We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”

Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter
Reserve with
Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,012 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: German, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Sydney's Famous entertainment precinct, Bavarian Bier Cafe EQ combines our renowned Bavarian hospitality with a family-friendly atmosphere, making it a truly unique venue. Perfect for birthdays, special occasions and corporate events, our two huge levels and large alfresco dining area can cater for functions of all sizes. With our delicious Bavarian cuisine on the menu and a wide range of authentic Pure Biers on tap, it's a great choice for pre- and post-movie or show dining and drinks.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Do not go here unless you love heavy Bavarian food as the menu offers little else. Some might say this is justified in view of the restaurant name but of the alternatives offered, one was sent back uneaten and another half eaten due to both meals being badly cooked. To be fair a credit was given for the uneaten meal. The service was slow even though the waitress was doing her best. It took an hour or so to receive our meals. Myself and another one in our party sustained damage from the table post as it was so hard to sit down. We were a birthday gathering of 12 prebooked. If you love pork knuckles then give it a go, if not you will eat better elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolepj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    32
    35
    17
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a place to have German food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The atmosphere is fantastic. I recommend going there for drinks and dance but food was really bad and not much German!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nimanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy place to sit with colleagues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Friendly, quick service? Good choice of beer (& wine)

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank vixeninoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine food mixed with a range of biers and good friends to share it with make for great dining experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great resturant for food, atmosphere and make sure you take your friends or work colleagues along for a long lunch.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillHartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good beer, OK food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We visit the Bavarian Bier Café in the Entertainment Quarter at least once every two months: it's a good location for where we live, the food is hearty and we go on weekdays so it's not super crowded.

The food is what you'd expect from a place marketing itself as a German-themed 'bier café': meaty, rich and filling. There are some lighter options on the menu, but don't come here for salad: it's Würste and Fleisch all the way. I generally think the other outlets in the Bavarian Bier Café group have pretty poor food but the one in the EQ, despite working with the same menu, seems to prepare the food better and last week when I went with some friends I was impressed with the presentation and the quality of the dishes we ordered (Swiss bratwurst, sebago mash, buttered peas, onion rings, with Löwenbräu bier jus; crackling roast pork belly, chargrilled Kassler, sausages and chicken schnitzel, served with sauerkraut, red cabbage and sebago mash; apple strudel with vanilla anglaise; and chocolate mud cake served with Black Forest berry compote and sour cream).

Service is generally appalling, despite the often pleasant and friendly attitude of the front-of-house and bar staff. Were the café not well-placed and consistent with its meals I would not bother to eat there. For example, last week when I was there with friends the waitress thought we had ordered a small pretzel, which we hadn't (she had misheard, but it wasn't a problem for us) and when it arrived we just politely sent it back. The waitress then came over to our table and told us off for 'not being clear' with our order and for not 'correcting' her when she read our order back to us – what cheek! I don't care if we didn't 'correct' her, waitstaff should never reprimand patrons in that way. Then, when the mains came out I (sitting on the inside side of a booth) was handed my plate by the waitress who didn't bother to tell me that the plate had been warmed in the oven and was very hot – I almost dropped the plate but held on, despite the strong heat. Totally unprofessional.

In terms of drinks: go with the beers, which are excellent; the wine list fails to impress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snr_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bavarian Bier Cafe Entertainment Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing