We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Rooftop View of Sydney Harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Penang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Rooftop View of Sydney Harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

YHA costs more than what I'd usually pay for a hostel but I've never regretted my decision. Unlike many other hostels in the area catering for solo backpackers who like to party, the common area are mostly quiet. It is the most "civilised" and family-oriented hostel I've been to.

The room and the kitchen are spacious and clean. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm with an ensuite bathroom. It has an individual reading light and power point by the bed, and the one thing that suprised me the most is the power point inside the locker (big enough to fit a 50 litres backpack), that I can charge my laptop/mobile while I was showering or out, with a peace of mind!

The rooftop view is fabulous, it overlooks Sydney Harbour with the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within your sight.

Room Tip: 4-bed dorm and 6-bed dorm are only of $2 different
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    317
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
143
236
328
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

... because this hostel beats most of them hands down on location, price and facilities. Sure you have to share a room but when it's fresh, airy and spacious with only four beds and has its own bathroom attached, it's definitely a sacrifice worth making.
The whole place feels modern and clean and the kitchens / dining area are fantastic. There's a comfortable sitting/computer space and wifi is reasonable. Staff are helpful and efficient.
The roof top views of the harbour area are stunning but (tempting as it may be for only $6) I wouldn't advise the evening meal option up there: the kangaroo "burger" was inedible! And beware the grocery downstairs - it's a total rip off and the shop staff appeared to try to take advantage of some folk who were still getting to grips with the currency. That apart, it's a brilliant place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuthieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed with a friend of mine in a 4 bed female room at the Sydney Harbour Youth Hostel. I have never stayed in a hostel before and was a little nervous but pleasantly surprised. The people working the desk could not have been nicer or more helpful. The place is clean, clean, clean and bright and orderly. There is a fabulous view of the harbor from the roof and the area, known as "The Rocks" is snug up against the famous bridge and has lots and lots of small shops on narrow lanes. Very picturesque. A nice little convenience store is next store and a great little pub and many other little restaurants are right on the same street. The beds are bunk beds but they were comfortable enough. You get a locker to store things in and they sell the small locks you can use to lock it up. We had a bathroom in our room. I think I went for a more expensive option but there are also rooms where you go down the hall to shower. So, choose what you are comfortable with. There is food storage and really terrific little kitchen set ups for cooking in too. And, a great lounge for hanging out. (I heard from people staying there that the YHA in Central was a totally different scene and not as clean so don't get them mixed up) Sydney Harbour was a really terrific experience. I'd even recommend it to families with kids!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi MaryAnn
Thanks for your review of Sydney Harbour YHA and it's great that you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify one thing though - all the rooms at this hostel are ensuite rooms with their own bathrooms. There are 4 share and 6 share rooms, double/twins and family rooms. The bathrooms at the end of the corridor are just spare bathrooms!
I would be very surprised if people have had issues with cleanliness at Sydney Central YHA as YHA has a policy of quality management where cleanliness is very important. As a large, busy hostel, the shared bathrooms there are cleaned a number of times through the day - but obviously mess can be created between these cleans if guests are not considerate of other guests. You can always come and see for yourself if you are staying again in Sydney! We hope to welcome you back to another YHA soon, and enjoy your stay in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

stayed here in October with a friend on our first trip to Sydney . We loved this place . Our room was very spacious with a double and a single. The bathroom was also spacious and very clean, the shower was very welcome after a 15 hour flight! The staff here are lovely, they were always on hand to answer any questions we had . The kitchen facilities were very new and regularly cleaned. The hostel in situated in the rocks which was a great location for the bridge and circular quay, but the best bit about this hostel is the view from the Roof Terrace. You get the best view of the harbour bridge and the opera house . Just amazing!! We only had one problem with this hostel and that was with the air conditioning. It is controlled centrally but we found the room cold at times and even though we followed the instructions (closing the curtains) it never seemed to warm up. Would still go back here in a heartbeat though!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daffy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an absolutely amazing time at the Sydney Harbour YHA. We stayed in a 4 share mixed dorm with a private bathroom. The beds were clean, comfortable, and linens provided. The shower was updated and the bathrooms were clean.

We met a lot of staff while we were there, and enjoyed each and every one of them. They were helpful, kind, and fun.

The facilities were modern and beautiful. Big flat screen tv in the lounge room, which is open 24/7, and the rooftop terrace was perfect. We purchased tickets for the NYE rooftop party, and we're so glad we did! If you are thinking about doing Sydney for New Years, this is the place to do it. No waiting in lines all day to get down to the Opera House, Gardens, or Harbour. Just a relaxed evening on the rooftop with drinks and food included. Lovely fireworks and a spectacular view.

The only thing I was hoping for was a fan in the bedroom. You can have the air con turned on by the staff, but if you are sharing your room, your roomies may turn it off and open the window. This makes for a VERY HOT room! I asked if they had room fans/stand up fans for hire, but they didn't. A fan hire service would be a good addition :)

The location was also fabulous. The Rocks was such a beautiful place to stay, and about a 10-15 minute walk to the Opera House and harbour. Lots of great little pubs and cafes, but felt very clean and safe to walk, even late at night. After seeing some other parts of the city, I was really glad we chose to stay in The Rocks.

This is the most beautiful hostel we have ever stayed in, and it truly provided us with an experience that we will never, ever forget.

Room Tip: Top floor is top notch! Close to the terrace and the lounge/tv room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Definitely the best value accommodation in Sydney. My second stay here, ended up in the exact same room! A few doors from the entrance to the roof top terrace - where you can admire the best views of the bridge and Opera House. And, watching the cruise ships arrive and leave port is something else!
Rooms are clean and spacious with modern tiled ensuites (I stay in a four bed dorm - $44 a night for members); lounge area comfy; movie room brilliant; kitchen huge and well equipped. Reception staff are super helpful and friendly.
Cost saving tip: before buying milk for cereal or coffee, check the 'free food' section in the fridge, there's always leftovers.
When heading down to the Quay, take the side exit and make your way down through the Nurses Walk - lots of quaint little shops and alleyways.
Added bonus: from the balcony's outside most rooms, you can look down on the "Big Dig" - a fascinating part of The Rocks history.
Can't praise this hostel enough - returning in March for Opera on Sydney Harbour with 4 friends from Tassie - can't wait to show it off to them!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have easy access to the rooftop terrace for brilliant views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judi_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hostel we've stayed in. Its location simply cannot be beaten - right in The Rocks and therefore the perfect place to explore the city as a tourist. The Harbour Bridge is a couple of minutes walk away and Circular Quay is about five minutes, where you can get the ferry to Manly or the bus to Bondi, as well as visiting the Opera House. There are loads of pubs and restaurants within two minutes walk, including The Australian Hotel, The Glenmore and Harts - all very nice pubs within metres of the hostel. The accommodation is extremely clean and modern and our en suite double room was a good size. Staff are very helpful and it seems to be a well run place. We stayed over new year and the party on the deck was excellent and surely one of the best places in the city to see the fireworks, hassle-free! The deck is a lovely space in general, with superb views of the Opera House (in particular), the bridge and the downtown area. A fantastic stay and a peerless location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Property: Sydney Harbour YHA
Address: 110 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing