We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast, fun and fab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Noodle

Fat Noodle
Ranked #458 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City West
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fast, fun and fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our lunch here, lovely flavours, great service and we thought exceptional value. Better than I anticipated due to its location on the gaming area...we were luckily totally distracted by our food which was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Bellabool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    72
    22
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pretty decent in all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tasty morsels of Asian cuisine done quite well, even though the ambience of a casino gaming room full of drunken morons nearby probably detracted from the experience slightly. The soft shell crab was standout I found. The Pho was of decent flavour and quite a large serving. There are a number of reviews that are quite bad for this place but on the 2 occasions I were there, I found it pretty good myself.

The thing that I found really cheapened it was the fact that it was open to the gaming room, and quite noisy. A wall or some sort of partition would see that fixed easily.

The long bench seating gives the place a quick in and out feel also but I believe the food speaks for itself and whilst a little higher priced than the usual late night eats, it stood far beyond in terms of its quality too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great food - can watch the chefs at work so you know the kitchens clean. Quick and friendly service from all the staff. I thought the serving size was just right, value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank digirolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Noodles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Short, inexpensive menu choice, but I liked the stir fry.

Authentic as you can get, all the chefs were men who worked feverishly to get the food out quick - eat up so the next lot can get in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hotroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Never disappointed after countless visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I always look forward to visiting Fat Noodle because I can rest assured that even if I lose money on the tables; at least I will have a nice meal...!

Everything I've tried has been 'pretty good' to 'fantastic' but the highlights that stick in my mind are the Rice Paper Rolls, Spicy Beef Skewers, Wagyu Beef and Mee Goreng.

In order to avoid confusion as to the 'style' of restaurant (refer to previous reviews) it's worth pointing out that they are targeting a 'hawker market' style restaurant where the food is brought to your table as soon as it's ready (this is stated on the menu). Admittedly, this did surprise me on the first visit but once you realise the concept, you just learn to order starters first; finish them; and then order mains. We checked that this was OK and they were more than happy.

On that matter, service was prompt and professional. Pricing is not cheap but not extravagant either.

Highly recommended...!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeekendHussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Noodle also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fat Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing