We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the specials”

Sake Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with
Sake Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Set within an impressive designer space in the historic Argyle Precinct at The Rocks, Saké Restaurant & Bar serves up contemporary Japanese fare created by sushi master Shimpei Hatanaka, who draws on authentic Japanese training to present an outstanding mix of new-style sushi and classic dishes.Shimpei's menu changes with the seasons and is perfectly matched to a premium range of imported sakes, allowing guests to gain greater insight into the age-old Japanese tradition of delicately balancing flavours. Awarded with a coveted Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide Chef's Hat each year since opening, Saké is sure to exceed your expectations. Call in for cocktails, pull up a seat at the sushi bar or settle in with friends for the evening and savour the experience!
Level Contributor
200 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Try the specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, good service, friendly staff. The food is attractively presented and of decent quality. We particularly enjoyed the tuna on the list of specials. Only possible drawback is that it clearly caters for larger groups so is not intimate Japanese dining. However this is a minor point.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    329
    120
    49
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Team dinner in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Visiting the team of our AU sub, they arranged for this lovely evening at Saké. Very nice interior with some fine Asian modern furniture. We tasted almost everything on the menu as we shared all the dishes. One word.... Miam! Amazing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0tusBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious delicious delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

It may be that we didn't expect to stop off for late lunch at such a nice restaurant that allowed our expectations to be met and surpassed ten-fold however we had one of the best meals I have eaten ever and the service was impeccable. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle_Simitcioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Fusion Japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food was pricey but of good quality. You can tell that premium ingredients were used. This is Westernise Japanese where the flavor is subtle and delicate. I thoroughly enjoyed the food but I felt the serving was leaning on the small size considering the price you have to pay for each dish. It's definitely worth a try!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ray520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Busy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Even at 6 in the evening there's a buzz about this place. A great experience with mostly good food delivered in a haphazard way. Flavours were certainly there in all but one dish (avoid the pork belly that has a long cooking time - the flavour vanished). We were on a relatively tight time frame so I imagine it may have been better to have unlimited times as the service seems variable but we would certainly go back to try again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sake Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing