We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel experience at hostel price”
Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you usually stay at full-service hotels but can't afford sky-high Sydney prices, consider staying here. Excellent location in The Rocks with fantastic views. Sits over an interesting archealogiocal dig. Room was clean, private bath was large and modern, environment was quiet, nice common kitchen, 24/7 reception ...the only things missing were a TV and phone in the room. Airport shuttle service from front door available for $15 per person. Clientele ranged from seniors to single backpackers...limited children. Only downside was climb up steep hill (steps) to location...but location so near Circular Quay, Opera House, the Bridge, Darling Harbour just can't be beat. Staff at reception very helpful; internet (yours or theirs) available for minimum fee. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank formerflygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review of Sydney Harbour YHA and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Just one quick point to clarify: we recommend that people get off the train at Wynyard Station, not Circular Quay, as it is then a flat walk to the hostel. There is more information that can be printed out on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Slightly more expensive than other backpackers but you get what you pay for. This was my second stay here, the first was in 2010 and I was as good as I remember. Fantastic location in The Rocks, views of the bridge and opera house from the rooftop terrace. Great kitchen facilities. Extremely clean rooms with ensuites and very helpful staff. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sydney. Even if you normally stay in hotels rather than backpackers, book a private room here for much cheaper and you'll feel just as comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my partner,we had private room,great room basic but very clean,for what you get for the price it's great to be 5 mins walk to the opera house and bridge,great roof top terrace with great views of the harbour.pub next door great food.would I stay again yes loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon18069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location, Location, Location! This is very well situated for a tourist...very close to a lot of great things to do. I couldn't check-in right away, so I had to put my things in a locker, which was fine. Since I had a private room, with a private bath, I didn't really get the hostel experience here. It was very clean and modern. The only negative...and only to a degree, is the staff behind the counter weren't as friendly or helpful as I'm used to. On the other hand, one of the cleaning staff (I think her name was Kelly??) was very helpful! Random little tips: There is a cafe just across the street by a gym where you could get some good coffee, the visitor center is very close, and if you can't do the bridge climb, go to pylon's lookout (super close) for some great views! Safe Travels!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisco447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Sydney Harbour YHA is in a fantastic location. You can pay a little extra for a view...we did and could look out onto the iconic Sydney Opera House.
The Rocks are a must see and a very short walk from here. The Rocks markets are lovely to visit on the weekend. You can catch a ferry to Manly from nearby Circular Quay.
Would I stay again? Sure thing!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blessings-to-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here four nights in a double bed with bathroom. Good price for a nice efficient room. Right beside the Shangri-La which I'm sure is 4 times the price. Not really what I'd call a hostel, but it is a hostel, offering 4-8 room dorms. I loved the fact that I could cook my own meals if I didn't want to go out. My room was basic, clean and the bed was good....I slept well. I did wear ear plugs which I'm sure helped because there is an echo from the hallway. It is so convenient to the waterfront ferries, bus, restaurants and Sydney Opera House. This is a great accommodation for families, singles, couples and teens. No noise rule after 10 pm ....this is not a party hostel. Kitchen was very clean...and the 3rd floor view was an amazing plus for this place. Clear views of harbour and bridge.

Room Tip: looking for a double room with bathroom? I was in 113, could see Sydney Opera House but I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvtravlyn333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was really impressed by this YHA, having stayed in many hostels across the world, this is the best. Modern, friendly and great location, my dorm even had a harbour view! Not bad for $44 on a Saturday night! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,991 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 145 in Sydney
789 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 145 in Sydney
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Address: 110 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $45 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing