We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Sydney Harbour: The Rocks"-Great location, clean and competitive rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“"Sydney Harbour: The Rocks"-Great location, clean and competitive rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed many times at this property. It's reasonably new, built on an ancient site called "The Rocks". The rooms are situated around the perimeter, and from the corridor-the middle part- you can see the excavated area.

The rooms are airy, light and clean; also very spacious. I've stayed in dorms, private room and the family room. Each locker has its own power point.

Their balcony is awesome with a clear view of the Sydney Opera House , the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay, and the city(because of its close proximity).

One doesn't need to walk into the CBD area, as there are lots of shops, galleries etc. in The Rocks' area-walking 5 min from the Hostel. There are stairs that lead you up on the actual bridge, and you can walk over it to the other side of Sydney-it's a lovely walk and it offers spectacular views of the harbour. Half way is a pylon that has an interesting 'museum' on how the bridge was built, and more spectacular 360 degrees views( there is a small entrance fee).

Room Tip: I was in rooms facing Cumberland Street, and they were reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olinka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    316
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
143
236
326
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had a great time during my stay at the Sydney Harbour YHA. As everyone has already said, the location is perfect and the views of the Opera House from the rooftop terrace are amazing. Also, staff were very friendly and helpful.

I stayed in a 6-bed ensuite dorm, and it was one of the best hostel dorms I've stayed in (behind the YMCA Salisbury in Hong Kong and the Academy Hostel in Florence). The beds were comfortable, and each bed had a reading light and an power outlet, perfect for charging mobile phones while sleeping. The lockers were large enough for my backpack, and the lockers also had power outlets, great to charge electronics securely while out of the dorm. The toilet and shower were separate and very clean.

So why not a full five star review? If booking on the YHA website, they require full payment upfront. That's more obnoxious that anything else because most hostels require only a deposit. The hostel also seems keen on extracting extra money from its guests. With international flights arriving into Sydney in the early morning, I would have expected the hostel to have free luggage storage. Instead, they have paid lockers which ended up costing me an extra $12. They also charge for wi-fi. While these are not deal-breakers and I would gladly stay here again, these are extra costs that travellers should keep in mind when budgeting the costs of their stay at the YHA Sydney Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hostel was in a perfect location - central to both Circular Quay and Darling which allowed for very easy transportation. It was very convenient to have a nice and spacious bathroom in the room. The room was clean, came with large lockers w/plug ins, air conditioning - all together very comfortable. I found that given the prices in that area of the city that the hostel was very fair. I originally chose it because the view looked amazing - even better in person!

The only thing I really didn't like about this hostel (which I didn't mark down the rating because it is more of a personal preference and not a flaw) was that there were not enough young people. I was surprised how many elderly folks and kids were here. It is a great place to stay if you want to have full days and a good quiet nights sleep, but not so much if you are looking for young people to go out with. That could have just been what was happening the days I was there. Even then, it wouldn't deter me from staying again. Helpful and kind staff, good hostel deals, and some great bbq/dinner offers and very safe.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraBar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I really liked this hostel. It was clean and quiet but you could still make new friends, pefect! The room has a little low light in the doorway so if your room mates are late coming back in the room they don't have to wake you up by putting on the big light but can still find their way to their own bed. (Some shelves in the room would be useful). The kitchen area is always clean and people just chill out in the communal areas. There's no loud shouting drunk people which is great to my opinion, what I like to call 'a grown up hostel' not a 'schoolie' hostel, The location is absolutely perfect! Just seconds away from circular Quay and I managed to walk every where and get back to the hostel very easily. If you don't want to make your own breakie they sell breakie stuff from toast and cereal to hot breakie stuff, which is really useful. I stayed 4 nights and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica_B1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at YHA. This was out first hostel experience and it was wonderful. Room was sparse- just a bed and a small table-but adequate. The hostel ambience was fun- people cooking their meals, socializing in lounges-low key. We brought our wine to the rooftop and had a glass while looking out over the harbor, Opera House and the city. That was outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zampanocalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

and I'm probably just being picky, but for a relatively new hostel I found the damp smell in the bathroom rather annoying.... I'm not sure if it was just as a result of my room~mates leaving damp towels in there, or whether there's a somewhere, but the ventilation is not good, and drying racks in the actual room might be a better option.

Otherwise, this was a relatively quiet hostel, with great views, a well equipped kitchen, spacious dining area and so on... with a lovely spacious room that easily accommodated four of us with lots of luggage, and the only thing I'd otherwise fault about it, is it's not easy to walk to from Circular Quay if you have heavy wheeled bags, as the route involves steps. Grab a cab, save the hassle.

I've been going to and from Sydney for nigh on forty years, and this is certainly a great base for exploring all it has to offer. This time it was just a brief over night for me, and it did suit that too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi Jqqls
Thanks for your review of Sydney Harbour YHA and glad you enjoyed your stay.
We do encourage guests to use Wynward train station, not Circular Quay, to go to the hostel. There is a nice flat walk from Wynward to the hostel - perfect for wheelie cases. There are instructions on our website.

Hope to see you again at the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a very good esperience. Nice and clean, the location is just perfect and the staff was helpful.

The common areas are well equipped with nice peppole around.

I definitely recommend this place in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Property: Sydney Harbour YHA
Address: 110 Cumberland Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing