We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely do this if you don't mind walking for awhile”

I'm Free Walking Tours
Ranked #2 of 339 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover Sydney, on a Free Tour at 10:30am and 2:30pm everyday. Join your friendly and knowledgeable local tour guide as we reveal the history, stories and secrets of Sydney. This 3 hour easy walking tour meets everyday at the anchor in Town Hall Square beside the Sydney Town Hall building. Rain, hail or shine, no booking needed, just show up and there will be a guide in a bright green T-shirt to show you around. Or join us at 6pm each evening for a one and a half hour exploration of The Rocks our most historical district, starting from the water side of Cadmans Cottage. How are we Free? We work on a tips only basis, so everyone can enjoy Sydney as much as we do, whatever your budget.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“definitely do this if you don't mind walking for awhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

what a great way to get some exercise in, a great layout of the town, and also some great inside stories! it was great because of the perfect pace (not too long, not too quick) and the guides are quite friendly and make several attempts at humor. show up a few minutes early to make sure you take advantage of this!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank finncomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,497
    190
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great walk around Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We did the 3 hour walking tour from Town Hall to the Rocks with Ross as our guide. It was a great walk aroud all the main locations of Sydney. Ross gave us some great stories about each area and I really enjoyed his guide style. Best of all, it can be suited to any budget as you just tip what you like.

I would suggest having a small tipping box at the end that people just donate to. It's a bit awkward giving money straight to the tour guide - I noticed a lot of people milling around unsure of how to give the tip!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jediRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden secrets of Sydney..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Joined the Sydney Tour with Lee and The Rocks Tour with Ramsey. Both tours great and guides very informative with funny stories to tell.. Makes history interesting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nursemr301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, dont miss it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We did the daily free walking tour of Sydney. Our guide was Justine who is the owner and founder and an inspiration in her enthuasiasm and at such a young age having the idea to set this project up. There were about 50 people so we split into two groups with around 25 in each group. Having been to Sydney before we were looking for something slightly different and this was certainly it. We saw lots of things which we didnt know about even though we had previously toured. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Well done Justine and thank you

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tour of The Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We decided to do The Rocks tour on a whim one evening. Russ was extremely knowledgeable and told many entertaining and humorous stories. We enjoyed the tour and learnt so much about the area.

Well worth doing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_9976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I'm Free Walking Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to I'm Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing