We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, reasonable priced and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Song Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Song Hotel Sydney
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, reasonable priced and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here for three nights, two of those nights in an en Suite room. Found the hotel reasonable priced, clean and the staff friendly. Hotel is in a great location and is a few minutes’ walk from most of Sydney’s attractions and Sydney Central Station. Only downsides were that the rooms were slightly on the small side, though that is expected for the price and the lack of a restaurant / bar that is open in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Philip G,

Many thanks for the time taken to provide feedback.

As you have experienced, Y Hotel Hyde Park offers quite a large range of rooms from the Traditional style with shared bathrooms on the floor to Deluxe rooms or Studios with their indiividual private bathrooms.

I am glad that you found the accommodation to your satisfaction and I thank you for your comments regarding our staff.

I am also happy to note that you found us close to just about every attraction and major landmark in Sydney. Even an excursion to Sydney's beach suburbs is a breeze since Sydney's efficient public transport system (train or bus) is almost on our door step.

We will trial in the later part of this year the service of drinks and cocktail food keeping our Cafe open till early evening, and there are so many good restaurants and cafes in close proximity of the hotel for dinner options.

We would look forward to welcome you back when you next get an opportunity to visit Sydney.

Warm regards
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    686
    422
    142
    139
See reviews for
314
406
323
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Finding a budget hotel with good reviews and no nightmare experiences in Sydney was a true challenge but this hotel was definitely not a disappointment. This was one of the most reasonably priced accomodation i found, very central and close to everything with access to transportation as well. The room was small but clean and the shared bathrooms were never crowded and spotless clean. Continental Breakfast was included which was another plus considering local prices. I recommend this place and will definitely consider staying there again if i'm back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, General Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Marion V,

We appreciate the time taken to provide feedback.

Y Hotel Hyde Park offers quite a large range of rooms from the Traditional style with shared bathrooms on the floor to Deluxe rooms or Studios with their indiividual private bathrooms.
I am glad that you found the room convenient for your purpose and the shared facilities clean.

We are happy to include a light Continental Buffet Breakfast in our rates, which most hotels do not offer as an inclusion anymore and charge at rather expensive prices.

We would look forward to welcome you back when you next get an opportunity to visit Sydney.

Warm regards
Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Does the job and very reasonably priced for Sydney city. Recommend and will use again if I travel to Sydney again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Jono D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Jono D

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your last stay with us.
I am please that we have meet your expectations.
Now that you have stayed, you are now aware that we do provide great accommodation at a reasonalbe rate.
We look forward to when you are next in Sydney to welcome you back
Warm regards
Stephen Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I got here after a very long flight from Europe and I was looking forward to a nice shower and a relaxing night..the room had no bathroom or toilet and I could hear every ounce of noise from the streets, @ over €80 per night, this place is a rip off, to have to share a shower with everyone in the floor?? The beds were comfy and the tv worked and the staff were pleasant but that's as far as it goes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Tomtum
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Your choice of accommodation was strictly up to you. We provide a range of difference types of accommodation from private rooms with shared facilities through to full private rooms with own en-suites. Each of the accommodation rates vary and this is dependant of you budget and choice of accommodation you wish to stay in. I am sorry if you did not take in all the information of the room you selected at the time of booking as each room type indicates what is included. Regarding street noise, we are in the heart of the Sydney’s CBD and from time to time, even the best hotels cannot prevent every noise entering the building. I am pleased that you found the accommodation you chose to comfortable and that my staff meet your expectations. I have noted your comments and pass them on to the relevant departments.
Thank you once again and look forward to when you are next in Australia
Warm regards
Stephen Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed one night at Y Hotel Hyde Park on my arrival. Somehow it is a great value bed and breakfast hotel ideally located in the Sydney CBD opposite Hyde Park and Oxford Street. The nearest station to get off will be at St. James I assume.

Stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm (not bunk beds) but nice comfortable ones, and requested a room with somewhat solo travellers and was assigned to a room at the third level. The room was a bit noisy due to the traffic, but it posed not much disturbance compared to the ladies at room next door. Right smack in the morning at 7 am, banging doors and laughters from them were somewhat annoying as they should least be considerate to the neighbours.

Staff at the reception was friendly ( a chinese guy with black frame) helped me with my sim card thats dropped out from my passport.

The shared bathroom was a so so for the standards of a hotel.

Breakfast was ok, just croissant/bread (jams,marmalade,peanut butter,butter,vegemite to choose from). Cereals with full cream milk and skim milk. coffee/tea and juices. Thats it!

Would definitely recommend to stay at this place though..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebebeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear phoebe c
Thank for taking the time to provide your feedback.
The room you booked was indeed one that suits those solo travellers on a budget. This room type provides a good alternative to hostels and backpacker type accommodation. It was unfortunately that a couple of people who were on the same floor as you did not respect others or that they did not realise that they may have been disturbing you. If we had know about this we would have spoken to them.
Thank you for the feedback regarding my staff. This always appreciated and I will pass your comments on to them.
Regarding breakfast, we include a light continental breakfast for all those who are staying at the Hotel and there is an option to upgrade to a hot breakfast if you desired that. Not everyone eats breakfast and some just want something small. It is always hard to judge what people want but I like to think that we do provide a good variety for value.
Thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to when you next stay with us.
Warm regards
Stephen Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff at the Y Hotel were so incredibly rude that My boss was forced to place a last minute booking at another hotel. There was also no parking facilities located close to the hotel, which is in contradiction to what was promised in the booking email. This poor service and advice was extremely inconvenient for my boss as he was in Sydney to attend several important business meetings. My boss said that he the male clerk he spoke with also refused to give him his voucher for the car park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmdAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear rmdAdelaide
Than you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I am concerned regarding the comments made and have sent a request for you to contact me so as to obtain more information. I appeciate all forms of feedback so I can address each one (good or bad) and pass the information on to my staff as well as have an oportunity for praise great service or review areas where we may have failed.
I look forward in hearing from you
Warm regards
Stephen Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Could this be one of the best value stays in Sydney?
I was pretty impressed. The room was well apointed, clean and reasonably quiet. The room I stayed in was facing the main road and was a bit noisy from the traffic, so would suggest a room towards the back of hotel. I booked a room with a shared bathroom and only had to wait briefly to shower. I must say, the water pressure on the top floor was not the best and had to run around in the shower to get wet!
I half expected to be kept awake by drunk teenagers running around all night, but this was not the case. There seemed to be quite a diverse range of people staying at the hotel.
The Staff were frindly and effecient and the breakfast....... included cereals, toast, coffe and tea and for 5 bucks...yep 5 dollars, you can upgrade to bacon and eggs and the serving was huge.
The location is great, only a short walk to George St, cafes, cinemas etc. About a 10-15 min walk to China town.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CrisandShamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YWCAnsw, Manager at Song Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Crsemma

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your last stay with us.
As you have already stated, we are like a little oasis in the middle of the city. We like to to think that we provide great accommodation for all budgets and tastes. Yes the location is fantastic and as you pointed out, just minutes to anywhere.
I am very happy that we have exceeded your expectations and we look forward in welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney
Warm regards
Stephen Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,486 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#74 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#117 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#121 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Sydney

Property: Song Hotel Sydney
Address: 5-11 Wentworth Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Song Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for hotel accommodation in the centre of Sydney which won't break the bank and leaves your conscience clear as well, then look no further than Song Hotel Sydney. Offering affordable 3.5* Rooms, Song Hotel Sydney is situated right in the heart of Sydney's action. Joining Oxford Street and Hyde Park, the hotel is walking distance from Sydney's major attractions including The Rocks, Opera House, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants, bars, galleries and gardens, you'll never be short of something to do during your stay. Whether travelling alone, with a friend or family, we have a variety of rooms to choose from, all packed with essential comforts including toiletries, tea & coffee, TV, internet, iron and hairdryer. The cafe area with its welcoming atmosphere is open daily for breakfast, to meet up with friends or just to relax. With 24 hour reception and in-room safes, you are assured a stress free stay in one of the most exciting cities in the world. Check in time is after 2pm, Check out is before 11am. Day Luggage storage is available (limited space) outside of these hours for hotel guests (No Long Term Luggage facilities). Song Hotel Sydney supports the YWCANSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Song Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing