We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sydney Harbour YHA
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$394
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$240
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$239
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$197
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$216
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveler rating
744
334
55
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
334
55
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracearchaeological digopera houseyouth hostelbig digprivate bathroomgreat locationsydney harbourbunk bedsfemale dormcommunal kitchenshared roomfamily roomcommon areason the rockscircular quay stationcruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very nice, new and clean hostel and might well offer the best value for money in all of Sydney. We had a double room with ensuite bathroom with a gorgeous view towards Sydney Harbour and the Opera House. I would rate the room quality as somewhere in between an Ibis Budget and a normal Ibis hotel, with the bathroom probably even exceeding Ibis' standards.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful - we had several requests concerning our booking prior to arrival, actually changing dates several times, and they all were promptly fulfilled.

Overall, you can't get a better deal at this location - the view from both the room we had and the rooftop terrace is probably even better than the one from some of the much more expensive upmarket hotels around Circular Quay. We will definitely stay here again when coming back to Sydney one day!

Room Tip: Try to get a double room with view towards the Opera House in the 3rd floor - easily one of the best views in all of Sydney!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaVo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Modern and new facility. Family room for 4 or 5 is perfect with your own very nice bathroom (no kidding, it has the quality of a new and very good hotel). Very well equiped and clean kitchen. Friendly staff. Perfect location if you want to be close to the harbour and downtown. Luggage storage is not so good (not enough lockers and not large enough). Every day there is a special item or offer (e.g. hamburger dinner on the roof). You have to pay for WIFI.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffen F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in this hostel for one night. You obviously pay for the location right in between Harbour Bridge and the Rocks. Also, the 4-bed dorms do have their own very nice bathroom. Furthermore, the rooftop terasse is a true gem, an absolutely stunning view, especially if you are as crazy about the Syndey Opera and harbour view as I am.
However there are a few drawbacks. It is a downtown commercial place and you do feel that everywhere. You are charged for baggage storage, internet, breakfast. We stayed in a 26 Dollar hostel the night before which included all of the above free of charge. Not in Sydney though so I know I have to adapt my expectations. The place has a rather sterile feel to it though and the rooms are absolutely clean but felt like a spacious prison cell.
Staff is friendly and helpful. The view is the reason I would go again but do not expect any special atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Super clean, super good location in the centre of Sydney, super place for backpackers or families. I stayed there with my friend for a night travelling in between Fiji and Melbourne and was really convenient. The rooftop has a great view of the Harbour, they were organising a lot of activities but we did not take part in any as we were there for a day only transiting. Room was quiet, we had the 4 Female dorm room and was really clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coradun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been staying in hostels since my first one in Australia 12 years ago and was a bit dubious about going back to one in Sydney. However, it was fantastic. It wasn't built when I first visited, so it is clean and modern, the view for the roof terrace is wonderful - I didn't really think I'd be able to see the bridge and opera house but you can. Good kitchen facilities and excellent location in the rocks. I was in a 4-bed dorm and it was well-worth the money, especially compared to the prices you'd pay for a private room in a hotel, or even a hostel. There was a modern bathroom for the room and so long as you are prepared, with a padlock for the locker and earplugs (always handy).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews