We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Nice, well appointed and well located.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Newtown Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Grounds of St Stevens Church across the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leacherma...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice, well appointed and well located.”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The cottage was easy to find. It was very clean, well equipped and very comfortable.
The beds were superbly comfortable.

Overall a comfortable place to stay.

Newtown is just a short walk away which is a bustling hive of activity.
It is worth noting that planes do fly over head quite low when on approach to the airport. Can be noisy!
Also, for some one not used to it the garbage is collected at 05h30 !!

Otherwise, all good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msmollynd
South Bend, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Charming cottage, beautifully appointed, comfortable and homey, convenient to everything”
Reviewed November 4, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Most charming Newtown cottage, spotless and well equipped, a short walk to dozens of shops and restaurants and the wonderful Sydney Trains that go just about anywhere. We rented a car and never used it. Thanks for a great experience, Robyn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie Mo...
1 review
“Outstanding location - Great place!”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It was fantastic clean quiet terrific location loved it and Robyn was fantastic would happily stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona_Pr
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family reunion in Newtown”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Robyn's cottage in Newtown was a perfect base for our reunion with two daughters who have been travelling in Australia and NZ.

Robyn kindly allowed us to check in early and was always very responsive to all emails. The cottage is exactly as described and very comfortable and well kitted out. The Newtown area is great and convenient for Circular Quay and the centre with frequent trains. It has a number of good bars and we had some excellent Thai food on Ellie's 21st birthday at Bangkok Bites.

A lovely time and would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j2b2m2
toronto, ontario
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Gem in Newtown”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for 6 days in March and enjoyed this wonderful base in Newtown. The house I very very comfortable and roomy. The kitchen is fully equipped and it was great to make your own meals. The beds are very comfortable. There is a nice patio and laundry facilities. We loved the neighbourhood. It's a short walk to the Newtown train station and you able to use transit to get everywhere. Shopping on King St is easy. Lovely coffee shop (Barmuda) at the end of the street. The host answers all your questions. A gem that we would go to again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
icburns
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favourite home from home”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say, stayed last year and again this February it was my sisters 60th and my son who lives in Newtown Australia was 40 years old, surprise for him and double celebration.
We had a great time the cottage is perfect for us. Everything you need is in the cottage, grocery store next to station, bakery A5 minute walk from cottage.
Easy access to Newtown station and buses for getting into city, opal cards are also a great way to pre-pay and your ready for bus, train and ferry services, just top up as required...great system.
Will definitely stay againwhen in Sydney.
Thank you

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnHoilday
1 review
“Lovely cottage, close to town. Highly recommend!”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at the Newtown cottage for 5 nights. It was lovely, very clean and well equipped. The train station was a 5 minute walk, shops were around the corner with a park across the road. We really enjoyed our stay and would defintely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing