We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location. Basic amenities.”
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location. Basic amenities.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Billed as a hotel, but has all the trappings of a hostel.
Shared bathrooms has all the charm and convenience of communal university dormitory living.
Rooms have no direct phone line to reception. Quite annoying and wifi is possible for an additional charge.
Housekeeping is pretty basic; other than changing the towels and making up the bed when requested, a quick going over with the vacuum cleaner once every 3 days would not be remiss.
Air conditioner is dated and noisy and my mattress appeared too soft for my liking;
Basic breakfast (cereal, toast,juice, coffee/tea) is included in the room charge. Hot breakfast available for an additional fee.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the courtyard are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    757
    464
    152
    146
See reviews for
349
440
359
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location is fantastic and room rates are good for central city. I was a bit disappointed in the size and quality of the room however and the furniture was quite shabby. We had some minor issues with service but the staff were always very friendly and helpful nd tried their best to help. I would probably stay here again but only if there was a special deal on because I would not pay full price to stay here based on room quality- private bathroom room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very central, walking distance to all attractions. Hotel rooms clean, bright and comfortable. We were very pleased with our room, large picture windows, mirrored wardrobes and spacious bathroom. Staff were helpful and knowledgable about the area. Don't think we could of had a more convenient hotel. Ww will definately return when visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbeaumont8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

So I had a little of a drama when I first got to this hotel the travel agent I booked this hotel made a mistake but the hotel manager decided to assist after I made a complain. Overall I was happy with their service because they are customer focused. The rooms were really tiny for the price I paid its close to everything but I still think it should not be higher then $85 a night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akp883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here recently during a business trip, terrible damp, humid weather but that is another story.
Had heard about it lots of times before but for this trip we booked early enough. Sydney always seems really overpriced to me so it was good to get into this budget hotel that wasn't terrible. Room was quite small with some odd furniture but it was clean and comfortable. Only had view into inner courtyard which wasn't great as the windows are floor to ceiling (looking into other peoples rooms) Continental breakfast included was only average but for $6 extra you could add bacon and eggs. Staff were friendly but young and a bit casual. Location of this place is fantastic, 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour or Oxford St or Crowne St.

Room Tip: try for outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was the cheapest Hotel I could find in Central Sydney. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly.
However it was very very noisey.
Very well located to all attractions.Car parking is a bit of a bind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Alan M,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your accommodation and our staff provided you with friendly service.

Our location certainly puts you right close to all Sydney's major attractions and also close to the pulse of the city.

Car parking, particularly in the centre of town, comes at a premium. You can easily pay $50 to $60 car parking fee for an overnight. Our arrangements with Secure Parking, at the corner of Goulburn and Elizabeth streets, a short walk away from the hotel, allow us to afford our guests an overnight fee of $25.

We look forward to welcome you back on a return visit to Sydney.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with familiy. the hotel provided us all basic needs. The best thing is, brekky was provided . Right. you have to pay extra $$ at other hotels in the same area....

Do carefully check the faucets in the bathroom upon your arrival because I had a unforgettable experience last time. DO IT PLEASE.

Quality sleep and friendly staff. a bit far from main stations but a nice park ( not sure if it's Central Park or not) just nearby. I go jogging in the park during my stay at Y Hotel every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmenli10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear carmenli10,

Thank you for your comments in your review following your stay in February.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our location to go jogging in Hyde Park, just 50 metres from our entrance. I was also happy to read that we provided you with all the essentials in terms of accommodation and breakfast, and that our staff looked after you and your family.

With thanks and warmest regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,852 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 179 in Sydney
2,393 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
658 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 179 in Sydney
655 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#69 of 179 in Sydney
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Property: Song Hotel Sydney
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including FREE wifi, toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing