We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite day in Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks

Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks
Ranked #104 of 338 Tours in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With some of Sydney's best natural beauty only accessible on foot, Sydney Coast Walks provides guided walking tours of the city's national parks. The privately guided hikes of Sydney Harbour National Park and Royal National Park enables you to reconnect with nature and experience the wonder of Sydney's outdoors. From easy half day and full day walks, to more challenging overnight hikes, choose a walk to suit your style. Full of interesting commentary including aboriginal sites, history and native plants and animals, you'll leave with a greater understanding and appreciation for the unique environment you're walking through.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Himeji, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite day in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This tour is AWESOME! Ian is such an interesting guy and the Royal coast is truly breathtaking. I love being outdoors but after doing Manly and Bondi walks thought another walk might be overkill. NOT EVEN CLOSE. This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my life and is not in any of the tour books, so you pretty much have the park to yourself. I was amazed that it wasn't teeming with people with their mouths agape. I did the Marley day walk and can honestly say it was one of my favorite days in Sydney and one of the best tours I have done. A must see!

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Anne, so glad you enjoyed your day with us in Sydney. Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal Coast Day Walks - Marley Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I had a amazing day Walking and exploring the Royal National Park. It is a experience that you should not miss. the knowledge of my guide Ian, the scenery, the food and the day was perfect.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you so much Barbara. Glad we made your day perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Royal Coast Walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

'Royal Coast Walks' is a small bushwalking tour operator based in the Sutherland Shire, Sydney. We did the one-day Bundeena to Little Marley hike with Ian, the owner of the business. The tour started with a ferry ride from Cronulla to Bundeena. From there the walk goes along the Jibbon Beach, then along the coast with wonderful sandstone formations. Lunch was on top of a cliff overlooking the ocean. We then back-tracked a little, going inland back to Bundeena, returning at around 5pm by ferry to Cronulla.
Access to Cronulla is easy by car or train, and then it is a short walk to the wharf. I would grade the walk as 'easy' with some 'moderate' sections. The pace was just right and allowed for photography and stops every now and then with interesting commentary. Proper walking shoes, good sneakers, or hiking boots, are recommended. No thongs or sandals. This is not a city stroll and does include some rock scrambling. Bring a hat, the walk is exposed. Sunscreen was provided. You only need to bring a small daypack for jacket or rain gear, depending on the day. You are also given a small calico carry bag with some nibblies, an apple, an energy drink and a map with local information. You need to bring and carry your own water. Depending on how much you may drink on an approx. 14km hike, approx. 2 litres. You always can pour it out if not needed, but there is no fresh water available anywhere on the hike. The tour is fully catered for and the guide carries all food! How easy is that? Lunch consisted of wraps with fresh salad vegetables, cheese, chutney, don’t remember what else, but it was plenty and it was very nice!

Toilet facilities: There are toilets at Cronulla Wharf and at Bundeena. On the walk you'll have to go 'bush'. I usually carry a small plastic bag with me for waste paper. Please do not leave toilet paper behind. It does not disintegrate that quickly. It may only look like a small piece of paper but small pieces accumulate and it is unpleasant to see toilet paper stuffed under rocks and shrubs. We need to look after the environment for others to enjoy.

Rainy day? Don’t be discouraged if the day looks a bit grey. We did the walk on a rainy day and it was magic! The colours of the sandstone really stand out when wet and make for nice photography. We did get drenched but dried out again on the way back. Just bring a rain jacket if it looks like rain, but definitely go! I am a local and would highly recommend this guided walk to any other locals and to tourists who would like to go off the beaten track.

Price: Some people may find the price high. As a local I did not think it was ‘high’ at all. We often go hiking on our own and we did not hesitate at all paying for this experience. The guided walk, including commentary was definitely worth the money and I am planning to do another guided hike at some stage or another. Yes, as locals we could do it on our own. But people can and do get lost in the Royal National Park. Apart from that, I really enjoyed the company of the other hikers and Ian’s expertise and knowledge of plants and local history.
Royal Coast Walks can also be found on facebook: www.facebook.com/royalcoastwalks.

I hope you’ll enjoy this walk, or any of the other walks, as much as we did!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your review Cecilia and an extra thank you for the very useful information you provide... some great tips for other hikers. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“2 day adventure in the Royal National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Fantastic experience, that i highly recommend for adventure seekers that are willing to go the extra mile.
Our two day trek invigorated us with a beautiful scenic route that looked over the ocean and through dense bushland. Learning and experiencing first hand the natural habitat that the Royal National Park has to offer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thanks for the recommendation Ingrid, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great experience in an awesome environment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

A great tour with a great guide! What else can I say.
An unforgettable experience, spending one day together with Ian, who does an excellent job! He even made the heavy rainfall stop right for lunch time. These are the little, subtle things which matter ;-)
Royal Coast Walks made this day as one these days you will never forget!
Thanks again. And: keep at it!
Christof

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christ0fv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCoastWalks, Owner at Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
It's our job to create memorable nature-based experiences so if we've given you a "day you'll never forget", we can retire happy! Thanks, glad to hear you enjoyed your tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks also viewed

Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Coast Walks - Day Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing