We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel...more like a hotel with hostel ammenities”
Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
smarik
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hostel...more like a hotel with hostel ammenities”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I loved the sydney harbour YHA. It is located in a great part of Sydney, in Circular Quay which is in walking distance of the harbour and close to transportation to wherever you need. The staff is friendly, the rooms are simple but clean and totally adequate and, like a hostel, the have a ton of activities you can join and they will help you book any kind of tour you're interested in. And, it was much cheaper than any other hotels in the area!

Room Tip: I chose a room with a private bathroom and was very happy I did. It was much more like a proper hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    318
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
145
243
332
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at this hostel for 2 nights of my Australian vacation.Because of the size of it there is more a hotel atmosphere to it rather than the laid back hostel feeling.The room was great,very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.The kitchen was immaculate as well as the lobby and guest rooms.Good location and great view from the top floor balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioLeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

the good: very nice view from top of the hostel! you can see the opera house and also the harbour bridge. clean rooms and really clean kitchen, quite modern, good location

the bad: too expensive, but yeah you get what you pay for..

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my two teens and we couldn't have been happier. The cool archeological dig atmosphere was awesome...we loved reading about the area and seeing the excavated areas. The main lounge/kitchen area is bright, well furnished and a great spot for hanging out. Fast, cheap wifi throughout, even in the rooms. Staff was terrific -- answering our questions, making suggestions, etc. Other guests spanned the spectrum from young backpackers to families to active seniors. Our room was a triple with bath and was terrific -- clean, spacious and comfortable. Even had a partial view of the Opera House! We've stayed at the Four Seasons in Sydney before, and actually liked this more. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVagabonding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

YHA Sydney was our first ever Hostel experience. It was the best way to ease into hoteslling!

It was clean, new, trendy and perfectly located steps from Circle Quay and the Opera House. You cannot beat the location and price of YHA, and the rooftop patio was actually one of our highlights of being in Sydney. It's just a perfect place to hang out and catch some sun on a late afternoon and to get the best views and pics of the Opera House. It's surrounded by restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. Just Stay Here!

Rooms have individual lockers in them (BYO Lock) and they are plenty big enough to store your travel bags, valuables, etc. They even have electrical outlets in them to charge your stuff while they're locked up.

The only complaint we had is that the air conditioning was a really poor setup. We visited in Jan, so it was really hot! You have to request the front desk staff to turn it on. I think it can only be turned on for 12-hours at a time. So every night you have to remember to ask them, and the room heated up to 30C+ during the day. It turns off automatically if the window is open. That's cool. But the micro-switch was faulty and so the AC never seemed to work. Our room mates didn't seem to get the concept of needing the window to stay closed...so, enter the endless heat cycle... Even with the window open, the room stayed quite hot at night.

The Australia Day BBQ on the rooftop was very cool. Met some interesting people and had a great time. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember to head to the rooftop patio for stunning views of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacTheCat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great hostel. Close to everything and very clean. Really enjoyed my stay here. Met some great people while I stayed at this hostel. I stayed in a 4 share female dorm. ever stayed in a YHA but I definitely would stay there again. Staff are helpful. Great job.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my first YHA experience and I will certainly do it again.
We chose to stay here for our 2 nights in Sydney partly to save money and partly to give our kids (12 &14) a different experience should they have the opportunity to travel in a few years - and I think it worked on both counts.
We had a family room with a comfortable double bed and bunk beds so we all slept well with no noise or problems at all. The private bathroom was better than some 4 stay hotels I've stayed in and there was even a telly and air conditioning.
The staff we're always very helpful and cheerful, the breakfast on offer at reception is a great help if you are keen to get going in the morning but my son (and I) really enjoyed cooking our own full breakfast (£4) for in the fantastic communal kitchen which has about 4 fully equipped bays.....ok we had to do our own washing up but this was hardly roughing it.
The location could not have been better as it's just a short walk to circular Quay, the rocks, the harbour bridge and the Opera House. There are a few steps to climb but we all found it easy going and we're by no means athletes.
Top tips for getting around: taxi to and from the airport if there are more than 2 of you or you have cases as it's the cheapest and tell the driver is next door to the Shangri la; use the open to sight seeing bus to get to bondi and darling harbour; walk along the Bridge and up the Tower lookout for fantastic photos; take the ferry from circular key to manly for a lovely day at the beach and to buy souvenirs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_burwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 177 in Sydney
6,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 177 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Property: Sydney Harbour YHA
Address: 110 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing