We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great selection of beer and an excellent Über Schnitzel.”

Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter
Reserve with
Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,013 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: German, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Sydney's Famous entertainment precinct, Bavarian Bier Cafe EQ combines our renowned Bavarian hospitality with a family-friendly atmosphere, making it a truly unique venue. Perfect for birthdays, special occasions and corporate events, our two huge levels and large alfresco dining area can cater for functions of all sizes. With our delicious Bavarian cuisine on the menu and a wide range of authentic Pure Biers on tap, it's a great choice for pre- and post-movie or show dining and drinks.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great selection of beer and an excellent Über Schnitzel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I really like this place, I've eaten here a few times and my experience has been pretty good. Recently I had the Über Schnitzel which I really enjoyed, it was fresh and tasty prompting me to leave a review. My husband had a burger, he didn't have the same enthusiasm for his meal as I did but he did say it was quite good! Our friends all enjoyed their meals. The beer is great, try the Hefeweizen wheat beer it's on tap!
Service is good and efficent, quite German actually! :)
Be aware, it can get very busy if there is a show or a football/cricket game happening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happywalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    32
    35
    17
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, well designed setting all was let down by the poor service and doughy over cooked pork snitzel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James-Vivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great German venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent German menu, genuine German-style food and VG bier list. Service was fast and efficient and the decor'e pleasantly modern Deutsch rather than faux Bavarian. Prices are typically somewhat inflated for the Entertainment Centre location but otherwise worth a visit if you are in the area and like an authentic European style restaurant. Prost...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst of the BBC restaurants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Food is as good as it is at all the Bavarian Bier Cafe restaurants, however the service is horrendous!

We had a booking for 7pm, arrived at 6:55pm, the table wasn't ready, fair enough, we were early, 15 mins later, they still hadn't seated us. Then, at 7:15, after waiting 20 mins, we were seated, and promptly ignored for another 15. Our drinks/entree order wasn't even taken. After collaring a waiter, we placed our order, including mains because we'd waited that long that we had selected them already. The entrees came out quickly, but the drinks didn't, so we'd finished our entrees before the drinks had arrived.

It didn't get any better from there. We then waited another 30 mins for mains to come out, which we wouldn't have minded if the restaurant was busy, however it was nearly empty by the time our mains were being cooked, and we'd both ordered schnitzels, how long does it take to cook a schnitzel???

I had to collar the waiter again, and he was genuinely shocked that we hadn't got our mains yet (his exact words were "Oh, that's ridiculous, I'm so sorry!"), he went and spoke to the kitchen, and almost immediately it came out.

Even paying was terrible, we waited 10 mins after our plates were cleared, no one even asked if we wanted desert, we just sat there. In the end, we got up and walked to the counter, and pointed at our table and paid for our meal. We weren't even offered a discount for the terrible service!

Oh, and don't even ask about the atmosphere! It was like being in a crowed, echoey room, no ambiance to speak of, just noise!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5tumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
556 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Wide selection of beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We went to this restaurant because one of our friends has a voucher. The beer selection was good. Food and service was not great. Overall the food was all too salty. Anyway, we had a great night out - thanks to nice beer and good company!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing