We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT FINE DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sepia

Sepia
Ranked #93 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT FINE DINING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

No idea what the other negative reviews are talking about....I simply cannot rave about this place enough.

We have been to many of the Fine DIning spots that offer Degustation in Sydney...and here the Food is beyond outstanding and by far the BEST Degustation dinner to date.

The service is wonderful. Professional yet friendly, Approachable and non pretentious. We felt so relaxed and well looked after. They were extremely flexible and very accomodating to our dietary requirements.

Fantastic value for money. Compliments to one the best best Chefs in Sydney.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    102
    62
    22
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlinghurst, SYDNEY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“inflexible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have eaten everywhere....
Sadly, we booked sepia for an non-milestone birthday expecting a fantastic experience in food and wine. First drinks were called for and my request for a Sazerac was flatly refused by the waiter and bar-keep despite the presence of a splendidly stocked bar. they asserted that only cocktails from the menu could be ordered, as if sazerac would ever have to be on a menu (would an old-fashioned be on the menu?). My appetite shrank. We left. so sadly I never got the try the food. Should I sit quietly and do what I'm told while shelling out hundreds of dollars to chase posh food around an enormous plate? There are many other fine dining experiences that give ownership of the food and wine to the client, so the experience of enjoying it is real rather than remote.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grainger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our party of four had a good night and were well looked after. The degustation menu was excellent and the food well presented. Service was slow at first then seemed to speed up once some other guests had gone. For my tastes, some of the dishes seemed too creamy - although others in our party didn't mind, so a minor quibble as dish after dish was really quite impressive. Our wine waiter was outstanding, we opted for the matching wine menu and were introduced to some great wines from around the world - and he gave us a great insight into each new wine (his professional service was a highlight of the night). From first tastes to last tastes (petit fours that delivered a final surprise) we had a great night.

Downside is that the decor is boring, it's an office block after all - and you're starkly reminded of that by having to go through part of the corporate foyer to get to the toilets. Yes that's a first world thing to complain about, but it breaks the ambience. The temperature was a little cool and the music a little loud. It's not cheap, but when you focus on the food, the wine, and the service, it stacks up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“One of the Worlds Great Chefs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

No matter how many times you come here Sepia amazes....still one of the worlds best restaurants.Martin Benn is truley one of the best chefs any where in the world at the moment. With a menu to match ....No wonder voted best restaurant and best chef.IMHO

  • Visited May 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Had a meal in Sepia with 4 other people and decided to go for starter and main. The oysters with pre-dinner drinks were very good, but both starter and main felt 'fabricated' in the combination of its ingredients and textures. The cheese plate was very good. Service was good, but a bit visible and the music was too present. It's a pity there is no bathroom in this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank SanThom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepia also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sepia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing