We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hostel”
Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This YHA was really excellent. I stayed here with a group of friends and we had booked 6 bed room for the group which was ideal. The room was on the ground floor and had a shower room right outside which was quite hidden so as we basically had two showers to ourselves,

There are some nice touches in the rooms which show it's such a new hostel like the plug sockets in the lockers etc. We didn't use the kitchen very much but when we did it was clean.

The location is excellent and very central, they don't exaggerate about the steps to Circular Quay though, be warned with bags, there are something like 7 flights of stairs. The hostel is suspended over an archaeological site. All the Europeans will scoff at it as it's only 130 years old. Needless to say, the view from the roof is absolutely stunning.

The only problem we had with the hostel was the air conditioning was a right palaver as you had to have all the windows shut, the key card in the slot and then go and ask at reception but the reception staff seemed to have a lot of trouble setting it and it got seriously hot in there - not great with a hangover!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippy10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

One of the best places that we have ever stayed. Our first experience of YHA for many a year bur it was brilliant

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is definetely the best hostel I've ever stayed in Aussie, even in my life! Yes I know that it's a bit pricey than any other hostels but it's worth every penny!
First you can't beat the location. It's very convinient since only takes 5 minute walks to reach the Circular Quay area. And the rooftop terrace view was AWESOME! I was like being in a 5 star hotel with that Opera House & Harbour Bridge view!
Second, the room was SO big, spacious & super clean! Not forget to mention the modern look of the ensuite bathroom. I can even be in the shower for hours enjoying the strong hot shower. There are individual lockers in the room so that you can keep your luggage safely. There is also a reading light with socket in every bunk, very convinient!
I can't imagine a better hostel like Sydney Harbour YHA. Definetely recommend this to anyone and I'll be back there someday!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milka_yk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Stayed one night in an en suite room. Bathroom had a glass shower area and modern fixtures. Felt like we were in a Hyatt or something. The rooftop has a spectacular view, especially at night. Go out for dinner and bring some wine back to the roof to watch the city lights come on. Nice luggage lockers on the main floor- you just add payment to later if you're gone for a while. Super staff with great suggestions. Great little breakfast bar in the YHA itself. Easy and comfortable internet area. Saw travellers of all ages, not just college kids. A very enjoyable stay- Tip: take a cab with your luggage from the train station. It was around 5 bucks and while it isn't very far to walk, there are loads of ancient steps, huge hills and cobblestones enroute. I had a big bag and it was literally a drag. Took the cab to the station when we checked out. Great place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenbee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Amazing! On so many levels.

We stayed there for four nights in the middle of April 2011. GREAT location in the heart of the historic district. Close to the train station, the ferry landing, pubs, shops and restaurants. It has a beautiful rooftop deck with a breathtaking view of both the harbor and of the Sydney Opera house. On Thursday night there was a great bbq on the roof for only $6 as well.

The staff were so helpful, friendly and accommodating. We had one random loud Friday night and the staff was appalled. I could tell it was the exception not the norm. The kitchen was HUGE good amounts of refrigerator and shelf space. All the facilities were meticulously cleaned and up kept.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend it to all my friends traveling to Sidney.

Room Tip: Book early & if it seems full on line, call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Stayed at Sydney Harbour YHA twice, at the start and at the end of my Oz/Kiwiland trip, and the repeat business was earned by the friendly staff as well as the excellent location of the hostel. After reading reviews here, I chose to take a shuttle from the airport instead of the train to Circular Quay, and I am glad I did, since the stairs and/or the road going up to the hostel is not very luggage/weight-on -your-back friendly. However, once there, it was great--the dorms were clean, with ensuite bathrooms and very roomy lockers in the room. Power outlets in the locker was a great way to charge up the laptop and the cellphone while you slept. Nice kitchen facilities, and walking distance to many attractions, as well as a Coles and a Woolworths where you could stock up on food and snacks and whatnot. All in all, great experience my first time around in Australia, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viatormundus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place is only a short walk from Circular Quay, making traveling around Sydney cheaper and easier (for example, if you want to get on a Ferry to manly, you can walk to the ferry, don't have to bus it). I would stay here again for the location and the great view of the harbour you get from the third floor deck. It's also a very new hostel, very clean, and has lockers in both the rooms and on the first floor for during the day storage. Plenty of computers, plenty of common areas. HOWEVER, the service here sucks. Sure, my room was clean and everything, but I dreaded everytime I had to go talk to the people at the front desk. They were slow, stupid, and not very nice. Anything I asked them to do, it seemed like they had no idea how to do it. Also, there is obviously a fairly young crowd here, to be expected, but the walls and ceilings in this place are made out of paper. Anyone being loud throughout the buidling, you could often hear. I ranked my sleep quality a three only because it was often very loud outside of my room.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor, away from any open areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nonstopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,549 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#46 of 186 in Sydney
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 150 in Sydney
804 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 150 in Sydney
1,469 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 150 in Sydney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Address: 110 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $43 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing