We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple, basic, pleasant stay with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple, basic, pleasant stay with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Y Hotel is located at a wondrous area that is merely a few streets and blocks away from the CDB area. You can actually walk to the CBD, including the Royal Botanic Garden, Town Hall and even the harbours. If not, you can always take the train from Museum Station which is a few minutes walk away from the hotel. There are a couple of cafes around the hotel and a supermarket right opposite it, not to mention a clinic and chemist round the corner. St. Vincent Hospital is just a few minutes drive from it(Had to get down there at night for my sprained ankle:/)

Amenities wise, again, it's really just the basic. Shared bathroom is clean and big with 2 toilet cubicles and 2 showering cubicles. A hand dryer, towelette dispenser and a hair dryer are provided. Our room was near the bathrooms so it was as if we own the bathrooms. hahah. But fret not, there are many bathrooms on each level.

On the 3rd level, there's a small pantry with a microwave to heat up your packed food. There's a sink, a water dispenser providing boiling water, utensils, plates, a fridge and an ice machine. Simple again.

In our room, there's a tv, mini fridge, safe locker and some hangers. Not much, but still to our satisfactory.

Breakfast is just toast, juices, milk, coffee and tea, and cereal. Not much again, but nice and filling.

I would say the hotel staffs weren't exactly friendly and nice. Just okay. Some are a bit emotionless and can appear rude and harsh at times.

Nevertheless, for the price we've paid, I would say it's a nice hotel to stay in if you're not expecting much. Again, nice, plain, basic, simple. Sweet.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the bathrooms and at the 3rd level where the pantry is at
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happysingaporean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    641
    384
    130
    120
See reviews for
272
371
304
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We where greeted by a strange and not very professional receptionist. The room what disgusting, the balcony door that didn't open would have been prob best kept close anyway. There where used cotton buds and cigarettes all over. Worst of all, there are no bathrooms in the room. The communal bathroom is down the hallway and its like it was in very poor conditions. Needless to say that we didn't end up staying there. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel that doesn't have a bathroom in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Y Hotel for a week. It's located within the city, and it really is a great location. HydePark is across the street and Museum station a mere 3mjnute walk away. The hotel offers various types of rooms for travelers with different budgets. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Every day, the cleaning staff would replace used towels with fresh, clean ones and also replenished the toiletries. The toilet was also very clean.

The room might be a bit small for some, but it was spacious enough to put our luggage without having to maneuver awkwardly around furniture. The television and tea/coffee-making facilities are stored within the cupboard (excellent use of space, I thought). There's an ironing board and iron too.

Overall it was a pleasant experience. Definitely recommended for the budget-conscious (:

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that's not facing the street, or at least one that's on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I booked the four-bed dorm and was lucky enough to get the room to myself as it was low-peak season. The beds were proper single beds and not bunks, and the bed linens were fresh and clean. The room I got was very close to the showers, adding to the convenience. The bathrooms were kept clean and dry as well. There is also a shared kitchenette on that floor and a vending machine. Breakfast is very simple but complementary. For a place right in the middle of town, it's hard to beat the price. It would be great if in future they will think of replacing the carpeting with laminated boards or similar; that would freshen up the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelBKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here only one night when I arrived in Sydney. Staff was nice enough to let me check in very early. A very basic room with shared bathroom, but all was very clean. This hotel is within walking distance to everything from train stations to the Opera House. Only downside I experienced is that the room only had sheer curtains, so never really got dark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristenN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here as part of a world trip, our stay was over Christmas/New Year.
Foolishly as the hotel was fully booked on NYE, we opted to change hotels for the remaining 5 days. I now wish we had just stayed in the other hotel for the night and gone straight back to the Y!

For the price it cost's to stay here, we werent expecting much. But much to our surprise it was a very pleasnt stay.

I havent got anything bad I could say about the hotel. So if you want a good value hotel in a great location, this is it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I understand that everyone's hotel experiences are generally individual but nonetheless I'm a little flummoxed as to why this hotel is not more highly rated and to a number of the negative reviews given.
You can book a variety of deals that cover multiple night stays at a reduced daily rate and we choose to stay for 3 nights in a double traditional room with no ensuite. This worked out to be $111 per night for a mid week stay.

Unfortunately Sydney weekend rates almost double in nearly all hotel accommodation options.

Included in all accommodation stays is a more than adequate basic breakfast. You can, we didn't, pay a small extra cost for a full cooked breakfast.
A number of negative reviews talk about the size of the room but we had no issues.(except a minor quibble over the position of electricity sockets (or lack of) to use the kettle)

Despite not having an ensuite (our choice) it was enough for us to be able to put our bags somewhere in a clean room that had the usual appointments such as tv, bar fridge, wardrobe and desk. The double bed was really comfortable and street noise was barely audible. (In this regard I would suggest that you request a room facing the internal courtyard) There was no issues with using the communal bathroom which was always clean when we used it both in the mornings and evenings and no clash with other guests. Staff where pleasant and helpful when needed.
Compared to most other hotel options I researched Y hotel Hyde park is excellent value for money. Seriously folks, paying $111 and breakfast in an excellent position within walking distance to most of central Sydney what kind of complaints can you really have...........!?

Room Tip: Remember for street noise issues, ask for a room that has windows opening to the internal courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
#94 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#111 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Hotel CBD
Sydney Hotel CBD
#117 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Hotel Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Hotel Hyde Park

Property: Y Hotel Hyde Park
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Y Hotel Hyde Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Y Hotel Hyde Park. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Y Hotel Hyde Park is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, internet, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Y Hotel Hyde Park supports the YWCANSW and the NSW Community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Y Hotel Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing