We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is amazing.. The rest not so much..”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #45 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location is amazing.. The rest not so much..”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived from the UK two days after we set off at 8pm Oz time. We had read reviews that highlighted the absence of a lift as a serious issue but we didn't really pay much attention to them because we knew we would only have to drag our suitcases up them once. However after an absolutely dreadful flight I could barely drag myself up them let alone a 23kg suitcase. There isn't any room for a lift but surely the receptionists could offer a hand.

We were relieved to find out we were on the first floor, the room right next to reception (201). I feel sorry for anyone who has to drag their cases up another two flights, it's really not practical.
But being right next to reception meant we heard every movement, conversation & door slam the receptionists made. And there was a ridiculous amount of door slamming early in the morning. They seemed completely unaware guests might be trying to sleep.

Wifi was free but did not work at all when we first tried to connect. Asked the receptionist and was told 'Oh the signal doesn't work in your room. It does in the laundry room though.' She didn't seem to care at all. A few days later though another two wifi signals miraculously appeared as if someone had bothered to turn them on! Although it was a pain at first once sorted the wifi was really useful & reliable. Good enough signal & speed to Skype relatives back home.

Woke up one morning and I could hear a dripping noise. And then a downpour. Leapt out of bed to discover the ice in the fridge/freezer had melted all over the floor. I dashed to reception to explain & she just said the maid had done it. Her solution was to give us more towels. No apology or explanation, a warning or even a bucket to catch the water would have been appreciated.

The two of us are travelling for 3 months so we have a lot of clothes. The room has very little storage and we were only provided with 4 hangers between the two of us, we asked could we possibly have some more but were told they had none. So for two weeks our room was a complete tip.

Every day without fail the maid would make our beds & leave fresh towels and complementary toiletries. But I don't think she actually ever cleaned. The build up of dust after two weeks was disgusting.

The receptionists left at 10pm & returned at 8am. It seemed when she left the air con which is centrally controlled was turned off. After two seriously hot & uncomfortable nights I went to seek out a fan after hours. Found the most brilliant fan in the living area. Seriously if you're staying there go grab the black fan from behind the sofas. It makes things a lot better.

Eating out in Sydney is so expensive. We raided Woolworths one night so we could eat in a few nights using the kitchen facilities. That was a real gross experience. Just don't open the fridge. Trust me you do not want to see what's in there! On the surface everything seems clean but when you start to open drawers it becomes disgusting. Cutlery & pots are unclean, some still with food stuck to them, and there's no efficient way of cleaning them. I grabbed the sponge & bugs crawled out of it. Definitely wasn't touching that again so we started cleaning things in our own sink. Each room has a fridge big enough to store a decent amount of food in so it's definitely a better idea to use that one.

BUT

The location is superb! It took us about 5 minutes to walk to the harbour & the royal botanical gardens are just up the road. It really can't be beaten for the price.

Plus the washing facilities are free which is incredibly handy if you're there for a while like we were.

Even though I wanted to fling the door open each morning to tell the receptionists to politely shut up (I am not a morning person) I would definitely recommend this place purely for the location, free wifi and wash facilities if you are able to ignore the rest of it.

The receptionists were completely oblivious but they were always friendly & polite.

We are students on a budget so do not mind slumming it, we were able to laugh it off but after 2 weeks we were ready to leave/bolt for the exit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    51
    44
    25
    36
See reviews for
22
46
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after a 38 hour flight, stairs were annoying but not too bad we were on the first floor too so it didn't really bother us. When we first arrived the wifi in our room didn't work, the people in reception didn't seem to care and just said that the reception isn't always great?! Despite this after a few days it sorted itself out and the wifi was working. A few days into our stay we woke to find that our fridge was leaking and there was water all over the floor (centimetres away from an ipad and iphone) the lady from reception just said that a maid had turned it off for some reason, as if it was okay. For two travellers it was expensive to eat out every night so we decided to use the kitchen facilities, really wish we hadn't! There is no oven for one thing and the surface area and utensils aren't the cleanest, however we are students so we don't mind scrumming it a tad. The freezer on the other hand was too far! Someone had left a piece of meat in it so it had gone off and now had a collection of dead flies round it! Made me want to vom. The rooms themselves are very small and only a few hangers between two. The beds are very comfy and the wardrobe has a large mirror which is nice. However trying to sleep in the hotel is incredibly difficult, you can hear everything everywhere! There was a
child crying for so many of the nights which the parents seemed to bring into the reception as not to wake anyone else in their room. I know this isn't the hotels fault but they could of asked them to take the child back into the room as not to wake any other guests up! You can constantly hear people thudding up and down the stairs and the sound of people slamming doors! The location of the hotel is great, the free washer and dryer was a huge plus for us too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliK1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Although the hotel itself is a bit of a disappointment in terms of interior, its' position is excellent. You can take the city train direct from the airport and arrive 30 meters from the front door. it is within easy walk of the main points of interest (Chinatown, The Rock, George Street,etc) and surrounded by excellent eating places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels over the years. City Lodge is poor. We got the dreaded room 204. Anyone remember The Shining? It wasn't quite that bad but not far off. Save your money and go somewhere decent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

When you arrive at the City Lodge you first encounter the interesting green art deco outer facade. You then head up a fairly steep stairway to the lobby area where there will almost certainly be nobody around to help you. That's how relaxed the atmosphere is here. But it shouldn't take too long to find someone, and the staff are polite and helpful one you locate one of them. The room was adequate and I enjoyed being able to take a walk around the CBD and down to Circular Quay. The location is very convenient in that regard. The airport shuttle service is shared with other hotels and you need to make sure you are prepared to meet the van. But the ride saved a lot of effort getting across town and was well worth the effort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todo_brilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, just 15 minutes walk from the Art Gallery of NSW and numerous other great spots in Sydney, and just a 5 monute walk to Wynyard Station.

However - I had a terrible accommodation experience! I flew into Sydney from Bangkok, with a meeting the following morning at 9:30am. Instead of benefitting from a good night's sleep, the aircon in my Room (204) was unbelievably loud, equivalent to having a vacuum cleaner switched on in your room all night. The temperature was set excessively low (it felt like 10 degrees Celcius!), and I had to wear all my clothes under the bed covers. Even then I was freezing. The room had no means of altering aircon temperature.

There was no response when I telephoned reception to get assistance (the desk not being manned) (the following morning, staff pointed out a small notice on the far corner of the reception desk giving an alternate number to call in case of problems - perhaps much better to simply re-route the switchboard through to that number when staff disappear at 9:00pm (or provide information on the telephone in each room) rather than expecting guests to paw over the reception desk in the middle of the night hoping to find a clue related to staff contact.

Even removing the room key-card so that power was cut to the entire room did not turn off the aircon for Room 204, which apparently is controlled from somewhere else in the building. I did not sleep the entire night. I absolutely believe that Room 204 simply should not be let to guests in its present condition, unless they give guests the power to control aircon and dampen the excessive noise. It would make an excellent baggage room. For my second (and final) night here, hotel staff moved me to another room (Room 206), which had normal (quiet) aircon and a controller/capacity to switch the aircon on/off, and was just great.

Provided that you avoid Room 204 at all costs - you may well have a pleasant stay here. Note that there is no lift, and Reception is located 2 stories above street level. There is no 'Bell Boy', so if you have any infirmity or difficulty with carting your luggage up the steep stairs to reception, this may not be the hotel for you .......

Note also that Reception staff disappear at 9:00pm. It is really more of a flashpackers than a hotel, really - but great price if you get a room other than the dreaded 204.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 204 AT ALL COSTS. I suspect that several negative reviews of this hotel online may relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lake_Road_B_and_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is OK..... It was clean and in need of modernisation but its in a brilliant location.
There is no lift - which can be hard for those who have limited mobilty - The reception is up on the first floor and when your room is on the 4th it can be a pain to carry all your luggage.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up have air conditioning but be aware that there is no lift and you will have to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#64 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: L 2 15-17 Hunter St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing