We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel for backpacker, nicely located within Sydney CBD” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple hotel for backpacker, nicely located within Sydney CBD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Simple but clean hotel, narrow hallways to rooms, rooms not too big/not too small. It's focussed on youth/backpackers. Nicely located though near Hyde Park, Museum station and Sydney CBD.
Breakfast assorted is very light and sober, upgrade to continental to be paid extra for.

Room Tip: Most rooms suffer from noisy mainroad besides hotel (not Wentworth Ave, but Liverpool Ave).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanskNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear DanskNL,

Many thanks for your review and your kind comments on our faciities and services posted earlier this year.

Y Hotel Hyde Park offers affordable accommodation in Traditional rooms with shared bathrooms on the floor as well as in Deluxe Rooms with ensuite.

The advantage of being right in town comes with being close to the beating heart of town and this may be noticeable to some of our guests.

Once again many thanks for your comments and hoping to see you back on a next visit to Sydney.

Warm regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    689
    425
    142
    139
See reviews for
315
407
324
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed there for a few nights while in Sydney and the location is just perfect : you're just 10 minutes away from Chinatown and 15 minutes away (walking of course!) from Darling Harbour. There's a free bus that takes you to Circular Quay.
It's not luxurious but has everything you need + free continental breakfast.
The staff is very helpful too and very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to avoid the noise. We were lucky to get one that didn't ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Corine E,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay at Y Hotel Hyde Park.

I am happy that our great location and the room you stayed in contributed to make your Sydney visit an enjoyable one.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back if you decide to return to Sydney in the future.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Most inner city hotels cost an arm and a leg. Not so the Y Hotel Hyde Park, it's only a hundred and fifty metres from Museum Station so it really is inner city and the rate I got was very reasonable. The room was small but adequate, with very efficient airconditioning and the staff were courteous. The only fault was the water. It fluctuated between warm and cool without me touching the tap. Interstingly this happened at another hotel I stayed in so perhaps it's a Sydney thing.

Room Tip: Possibly the fluctuating water temperature might improve if you ask for a lower floor. I was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesfarnarkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Jamesfarnarkler,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed our great central location and the room you stayed in.

As previously noted, I am concerned by comments in regards to water pressure and water fluctuation and we are investigating possible reasons so as to address this issue.

With kind regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

for the price you pay, its great. Lots of places within walking distance. Can find many great restaurants in the area.
If you want private bathrooms it is worth paying a little extra for. We tried both and both were satisfactory. You dont get luxery as you are paying for the location, but location is most important.
Breakfast is included and served daily. Its continental with a cheap upgrade fee for more cooked options. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepagemaster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear thepagemaster99,

We appreciate the time taken to review our hotel and thank you for your kind comments.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great location to enjoy the sights of Sydney.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Y Hotel Hyde Park on a return visit.

Warm regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom. The room and hotel facilities were adequate except that the water pressure in the single shared bathroom shower was atrocious. Also the hot water fluctuated between freezing cold to scalding hot with 1/4 inch tap turns and even when not turning the tap. This consistently happened when showering at various times from morning, afternoon and evening, weekends and weekdays.

I added my review to Expedia who I booked through and then saw that every second review on that site was complaining about the poor shower facilities. I had not seen these reviews because I'd just checked Tripadvisor reviews so felt the need to warn others here about this. The other reviewers said they mentioned it to staff and were told that's just how it is.

Location is great in the city with transport (bus/train) and plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance but AVOID THE SHARED BATHROOM if you require a working shower!!!

Room Tip: AVOID THE SHARED BATHROOM if you require a working shower!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear indie,

I appreciate your time and thank you very much for your review.

I am concerned by your comments in regards to water pressure and water fluctuation and have asked our Maintenance Manager to review the water pumps as well as the water flow valves that were installed a few years back.

I am certainly aware of the importance of a good shower in hotel accommodation and want to ensure that this situation is remedied. It would be helpful if you could contact me or Stephen Peace, the Rooms Division Manager, personally so that we can ascertain in which room you were staying.

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have to say the photos from their website were too good that I had some expectations of the room conditions. It's kind of disappointing that the conditions of the rooms are not as maintained than I thought. The decor matched the photos but hm ... too much here there of "lack of maintenance". I also don't like the shared bathroom although it's not that far away from us. I would consider this a hostel rather than a hotel. For that price that we paid, I realised that the money all went to the location. Glad that we spent most of the day outside and come back to the hotel for a rest before dinner that sort of convenience to get our money's worth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCNiederer, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Weeksey1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I regret that you had two issues with our housekeeping department and I have since addressed these with the relevant manager.
Since we do not have phones in the rooms we have decided to offer our guests, as an additional service, the usage of a mobile phone supplied free of charge with a small small amount of credit already available. Guests can then decide how they want to use the phone during their stay and return the mobile phone on departure.
Y Hotel Hyde Park offers various room types suited to various travellers, some with private facilities and others with shared bathrooms. We make every attempt to ensure that all documentation on our website and all other websites where we feature provide the same clarity.
Against a trend where breakfasts are charged as an extra, we are proud to continue to offer a light continental breakfast included in our rates.
Warm regards,
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked in and went into our room to discover it stunk of smoke no phones in the room so we walk down to the one in the corridor and are told to come back to the desk where we are told there's nothing else available unless we pay extra? The lady checked the room and said we could sleep with the window open - great?! They eventually moved us, the blinds in the room let light through its noisy from the traffic, no phone, hairs on the towels and just overall a bad experience this is a backpackers/hostel not a hotel, you get a breakfast included but its just cereal and toast
For the same price you can stay at the travelodge which is 100% better same location

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weeksey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#116 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#120 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Property: Song Hotel Sydney
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, internet, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing