We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sydney”
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #101 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sydney”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

stayed in the y in the park in sydney very clean and the staff were always there to help good accommadation for the price we paid would recomend it for budget travellers the location in the centre of sydney is spot on

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    742
    457
    149
    144
See reviews for
338
433
354
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending an international conference. I gained an overall positive impression of facilities and staff. My room was clean and breakfast was of a good standard. It is conveniently located next to Hyde Park, about 15-20 minutes walk from Darling Harbour and the exhibition centre. There were a few aspects which did not meet my expectations. There were insufficient hangers in the wardrobe for a week of business shirts. When I requested more, I could not attach them to the bar in the wardrobe so could not use them. One morning, the hot breakfast was not ready on time before I had to go to a meeting. I would like to inform people that what on my booking at least through hotels.com was advertised as an inclusive continental breakfast did not meet my definition of a continental breakfast. There was no fruit, fruit salad, cold meat or cheese included for example. Therefore, I had to 'upgrade' to a cooked breakfast every morning. My overall impression of the hotel was positive, but there are areas for improvement that could allow it to reach a wider clientele

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is a great location in Sydney, a short walk across the park from the train station where the airport link stops and a nice walk to Darling Harbour for ferry links and China town for great food!

We spent 4 days at the YHotel as part of backpacking adventure and found this hotel to be a great base. We had a triple room with 3 single beds, tv and enough space to throw all of our stuff. Bathroom was shared, at first I thought this would be an issue, but it was clean and never crowded. I would not shy away from shared bathrooms again following this experience.

Breakfast was included and was appreciated as it set us up for the day! We felt like had got a steal with this as the price was only a coupld of £s more for breakfast. (cereals, toast, juice, tea and coffee FOC) further breakfast items are available at a cost.

Staff are fab and can help you with all queries.

Overall, a fantasic clean, safe stay. Excellent for basic rooms on a budget with a fab location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellwel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Y Hotel at Hyde Park is an OK hotel. It is very convenietly located just across the Hyde Park, in CBD and close to Darling Harbour, Central Station and Circular Quay.

The hotel room as Ok, bed is not very comfortable and has shared (but clean) bathroom (separate for men and women)

Room usually has breakfast included in the package but the same is very ordinary consisting of cereals, tea, coffee and some bread. Not a place to stay for long duration. Staff is very reserved and can be rude at times.

Room Tip: As per the reception "All rooms are good rooms" and the Front Office executive asked me te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manavsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only thing that I liked about this hotel was its proximity Sydney's CBD and the fact that it is walking distance from Museum Metro station that made the commute very easy within Sydney. But that's where the positives end. The rooms are the size of a closet - scratch that, I think my closet is bigger than the room we were given. We took the shared bathroom, which was a couple of rooms away and now I wish we hadn't. The shower came down in trickles and was either too hot or too cold - so much for optimum. The bathroom had an odd smell, which I can only hope was temporary. The staff were not as friendly as some of the other places we have stayed at and quite unprofessional. The breakfast was a part of our package but it was completely basic - toast and cereal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Y Hotel is located at a wondrous area that is merely a few streets and blocks away from the CDB area. You can actually walk to the CBD, including the Royal Botanic Garden, Town Hall and even the harbours. If not, you can always take the train from Museum Station which is a few minutes walk away from the hotel. There are a couple of cafes around the hotel and a supermarket right opposite it, not to mention a clinic and chemist round the corner. St. Vincent Hospital is just a few minutes drive from it(Had to get down there at night for my sprained ankle:/)

Amenities wise, again, it's really just the basic. Shared bathroom is clean and big with 2 toilet cubicles and 2 showering cubicles. A hand dryer, towelette dispenser and a hair dryer are provided. Our room was near the bathrooms so it was as if we own the bathrooms. hahah. But fret not, there are many bathrooms on each level.

On the 3rd level, there's a small pantry with a microwave to heat up your packed food. There's a sink, a water dispenser providing boiling water, utensils, plates, a fridge and an ice machine. Simple again.

In our room, there's a tv, mini fridge, safe locker and some hangers. Not much, but still to our satisfactory.

Breakfast is just toast, juices, milk, coffee and tea, and cereal. Not much again, but nice and filling.

I would say the hotel staffs weren't exactly friendly and nice. Just okay. Some are a bit emotionless and can appear rude and harsh at times.

Nevertheless, for the price we've paid, I would say it's a nice hotel to stay in if you're not expecting much. Again, nice, plain, basic, simple. Sweet.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the bathrooms and at the 3rd level where the pantry is at
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happysingaporean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We where greeted by a strange and not very professional receptionist. The room what disgusting, the balcony door that didn't open would have been prob best kept close anyway. There where used cotton buds and cigarettes all over. Worst of all, there are no bathrooms in the room. The communal bathroom is down the hallway and its like it was in very poor conditions. Needless to say that we didn't end up staying there. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel that doesn't have a bathroom in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 177 in Sydney
4,768 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 177 in Sydney
2,330 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 177 in Sydney
4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 177 in Sydney
648 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#105 of 177 in Sydney
30 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#116 of 177 in Sydney
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Property: Song Hotel Sydney
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including FREE wifi, toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing