We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money but no a restfull.”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #43 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney
1 review
“Good value for money but no a restfull.”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Room was good, the location excellend. No lift so 30 kgs luggage up stairs. The iisue was my room was next to the shared kitchen. All night there were people cooking and washing up. No sleep at all!. This part of the hotel is more like a hostel. Make sure you ask for a room away from the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    52
    45
    26
    37
See reviews for
24
47
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Usually on business I stay at 4 or 5 star properties. This time it was me paying, so I chose a low price option. For AUD$85 per night I was not expecting much, but was happily surprised with a higher quality product.
The front desk is not 24 hour - but the clerk called me a couple of hours before closing to be sure I was checking in. She waited back a few minutes when I ended up running a bit late. Good service.
A quite new room. It's small, but big enough for one guest. Bed was fine, internet (free) worked, and with a really good bathroom. Big shower, good quality shampoo etc provided.
I didn't use the guest lounge and common kitchen facilities - but they looked fine.
Yes, I was on the 3rd floor, without an elevator - but I'm fit, and only going up and down a couple of times a day is no problem.
I'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowombat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed for 8 days on two different levels had a view of Australia square. Room was clean kettle not in wardrobe but on desk, tv was fine got 4 perfect stations Very close to everthing including all public transport. Staff very helpful taxi in cost $40 late at night shuttle bus cost $14 back to airport no problem. Bathrooms large and clean Kitchen was tidy and I used washing machine and dryer there was never a problem there. I am a female so carried my suitcases up stairs but I knew there was no lift where would they fit it anyway. Paid $80 per night asked for a long stay discount and received it before I arrived. I had a very happy stay there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2009

There were two good things about this hotel. The position, and the fact that it was clean. We were booked on the fourth floor, just came in on an international flight and had to carry about 30 kg each up 72 steps. The beds were EXTREMELY firm... like the floor. The laundry was used for the hotel linen so it was a feat getting to the small washing machine, and the dryer. If you only need a place to sleep close to great attractions and you are single or a couple, and very fit (to carry luggage up).. then this place is for you. If you want somewhere to relax and have a comfortable nights' sleep with children and want to linger longer at your hotel.. go somewhere else!!! A taxi ride from the airport is about $50.00..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My room was extremely cramped. The bed filled almost all available space. To get past the bed to the little desk, you had to turn sideways and scoot along with your back against the wall.

My room was also stuffy for the first day (I stayed three) and the windows wouldn't open. My repeated requests for the receptionist to turn on the air conditioning had little effect, because she would lower the temperature one degree and not turn on the central fan that actually delivered the air. As a result, even standing on the bed and reaching my hand into the vent in the ceiling, I could barely feel any air coming out. After I explicitly requested her to turn on the fan, things improved, and the next receptionist kept the ventilation going at a decent rate.

If you need to be right in the CBD, the location is good. I stayed there for an event at the Menzies and the walk took only 4 minutes. My bathroom was nice, though with a touch of mold. The TV reception was very poor, and the screen was mounted flat on the wall so high up that it was dark when viewed from the bed, which is the only place you could have viewed it. The kitchen showed wear and tear from many users and wasn't very clean. The promised internet didn't work--the wireless timed out every time I tried to log in, and when I connected with a cable, the connection died within half an hour and never recovered.

I kept the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door the whole time because I needed to pop in at odd times to work. As a result, my room was never cleaned, which was fine with me. Ironically, when I checked out, the receptionist said that the cleaners reported that I had drunk one of the drinks in the refrigerator and therefore had to pay. I pointed out my room had never been cleaned, and I offered to show the receptionist the full refrigerator to prove I didn't have a drink. She declined, but then dug around in paperwork and pulled out a sheet that said I had taken a drink and then told me again that I needed to pay for it. We went around in circles like this for awhile.

The price is good considering the location, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you can specify a decent-sized room and you avoid hot times of year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 179 in Sydney
272 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 179 in Sydney
715 reviews
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#79 of 179 in Sydney
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: L 2 15-17 Hunter St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing