We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese with Sydney touches”

Sake Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #88 of 7,193 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Japanese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Set within an impressive designer space in the historic Argyle Precinct at The Rocks, Saké Restaurant & Bar serves up contemporary Japanese fare created by sushi master Shimpei Hatanaka, who draws on authentic Japanese training to present an outstanding mix of new-style sushi and classic dishes.Shimpei's menu changes with the seasons and is perfectly matched to a premium range of imported sakes, allowing guests to gain greater insight into the age-old Japanese tradition of delicately balancing flavours. Awarded with a coveted Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide Chef's Hat each year since opening, Saké is sure to exceed your expectations. Call in for cocktails, pull up a seat at the sushi bar or settle in with friends for the evening and savour the experience!
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

When you arrive you think that you are in a trendy Sydney bar. Loud music, modern decor and vibe, but don’t fear the food is the modern Japanese food that you get in Japan. The signature kingfish dish was delightful. Service personable and professional. Great cocktails, beers and sake. Arigatou gozaimashita.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 488claudeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2019

Sat at the bar at Sake in the rocks. Nice, modern decor with good energy and vibe. I was initially disappointed by a somewhat limited and standard sushi menu. However, when the food came, it was thoughtful. Innovation presentation of your standard Sushi fare. The King fish sashimi appetizer was also outstanding. Prices were reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Mikelemberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

Good decor and good japanese food in this well located restaurant in The Rocks. very similar to what I ate in Japan. Incredible choice of sake. Good service as well. Just a bit annoyed by the loud music (not very japanese, but so australian..)..

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank gilloux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

I had dinner in this restaurant on my wedding anniversary.
The interior of the restaurant is very nice and welcoming. Located on a popular street in Rocks makes it easy to visit this restaurant. I suggest reservation on a weekend and especially for dinner time as it gets very busy.

The food was absolutely delicious. I am vegetarian so I had less options than their non vegetarian menu. However, my vegetarian sides/mains were amazing and healthy.

Our waitress ‘Caroline’ was very nice, friendly and polite. She gave us all the necessary information on food plus really looked after us well.

We were also recommended to match our food with Japanese beers which we both loved. We also had their Sake flight and Japanese whiskey tasting. It was something to remember.

I will definitely visit this restaurant again and recommend it to anyone who wish to taste exclusive Japanese food.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 821arti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

This was a great meal. Fresh sashimi and overall strong menu.

The steak was average but everything exceeded our expectations

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank lewistutssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sake Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing