We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad night's sleep”
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #103 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A bad night's sleep”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I wanted somewhere close to the centre without having to pay exorbitant prices (I even booked through Wotif for a cheaper price). However, considering what the usual room rate was for an 'Economy room' (four single beds, shared bathroom), I'm glad I didn't pay full price. For one thing, I awoke at dawn as the curtains were basically non-existent, and traffic noise started up soon afterwards, not to mention that the bed was poor quality. Having backpacked, I could deal with a shared bathroom, however they were incredibly non-user-friendly; putting your possessions on the small ledge in the shower meant they got soaked, and the crappy showerhead could only be moved sideways, not up or down. The free breakfast was nothing special (toast, cereal, tea/coffee) and anything with taste cost extra. Despite what others have said, I had no issue with the staff, who were courteous and helpful, and the luggage storage was especially useful while I did other things before my flight home. However, for the price, courteous house staff are not enough to justify staying here, and I won't be doing so again.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, stay away from the Economy rooms; they are called this for very good reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendanb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    776
    469
    152
    149
See reviews for
356
453
365
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place may be cheap for Sydney, but at almost $200 a night you expect more than a glorified hostel and that's what this is. The TV would be too small to watch from bed. There was a weird balcony outside my room which apparently is not to be used for security reasons but still had cigarette butts on it.

I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Snompi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.. the worst asian staff serving without any courtesy. . Arrived sometime before 2 pm asked if I could get any idea of when the room might be available. . My wife was sick... but guess what heartless reception staff just said to me even if u ask me 1000 times answer is going to be same... I could see many checkouts infront of me.. but still no courtesy at all... guys please never go here...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our first trip to Sydney. We enjoyed the location of this hotel and the accommodations were decent for the price. We had a queen size bed with a shared bathroom. Someone was sneaking into the bathroom to smoke, but other than that, the bathrooms were well maintained (not staff's fault). The rooms were small, but this was expected, and staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, if your looking for luxury, not your place, but if you're looking for a nice place to stay to save some $ while in Sydney, we were happy here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felise14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything need money. No free wifi as in most of the asia countries do. Let u checked into the room without telling u about the service of internet, deposit of the savety box. It makes me come down all the way from my room juz to get some nfo as there isnt any phone in the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank yukiehw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The central city location is great, with buses and Museum station very close, and Hyde Park right opposite. A few minutes in the train took me to Circular Quay with a range of ferries, or short walk to the Opera House. I paid a bit extra for a studio room with private bathroom, the room was quite large and clean, good value, and the included continental breakfast was fine. I could have paid a bit extra for a cooked breakfast but didn't need that. For those on a budget there are shared room with shared bathrooms, and common seating areas. The staff were helpful. Overall good value if you want a good location and you're not wanting to pay for luxury.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Well, one can say you get what you pay for. Next time I will rather spend few bucks more.
Location: good
Room: -- tiny. What you see on the photo is the whole room. Barely any space to move.
Shared facilities is an interesting experience. There is no toilet or shower in the room. I did not even think this is possible. Last time I had that experience was over 20 years ago and not in Australia.
When I was booking, amenities listed internet. When I arrived, I was told that this is optional extra at a cost. Website did not mention the cost (listing at hotelclub website) and did not had "*" next to it to indicate additional cost. And hotel refused to fix the problem by providing the internet or reducing the cost. Luckily I have generous data provisoiin on my mobile.
Aircon in room is loud, beds are small.
Breakfast only included toasts and cereals. Anything else, including reasonable cofee, is extra.
So, if you want something cheap, by all means stay there. Otherwise, spend extra $20-$30/night and get a better place. I know I will next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,954 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,430 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
668 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 178 in Sydney
283 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Property: Song Hotel Sydney
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including FREE wifi, toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing