We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!”
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #113 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic! My mom and I arrived in the morning and they let us check in early. We had a room with a king bed and shared bath. The room and bathroom were clean. The sheets were crisp and and the bed very comfortable. We stayed 2 nights and there were only 2 times we saw anyone else in the bathroom while we were using it. That was something I wondered about since sharing a bathroom sounds a little uncomfortable, but it really wasn't a problem.

We heard the street noise but it didn't hinder our sleep. Staff are so kind and helpful, very patient and I just think this is a great place to stay and the bargain of our trip!

The first afternoon we walked through Hyde Park to the Botanic Gardens, an easy and beautiful walk from the hotel. Staff recommended the Canopy restaurant just around the corner. Delicious, filing and wonderful service a few steps from hotel. The next day we were at Circular Quay and The Rocks and walked back from there.

Breakfast is included and the cereal, toast and coffee were just right for us! What a deal! I wish there were more places like the Y Hotel Hyde Park. Thanks!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Webby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Webby59
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.
You highlighted many fantastic points about our location that everyone should take the time to enjoy and take in.
I am very happy that we have met and exceeded your expectation of this Hotel.
We look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney & Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very handy for the city although rather basic. The room was clean apart from the edge of the shower needed replacing. The bed was comfy and the shower was very effective. However our room on the 8th floor was noisy and I needed ear plugs to sleep; it sounded like a generator. We had ordered a full breakfast but the waiter struggled with this and took some convincing that this was what we had ordered. The views were poor and other rooms could easily viewed.

Room Tip: Lower rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Lynn K
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us.
My apologies for the noise that you had experience and I am mystified as to what that could have been when reviewing you room allocation as there is nothing mechanical near your room but I will investigate. Outside of that you appear to enjoy your stay. I will let our café manager know about the service issue during breakfast.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming back when you are next in Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was an ideal place to stay. It is spotlessly clean, warm, central to everything, and it has everything on hand. Staff were friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel. The fact breakfast is included is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilA141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear PhilA141
Thank you for provide feedback from your recent stay with us. Although we are generally a leisure hotel we do cater for corporate guest as well and you feedback certainly highlights our central location and that we do provide the essentials for a great stay.
Phil we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here two night in July 2014. For Sydney CBD it is exceptional value, clean and they have probably the cheapest cooked breakfast in the city. My room was on the 7th floor and the road noise was there but bearable. My room had shared bathroom facilities but I didn't find this a problem. The big thing about this hotel is location. Right next to Hyde Park, near museums, state library, inner city shopping and a short walk to China Town and a large choice of excellent Asian dining. If you are looking for clean, cheap and location this hotel is worthy of consideration
.

Room Tip: I only saw my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davtwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear davtwitch

Thank you taking the time to provide your feedback
I am extremely happy that we have exceeded your expectations of Y Hotel Hyde Park.
As you mentioned, we are very central to almost everything include transport in and out of the city to the airport etc.
I am glad you found our breakfast appealing and priced to your liking.
Thank you once again for your time and we look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Advantages: Affordable, fast lifts, clean room, close to Sydney CBD, great hair dryer (wasn't an in built one) shower head had great pressure and produced hot water immediately unlike other hotels I have stayed at. Rooms were also equipped with double bathroom amenities as well as an iron and ironing board.

Disadvantages:

- It's noisy, you can hear action going on on the streets because you're not very high up, not to mention people in the corridors. (rooms are close together)
- There was no view and you couldn't get on the balcony due to safety reasons.
- There is no telephone to contact reception in your room. My partner and I were after the wi-fi password and wanted to enquire about taxi services.
- There was no mini bar in our rooms so we had no access to bottles of water and had to go to an convenience store to buy some.
- The room and bathroom was very small - not recommended for people who suffer from claustrophobia.
- Parking was a 5 minute walk and cost $25 over night it is called Secure and is

We stayed in room 618 - We were overall quite happy with our stay, we booked last minute and still managed to get a decent room. My boyfriend and I only stayed one night for a birthday therefore we didn't want to spend a fortunate on accommodation. $190 was much more pleasant than hotels starting at $280. Consider the disadvantages if you are intending to stay more than 2 nights.

Thank you Y Hotel



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Lauren D
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us.
I see your note regarding no phones in the guests rooms, Yes that is correct as 99% of people now use their mobiles but we do have a centralise phone on each floor for those who need to contact reception. Our location is set back from a busy intersection in the middle of the CBD noise can be an issue from time to time especially where are sirens are involved. I am pleased that you found Y Hotel Hyde Park appealing and affordable.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed in a female dorm for 3 nights and found the bed and room quite comfortable for my needs. I didn't expect to find a fridge and tea/coffee supplies in the room so that was a nice touch. This hotel is right around the corner from the Museum train stop, with direct access to the airport. The shared bathroom facilities were clean, and I never had a problem finding a toilet or shower when I needed one. I would definitely book again on my next trip to Sydney.

Room Tip: The female dorm on the 5th floor faces on to Wentworth Ave (and towards Oxford Street) with no real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank namabiru2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Namabiru2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us.
I am very happy that we have exceeded your expectations.
I look forward in welcoming you back to Y Hotel Hyde Park when you next plan a trip to Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Rooms are really small. Probems to obtain a proper invoice. No free internet access, and connection failed time to time, you must pay for a ticket that has few options,
OK for one night but not for a stay longer than this..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JosepSala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear JosepSala
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay with us.
I note that you booked a deluxe Single room which is one of our smaller rooms mainly because it can only accommodate single bed and not a larger bed. You would have had an option to book a large room but we provide choices not only room type but budgets as well. I note that you had an issue with the internet; I am pleased to advise you that we are upgrading to a more efficient provider and if you book directly with us or via our website Y hotel.com.au, we can provide you with free internet during your stay.
Thank you once again for choosing Y Hotel Hyde Park and we look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,550 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#107 of 186 in Sydney
78 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 186 in Sydney
4,588 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#53 of 186 in Sydney
718 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 186 in Sydney
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $90 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including FREE wifi, toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing