We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a hotel”
Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It is practically brand new so you almost feel like you're staying in a hotel. The kitchen is immaculate and the rooms are spotless and a great size. I stayed in a five bed dorm with my family as it was such a good alternative to a budget hotel. The ensuite bathroom was great and there was another bathroom/shower room in the corridor right outside our room. The location is fantastic in the old town area of the Rocks so it's in minutes walking distance to Circular Quay. The best thing about the hostel has to be the rooftop area. The view of the Opera House and Sydney bridge are possibly the best in the city and actually exceed most of the views from the Four Seasons Hotel next door! Staff at reception were really nice and helpful. If you can afford to stay here then don't hesitate!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callaga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

I like to travel by spending a little to see a lot and throwing in a "splurge" once a week.

This is THE best hostel I have ever stayed at and I've been hostelling for 30 years.
It's in a brilliant location with terrific views of the Opera House & Harbour Bridge. The building is fairly new and built on piers above a "dig" of early settlers of Sydney. The staff is really great: friendly & helpful.
the only complaint I had was the "bag room" has lockers that are VERY expensive .
I spent 20 days here of and on last August, and NEVER had a bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The location of this hostel is just one of the many selling points - right in the middle of the Rocks area with bags of history all around it and indeed below it. It is very sympathetically constructed above and around an archaelogical site - it was great to witness this when leaving/entering your room.

The views from the roof terrace were the other major selling point - beautiful views across the harbour to the opera house and around. It's surely as good as the Shangri-La next door but a damn sight cheaper! (although saying that, it's by far the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed in!).

Staff were mixed - some friendly, some not so much, some efficient, others struggling with language/computer skills.

Cooking facilities were pretty good.

Overall, a great option if you want the view. Now all they need is a rooftop pool!

Room Tip: You can book a double room with a view through the hostel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maui50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week, having changed our booking from Sydney Central YHA, where we had an excellent stay some years ago, after reading recent poor reviews.

In many ways you can't beat Sydney Harbour. The location, very close to The Rocks & Circular Quay, is fabulous. The beds are comfortable and all rooms, including dorms have an en suite toilet and shower which is hot, powerful and modern. The soundproofing is excellent. The communal areas are open,spacious and comfortable and the kitchens well equipped and clean. The staff are helpful and there 24 hrs. The clientele are interesting. The groups all seemed to be young: school age up to about 19. On the other hand, the 'individual' travellers were that bit older plus families and all quite diverse.

I do have a few niggles, however.
1) We are traveling with our young children and on the whole we try to book a double room Plus a 4 share dorm next to or opposite each other. Although these rooms were available when I booked, the hostel were unable to guarantee that they would be on the same floor, let alone next to each other, so we ended up sharing a 6 bed dorm, which was a shame.
2) It is an expensive hostel, though the location is great, and you pay for that
3) You can't use the laundry after 9.30pm and indeed it's locked, so you can't even collect dry clothes after that time.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Hi Kenzas.
Thank you for your review of Sydney Harbour YHA. I would just like to clarify a point you have made about the rooms you wanted to book at the hostel. This YHA does not have any four share rooms next door or opposite to twin/double rooms (they are in a different building), so it would have been impossible to book this combination for you. The only options were the 6 share you booked (with bunk beds), or a 5 share family room which has a double bed and bunks.
The laundry is locked (and the times are displayed clearly) because there are bedrooms near it and we don't want these guests disturbed after 9.30pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Strong features: great location (in front of the opera house and harbour bridge) , new building, clean , good kitchen, great roof terrace.
Weak ones: slightly expensive, no soul with one of the worst YHA reception in Australia, some people working in this hotel so you could be woken up very early by your room mates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Don't let "Youth Hostel" put you off. We are grandparents and used to our creature comforts. This was a wonderful base from which to explore Sydney for 11 nights. In the heart of The Rocks, with Circular Quay a short walk down the hill. Many of the other guests were over 50's and it was a good mix of ages! We had a glorious view of the Opera House from our en suite room (310), sheets changed twice during our stay, room serviced daily with tea, coffee etc replaced. The room was soundproof and well air-conditioned. The kitchens are well appointed, excellent laundry facilities, the roof terrace a glorious place to watch the sunset over the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Breakfast basics can be purchased in house or there is a shop next door. Themed evenings offered well-priced food to stretch the budget. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there is service 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost a more, but it added to our enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kightleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It is probably the best YHA backpacker in OZ...but due to its new facilities, location (location, location), and the the other benefits, you are going to pay TOP dollar for a backpacker place. Your best bet to ease the pinch on your wallet is to purchase and use YHA eNights (which will reduce the cost to about AU$26-27 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoloSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,956 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,276 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
2,451 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Address: 110 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $41 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing