We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This tour was fun, interesting, and helps you get aquaited with the city!”

I'm Free Walking Tours
Ranked #2 of 339 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover Sydney, on a Free Tour at 10:30am and 2:30pm everyday. Join your friendly and knowledgeable local tour guide as we reveal the history, stories and secrets of Sydney. This 3 hour easy walking tour meets everyday at the anchor in Town Hall Square beside the Sydney Town Hall building. Rain, hail or shine, no booking needed, just show up and there will be a guide in a bright green T-shirt to show you around. Or join us at 6pm each evening for a one and a half hour exploration of The Rocks our most historical district, starting from the water side of Cadmans Cottage. How are we Free? We work on a tips only basis, so everyone can enjoy Sydney as much as we do, whatever your budget.
los angeles
1 review
“This tour was fun, interesting, and helps you get aquaited with the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

My tour guide was Evan. He was fun, exuberant, and full of interesting facts! You'll have a great time if he's your tour guide!

Helpful?
Thank melliemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    190
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is not free. Good tour but a little long.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We recently did the tour because of the reviews we read here. It starts well but the tour is not free. You do not pay to join the tour but at the end you are expected to leave money for the tour leader. We do not mind to pay but why do they call it Free when it is not free? They ask for you to leave money with the tour leader at the end - this is fine for us but we prefer that they make this clear in advertisement as they are called Im Free but everyone who do this tour is asked to pay something at the end.

Although we have to say the tour was good and interesting, especially the historic parts - but we found it too long for us - but you do not have to stay for all the tour if you are finding it boring or tired. If you do this tour, you must to take cash with you to leave with the tour leader at the end.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank fritz456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imfreetours, Owner at I'm Free Walking Tours, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed the tour. We are sorry to hear that there was some confusion with the way our tour works. We try our best to make sure everyone understands before we depart.

All our promotional material including our maps, pamphlet and website make it clear that while the tour itself is free, our otherwise unpaid guides always appreciate tips from participants who have enjoyed the experience. This choice of whether to leave something is left completely up to the individual allowing anyone to participate. Whilst a tip is always appreciated it is in no way compulsory as has been made out.

Similarly we feel that both our promotional material and our guides clearly communicate the fact that the tour takes 3 hours in total (including a 10-15 minute break) - which we feel is necessary to provide a meaningful insight into the history, sights, sounds and stories of Sydney.

Once again we regret that your experience was a neutral one but thank you for the opportunity to clear up any misconceptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great intro to city of Sydney.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband ,our 5 year old Zach and I went for this walking tour and all three of us enjoyed the walk through the city with the friendly guide Ross. We found the pace very comfortable and could still find time for photo opp even though we were in a group of about 10 people.
What i find most interesting were the facts and stories about Sydney's history and the various landmarks that we visited . It was a very well organized and well- planned walk and definitely deserved the tips at the end of the tour. The map that comes with the tour is most useful and we turned to it for most of the info that we needed during our stay in Sydney. We would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank EttaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Free 3 hour escorted walking tour of Sydney City visiting interesting landmarks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

My wife and I cannot thank 'Evan' our Tour guide (of 'I'm Free ') enough for introducing us to Sydney Australia.
He was a true ambassador for his country, with a deep passion for the role he undertook.
Anyone intending to visit Sydney and see the sights, would be well advised to use this tour at the very least to familiarise themselves with this amazing city.
We certainly did and found our return visits so beneficial.

'Evan' was clear and concise using occasional humour as he escorted us at a liesurely pace through city streets,buildings and parks stopping to point out and explain interesting landmarks from around the time the first convicts arrived to present date.
He was always willing to answer questions of our group which on occasions could prove rather testing.
Here is the website link http://www.imfree.com.au/

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“O for ORSUM!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

This really is a FREE tour - there are NO strings attached! But in saying that we were so impressed that we tipped Claire our fabulous tour guide 4 x $10 each at the end which was SOOO worth it!!!
The tour begins by meeting at 10.30am at the huge anchor by Town Hall opposite Woolworths. Once a group has gathered you head off on a 3 hour wander all over Sydney. It sounds like a long time and we were unsure whether we would cope (being really unfit!) but it was a comfortable pace and we were surprized at the end at the distance we had actually covered. If you are unsure if you will enjoy it, being free, if u dont want to continue at any stage, you just drop out - no probs - nothing lost :)
We were really glad we took the advice on this website and did this on the 1st morning of our trip - kinda gives you a feel for the city and the layout so you can revisit the places you liked best. Really cool hearing about the history of the place - not at all boring. Claire was a bundle of energy and made it interesting and funny too!!! Also great photo opportunities for the Bridge and Opera House to be had.
Main advice would be to take a bottle of water and comfortable walking shoes.
Do this - it's worth it!!! And c'mon people - IT'S FREE!!!!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank BudgetFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I'm Free Walking Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to I'm Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing