We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Y Hotel Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This Hotel was the venue of a 4 day course I attended. The facilities for that were very good! A flexible large room and an adjoining smaller room for breakouts.
But the rooms are rather small though very clean and tidy. I am not sure if what they charge is a fair rate or not, seemed a little dear compared to NZ rates for equivalent rooms.
Very close to everything so long as you don't mind a little walk you can see most all of Sydney by walking and you have close access to the train station and maybe 25 minutes walk to the harbour from memory (don't quote me on that). Good safe area from all accounts and the MacQuarie pub is across the road for a quiet drink at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    585
    327
    102
    93
See reviews for
219
336
276
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For a great place to just sleep while in Sydney this Hotel could not be surpassed for value and convenience. One hour after arriving at Sydney airport [with carry on only] I was sitting on the Manly Ferry dreaming away
The airport train was very conveniently locate and ten minutes later I left at THE MUSEUM STATION , turn left and walk 500 meters and there is the hotel. AT 9.00AM my room was read , I checked in and was on my way 10 minutes later. What more could you ask for . But the best thing was I was able to pay for a 'SINGLE ROOM'' .
The room was clean and had every item required even an iron and board. Request an inside room and you can have the pleasure of an secure open window for a quiet nights sleep.
Breakfast was adequate and for $6 a large hot meal is available.
Hyde Park is across the road and the bus to Bondi Beachstops out front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Location convenient for Sydney attractions, tube station along the road plenty of buses too.
That ends the positive stuff. Small room, no phone, nowhere to store clothes, and you share the bathing faculties with an entire floor. When I asked for a change cos pretty boys who take ages in the shower (there's just one)and floating turds don't do a lot for me I was told that it was my fault because I was late back to the hotel.

Oh and yes there was a false fire alarm at 1am in the morning, So in addition to seeing Sydney's sights I saw those fine chaps from Sydney's fire dept. too

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros: Good service, good breakfast, clean rooms. Cons: Shared bathrooms, ensure you wear thongs in the shower, very small room.
If I were to stay in the future I would enjoy the privacy of my own bathroom. Overall cost was pricey but you're paying for the convenient location.
I'll try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

my girlfriends and i spent 5 days at your hotel, we were amazed at the locations so easy to everything in Sydney. Room was lovely and clean with our beds, clean towels each day. Coffee and tea facilities, with plenty of storage room. Our breakfast was great, we all enjoyed with plenty to choose from.. Lunch was just beautiful, i will tell all my friends if going to Sydney where you are. Shower was shared, with no waiting and plenty of toilets all clean a great place to meet up with other travellers.
Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for all the travellers.
Great place, will go back. Thanks for a great time, and very helpful in getting to places, and getting tours for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffalo175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in Oct 2012, the location was good.

the room was very large with a tv and tea and coffee facilities and plenty of storage room. the shared bathroom facilities were clean and usually empty so you never had to queue for a shower.

Breakfast was excellent, wide variety and for a little more money you could upgrade to a full english.

Staff were friendly and accomodating

Room Tip: The central room in which we stayed had a balcony to other rooms, not great for security purposes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessKedziora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Billed as a hotel, but has all the trappings of a hostel.
Shared bathrooms has all the charm and convenience of communal university dormitory living.
Rooms have no direct phone line to reception. Quite annoying and wifi is possible for an additional charge.
Housekeeping is pretty basic; other than changing the towels and making up the bed when requested, a quick going over with the vacuum cleaner once every 3 days would not be remiss.
Air conditioner is dated and noisy and my mattress appeared too soft for my liking;
Basic breakfast (cereal, toast,juice, coffee/tea) is included in the room charge. Hot breakfast available for an additional fee.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the courtyard are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
#88 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 3,718 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 3,233 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Hotel Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Hotel Hyde Park

Property: Y Hotel Hyde Park
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Y Hotel Hyde Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Y Hotel Hyde Park. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Y Hotel Hyde Park is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, internet, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Y Hotel Hyde Park supports the YWCANSW and the NSW Community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Y Hotel Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing