We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as i remembered”

Rockpool Bar & Grill
Reserve with
Rockpool Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not as i remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

OK to be honest I think I had rose colored glasses from eating at RPBG a few years ago. My wife and I swoon remembering the whole experience. I was so looking forward to returning and eating in this magnificent venue. I took 3 friends to dinner a week ago and the food was.. very good. However, it was in all the little things that I felt a nagging sense that the standard had dropped. One of my friend's who lives in Sydney warned me that in addition to being expensive they had a few less than memorable experiences.

The food as i mentioned was very good. But the service was poor. I ultimately waited fro my bill and then my credit card to come back for almost 30 minutes. i went and physically hunted down the waiter with our bill and my card. That is not how it should be. My next trip to Sydney.. I will probably try somewhere new..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    315
    166
    72
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Where is the complexity?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

RBAG is a highly rated Sydney diner under the tutelage of one of Australia's most renowned chefs. It ain't cheap but you wouldn't expect it to be. It espouses a strong reliance on getting the best produce. Sounds good, eh?
Certainly the physical setting is very striking, a former palatial financial house stylishly revamped. Bit like eating in the Hagia Sofia. The waitpersons are attentive and project just the right amount of personality.
Entrees were tasty and delicate, certainly up to standard. I then ordered what was described as crispy fish with "crazy water". What I got was a stack of deep fried battered fish on a thin base of rapidly evaporating acqua pazza sauce. The fish was heavy with oil and indeed rather sickening, without any complexity to the dish such as one might expect from a fine dining establishment. As I watched the much-vaunted steaks being brought to other diners, I saw they were similarly basic in presentation, with the waitperson ceremoniously administering the chosen sauce to the plate.
Hey, Neil, where's the interest in a meal like that? Good produce is vital, but there has to be some culinary value-add. You could say I chose the wrong dish, but there shouldn't be a wrong dish in a place like that. It's certainly the last time I'll pay fifty bucks for a plate of greasy fish and chips (without the chips).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
410 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Rockpool Bar & Grill with a small group of friends as one was visiting from overseas and had insisted on taking us somewhere nice.

The menu is huge and looks very impressive. We all opted for quite different entrees although all of us decided on steak for the main. After all, why would you go to a grill to have something other than steak. The entrees seemed to go down well with everyone. I had clams which were quite good.

The rump steak I got though, was quite poor being sinewy and tough. I would have been unhappy in a brasserie with this steak but it was terribly disappointing for a restaurant of this standard and a steak of this price. I was of half a mind to complain but the restaurant was packed and I didn't want to embarrass our host.

Desserts were well presented. I had a black forest cake ala Fat Duck but it was not that enjoyable.

Overall, disappointing for the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Waltzin Matilda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pitched up late looking for a table,There was going to be a bit of a wait for the restaurant so elected to eat in the bar. We were not disappointed. We were looked after by Matilda and she was a credit to the restaurant, intelligent,informative and excellent with customers. The food was excellent and the building is iconic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Graham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

LOVEEEEEE the food and atmosphere here. Unfortunately our waiter was a bit cocky towards my partner, however lovely towards me (don't know if that had anything to do with him being french?). I wouldn't think twice about taking family and friends there, its always a good time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing