We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, drug use and prostitution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkview Hotel Sydney
Ranked #168 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend who was on a budget and insisted on cheap accommodation. I would usually stay at a minimum 4 star hotel where ever I was in the world, but 'd stayed in backpackers when I was younger so had no real issue with it and it looked okay from the few pictures she showed me (didn't bother to look it up as she was paying as I was doing her a favour by coming to Sydney).

First impressions were that location was ok, 10 minute walk to north end of CBD and fast food etc. Is Coles/cinemas etc behind the place. Lobby was gross, I could smell rice cooking and check in agent was friendly but not particularly helpful.

Our room had a window that opened and looked over to the carpark. Bed wasn't horrible, sheets looked clean without being spotless and bedding was pretty old. Carpets could have used a vacuum and bathroom was dirty without feeling like I needed to put on a pair of thongs.

What grossed me out was the characters that were there. One night I walked in behind a lady who had just been out to score drugs, I know this as she paused at her door with it open and I saw the balloon of heroin in her hand. When walking past I was unlucky enough to witness two men in the room with her, both on the bed naked together with erections and various sexual items scattered across the floor. It was the room right across from the stairs so I got to have a good look as I walked across and down into the hallway. She saw me and seemed unfazed and didn't even close the door.

Maybe she wasn't a prostitute and just a homeless woman that was having sex with two guys in a hotel room - no issue with prostitution or promiscuity at all, but keep it behind closed doors.

Later that evening when walking down with my friend we heard shouting from that room and arguments, possibly long term residents as it happened a few times over the course of the time and they were still there..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a family room last minute at a cheap price, We arrived and reception was clean and friendly, The hotel is locked to key holders only after 10pm, so fairly safe. The room was spotless except for some scuffs on the walls. The bathroom was clean, Although the shower head was horrible. Also the tap in the bathroom was leaking and couldn't be stopped. There was two air-conditioning units that couldn't be adjusted but they were effective. There was also two TV's but the free-view channels were very limited. There was no noise or disturbances through the night at all and the beds were comfortable. I think most of the other reviews are for Single or double rooms , But the Family room is fine. At the end of the day you get what you pay for. (And it was a bit more comfortable than A pile of dog turds!)

Room Tip: Choose the Family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrShingaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

the room was clean that was the good point ,bathroom sink had a leaking tap and a bobby pin in the toilet.had to ask for more pillows as the ones on the bed were flat.bed was as hard as a board.shower was nice and hot.staff were disinterested in helping you in any way once you handed over your money to them.be a good place for homeless people for a clean bed and hot shower.very disappointed .avoid at all costs

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angexr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

As i sit here, in my windowless room, 3 channels working on the tv and no spoon to stir my tea i find it hard to find anything right about this hotel. The only good thing is the room is clean and there was no mould in the bathroom. This is the cheapest of cheap, most backpackers would fair better.

The room is sparse with a single blanket on the top of the bed that's covered in lint so probably never washed, the paint job is suspect was done by a friend of a friend, with paint smears all over the doors, light fittings and walls next to the skirting. The hotel (if you could qualify it at meeting that) has no lift, so don't consider this if you have a mobility impairment.

The shower grout looks like it has been colored in with a marker pen.

Tea, coffee, soap and shampoo provided, but no spoon to stir your coffee and the reception wile 24/7 didn't have any spare or were willing to help.

There is aircon and a fan in this room but the aircon is centrally supplied so you have no control over air flow or temperature. With no windows in the room its just a bit weird. I'd book earlier and try and find somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must stay here,stay on the ground floor so you don't have to walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed with my mum, whilst passing through Sydney.
It's cheap, but you can do sooo much better than this dive.
difficult to find, V. dodgy car park (which the counter guy said was secure because it had a camera on it).
bad smell in foyer, despite the half a dozen incence candles staegically placed around the area.
dragged our own luggage up 3 flights of stairs, to the mankiest cell there ever was, no window no air con, no extractor fan.
The pits.
no hand towel, no bathmat.
no phone in the room.
kettle had to be placed on the floor as you cant plug it into the socket from it's position on the shelf.
much much worse after sunset, people walking up and down all night, occasionally stopping outside the door, creaking floorboards, a man groaning down the corridor all night. we had checked in for two nights, but couldn't physically stay another night, genine releifwhen the sun came up and nothing happened, but I wouldn't push it for another night.
DO NOT stay here. I can't belive it is actually allowed to continue operation actually...

Room Tip: Find another hotel,or buy a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I payed $85 to stay here a night and with only a 15 minute walk to central station it was much better then paying 3 times that for somewhere else.
the customer service was fine, The room was spotless, The bathroom was clean. The linen seemed new.
I will definitely stay here again and openly suggest it to people!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickyB2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The worst customer service experience ever seen. the worst experience staying in the hotels...if you can call this place a hotel.....

Front desk service doesnt exist!

Bed Bugs......im speechless....

Disgusting and disgraceful

Room Tip: do not try to choose any from this "hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Veriu Broadway
#36 of 179 in Sydney
93 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 179 in Sydney
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camperdown Suites
#138 of 179 in Sydney
21 reviews
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#126 of 179 in Sydney
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel Sydney

Address: 253 Broadway | PO Box 530, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $60 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkview Hotel Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Parkview Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing