed it. My sister and I got the tacos. But take a look at the photo to see the amount of pulled pork in the taco. Pretty lame for $18 bucks.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Keist90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

After walking around fore 9 km, i was getting parched, so the Glenmore it was, easy to find has three levels so we went to the roof top. Great views over Circular Quay, plenty of beers and a assortment of wines and cider, the staff are friendly and helpful, there was a lot of meals coming out the food looked great, will pop back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ScottScooterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

A lovely relaxed "pub lunch" with classy food for mothers day on the Rooftop Terrace. Easy access bar with a selection of shared plates and jugs of cocktails all at a reasonble price with views of the quay and Opera House! Prebooked and of course was busy but not "over booked" with smiling patient and helpful staff. We'll be going back for a quieter cruisier Sunday lunch and afternoon again soon.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PJH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

This trendy pub has it all. It is away from the main drag but has outstanding views from the rooftop restaurant over the harbour. The menu is typical modern pub food in Australia. It would be a good idea to book a seat especially from Friday to Sunday.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glenmore also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Glenmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing