We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Definitely stay here if this is your first time to Oz!!! This is one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. It was like a hotel. The bathrooms are so clean, the bed was comfortable, room a comfortable temperature and not noisy-- was able to sleep fine. Yeah, it's not much of a "community" feel, more like a hotel vibe, but if you want a good night's sleep and a clean bed, this is the place to stay. Great view from the roof, too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisssssss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the YHA for a girls weekend . The room was basic but very clean. The lockers were handy in the room but make sure you have a padlock that fits although you can hire one at reception. The staff were very helpful and the amenities were fantastic. We will definitely stay here again and recommend to others. The views from the rooftop terrace were amazing and we watched the vivid light show from there. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Reasonably new Yha in The Rocks area of Sydney. Very central to tourist attractions, buses, trains & taxis. Very clean, large bunks with clean white sheets provided. Great to sit up on the top bunk and not hit your head on the roof! All bunks have a power box where you can charge mobiles, IPads or even watch a movie on laptop while other room mates sleep. Also has a down light which doesn't disturb other room mates.
Separate bathroom & toilet that is clean & modern. Towels provided for $1.00.
YHA built over an archeological dig - pretty cool.
Rooftop view to die for. Picturesque views of the Opera House & Sydney Harbour Bridge.
Great kitchen so don't forget to bring along some brekkie food or your tea bags for that late night cuppa.
Did I also mention how good the security is - I felt very safe.

Room Tip: Ask the staff - tell them what you want and they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The rocks is a great new hostel in a great location. The 4 bed women only had their own bathroom and good storage bins. Wonderful view and close to everything. Clean kitchen and common areas that the YHA is known for!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Exceeded expectations! Wonderfully located, comfortable room, kitchen area was spacious and provided everything that you would probably need.
The view from both the room and the rooftop are wonderful. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the money, expect the corner one in third floor. Its the only room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaloyPancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband noticed this hostel last year when he was in Sydney with our daughter for her birthday. They stayed next door at the Shangri-La but this year, with the whole family of five visiting, we opted for this hostel. We are thrilled that we did and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay.

We were travelling with our 8 yo, 6 yo and 5 yo, and I have to admit I was a bit worried about all the steps given some of the reviews I'd read here. Realistically, though, it was easy. About 5 flights of stairs and we were at Circular Quay, a stroll around via the streets and we were at about a billion cafes , easy easy easy. We had an absolute ball.

Our room was fairly basic BUT had a clean ensuite and even a telly. Regardless, we hardly spent any time there as we were in Sydney. in the Rocks. With the Opera House, Harbour and Bridge at our doorstep.

Practically speaking, there is a pub next door with pizzas on the menu for kids, a food mart between the hostel and the pub for last minute essentials ( and ice creams) , and the cafe at the hostel itself for toast, cereal etc. and Baroque down the road for eggs en cocotte with smoked trout and dill.......bliss!

We're already planning a return trip next year .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed here on business and the room was booked for me. What a wonderful surprise it was! A lot of hostels in Sydney are below standard, but not this one. The double ensuite had a view of the harbour, was huge, comfortable, clean and eco friendly. The location was fantastic, on an archaeological site bearing remnants of the city's first European inhabitants. The Rocks is also my favourite part of the city with great cafes and restaurants, history lurking around every corner and a wonderful art supplies store!
The common areas were large and nice and the cherry on the cake was the roof terras with the breathtaking view of Sydney's most valued landmarks. The only thing that may need improvement is the sound of doors opening and closing, something that kept me awake. My earplugs came to be my most valued possession at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#109 of 180 in Sydney
1,981 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#106 of 180 in Sydney
5,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 145 in Sydney
788 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 145 in Sydney
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Address: 110 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $44 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing