We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable birthday”

Sydney Harbour Tall Ships
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.56*
and up
Sydney Harbour Tall Ship Twilight Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are passionate people delivering personal and engaging, inspiring and world class experiences. We treat and respect our customers as if they were family. Our aim is to consistently exceed each customer's expectations as we share the joy of these incredible experiences that have the rare ability to inspire and enrich people's lives. The very nature of these ships , inspire people to DO more, BE more than they ever thought possible. DREAMS can COME TRUE !
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Memorable birthday”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked a twilight tall ships cruise around Sydney harbour, for my birthday. Although it rained during the cruise it was most entertaining due to the on board entertainment and information given of Sydney harbour landmarks, good food, great entertainment and well worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kollectem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    219
    84
    52
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Many thanks to the skipper and his crew for a relaxing, friendly and welcoming cruise. Terrific professional bunch of young people who love what they do. The Soren Larsen is fabulous & views breathtaking. We did a wine & canapés plus overnight stay package. Excellent value.
Re accomodation...well...it is an old ship & the amenities reflect this. Beds very comfortable. Toilets & showers add to the heritage experience! Tip: Go for a cabin furtherest from the toilets & you may get a more restful sleep. The views in the morning are well worth it. A guided tour of goat island finishes off the experience. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debcan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a wonderful afternoon on the tall ship. The view is amazing, the staff are lovely, and it makes for a perfect afternoon. We purchased open bar tickets (but not the mast climb) and they really are generous with alcohol! Thanks for the amazing experience :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing weather but great experience overall”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience despite disappointing weather. The crew were welcoming and friendly and the whole ethos was very relaxed. Great to sail on the Soren Larsen of Onedin Line fame. And she was built not far from us in the UK! My son completed the mast climb and we both loved the chance to help with hauling the sails and chatting with the crew and other passengers. The girls in the galley did a great job with the food and brought round pre lunch snacks to everyone on deck, then served the main course below due to the rain. Overall, a once in a lifetime experience in beautiful surroundings.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann_G55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I booked this as a gift for my husband. We have seen the beauty of the harbour many times and we were really looking forward to this new experience of being on a tall ship, under sails. Every picture advertising this attraction shows a tall ship with sails set. We left Campbell Cove for Darling Harbour under motor, where we drifted until 2.40pm. Let's face it- there is only so much to see in Darling Harbour and one hour is far too long. We asked the skipper Marty and then, Brendan when we would be setting sail. They could not answer this. We eventually went up to Goat Island. During this entire time only one tiny sail was unfurled. It was obvious that there was not enough crew to man the sails. Either that,or a reluctance due to rainy weather. We bought this as a Groupon Deal and thought it would be good value. The food was mediocre. I feel sorry for tourists who probably spend more money on this. It was misrepresented and a big let down.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank j9g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tall_Ships_1920, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour Tall Ships, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking your time and reviewing Sydney Harbour Tall Ships.

Preserving authentic Tall Ships and sharing sailing experience with our guests is our main priority.

We appreciate your feedback and would like to explain some of the comments made in your review.

Sailing a tall ship isn’t as easy as it may seem, especially in Sydney harbour when the wind direction keeps changing, which was the case during your cruise.
The reason why we don’t set all sails during a 2 hour harbour cruise is actually to maximize the sailing time. With too many sails, the ship would sail the harbour too fast and we would have to motor longer to come back.

We believe that the time spent “sailing” is what is truly unique about our experience because it is a rare opportunity to enjoy a relaxing time in complete silence. Sometimes we sail fast, sometimes slow: Each experience is different as we can’t predict the winds, but our goal is to give our passengers the best Tall Ship sailing.

Now if you were disappointed with your trip with us, please feel free to contact us direct on 1800 TALL SHIP, we would be happy to offer you complementary tickets to come back at another time and hope for stronger winds.

We hope you will find our answer helpful and we look forward to hearing back from you soon.
Hope this response helped in clearing up your questions about our cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Harbour Tall Ships also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Harbour Tall Ships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing