We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close to central railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Exhibition Hotel
Ranked #18 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“close to central railway station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel, very close to central train station. From central station take the charmers st exit, redfern end of central platforms. Check-in was at the bar downstairs which was not a problem. Food at the pub bistro is very reasonably priced. No room service, have to go and get the food and drink yourself. we just walked to china town for dinner. Had to catch a flight from the international terminal so just got the train, which took 10 mins. Very low water pressure in the shower. I think they got one of those water saveing showerhead. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenny009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
60
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January. We knew it was above a pub but having read the reviews on here we were not too worried about noise. The location is perfect as it is directly facing central station. However, on our first day a man claiming to be a member of staff walked straight into our room without even knocking the door!! He said he was there to collect dirty laundry but we had only just checked in so the room had just been made up!! On the second day the same man walked in on 2 separate occasions with the same story! Given that the room had just been serviced There was absolutely no need for him to be there!! We could hear him knocking the doors of other rooms around us and not even waiting for a response before walking straight in!!! There are no locks on the inside of the doors and no telephones in the rooms meaning that, even though I was with my boyfriend I still felt very uneasy staying there. Therefore I would not recommend this hotel to females travelling alone.

Helpful?
2 Thank weenic
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

20m walk from the main train station in Sydney. Travel prices were a bit of a shock after coming from Bangkok! Was able to leave our bags in the Hotel (we arrived at 11am). Hotel is clean and tidy although we could hear the bass from the bar below it didn't keep us awake for long. Staff were helpful, although walking into the bar to book our rooms was a bit unusual (all good though). Lots of food places nearby

Room Tip: IF you get in early, go down to Circular Quay and get a lunch cruise and combine eating with sighsee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great location, the hotel is just across the street from the entrance to the Central Station and we had arrived by train from the airport at 9.a.m
We were greeted by Rolla who was so pleasant welcoming and helpful and made us feel at home. What a lovely introduction for first time visitors from Ireland to Australia ! We were able to store our luggage while we took a trip to the city .We actually were assigned two rooms. They were spacious clean and comfortable. Had tea and coffe making facilities and fridge We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in a convenient, clean , safe and quiet hotel. Rolla made our stay even more pleasant. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bma-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

In London you would not consider staying in above a pub so it was definitely a first for us.
The owner was very kind and helpful, the place is super clean and located in front of one of the tube exits so perfect to commute to the airport. We had a recently renovated room I believe so beds were comfy, the bathroom was new & clean. There was double glazing so the room was pretty quiet. We did not try the pub food but the drinks were expensive. Overall, it does the job at a good value for Sidney.

Room Tip: rooms on Devonshire street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fab room (huge) clean, comfortable, oh so cozy bed. Tea and coffee facilities, but above all, great location. Just across the road from Central Station. We had the corner room overlooking the station, but the room was double glazed, and it was whisper quiet. We were going to our niece's graduation at the Australian Institute of Music, so we only had ashort walk and we were there. I would recommend this place to anyone. Value for money, really good place to stay.

Room Tip: Leave the car behind and go by public transport, it's easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne_bill_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lakes South Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We chose this place to stay as we were going to the Football at the SCG and it mentioned that the buses for the SCG stopped opposite. Actually they didn't and it appears that the bus stops had moved to Eddy Ave. A bit confusing for us but it was just a few minutes walk away. It was still a convenient location with an entrance to Central Station right opposite. We had caught the train from the airport but came out of the wrong exit, but going back to the airport was so much easier, using the entrance directly opposite. The hotel was very pleasant to stay in, the staff were courteous and friendly and the food nice. No breakfast though so you have to find it elsewhere. Guests use a side entrance accessed with the same key for the room and also the lift. A big bonus as a lot of this type of pub accomodation only have stairs. Our room was only the standard one so was not luxurious but was large and very clean. Good housekeeping, but no toiletries other than soap. The windows are double glazed so it was very quiet. We would stay here again especially with the convenience of Central Station and also being a point for the free City Shuttle Bus (555) that runs every 10 mins or so.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank useoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exhibition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exhibition Hotel

Property: Royal Exhibition Hotel
Address: 86-88 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Exhibition Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly opposite Central Station, with direct link from Airport. Only 10minutes from heart of the city, with Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks and city shopping at our door. We have 10 refurbished Standard Double rooms rated 3 star by the Australian Accommodation Association and 4 Deluxe Boutique rooms all serviced by a modern elevator. All our rooms are tastefully decorated, and have queen beds and feature their own ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen television, coffee and tea making facilities, refrigerator, safe and are all serviced daily.Facilities with the hotel, Public Bar, Gaming facilities including TAB, Restaurant serving lunch and dinner 7 days, Beer Garden and Terrace Cocktail Bar and Functions area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Exhibition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing