We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fratelli Fresh

Fratelli Fresh
Reserve with
Fratelli Fresh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,511 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City East
Description: Fratelli Fresh is Sydney's leading providore, specialising in fresh produce and serving up authentic Italian fine food. Our menu heroes the very best of Italian cooking, where simplicity meets robust flavours and fresh produce. The flavours are simple and big, the portions generous, and the menu is extensive with a mixture of savoury dishes and pasta options.
Vbackpacker
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's good pasta but over priced for what it is. The service however is appalling. I have been there a number of times, it's just up the street, but the wait staff treat you like you're invisible. Not just when your trying to get a table, but when your trying to order or even pay the bill. It has been the same every time I've been there and after this last experience, despite it's convenience, I won't be going back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    88
    50
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff leave a nasty taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to this place on a Sat night was a little busy and had to wait for a table , about 30 minutes,this was to be expected.
The staff to a person were not happy . It looked as if someone had stolen there Toys and they were being punished. So they took their frustrations out on the diners - make them wait as long as we can, lets have empty tables with people standing around, don't bring their drinks till they ask 3 times , make sure there dining experience is as bad as we can make it. When asked about the house wine we got no response, the waitress left & returned & then shoved the wine list on the table , no words spoken from her. We ordered drinks which took longer than the entrees to arrive ( & they weren't fast!). Wanted coffee & dessert but they lost the order! Despite the worst efforts of the wait staff , the food was quite good but not good enough to compensate for the worst service we have had any where in the world!!!! what a disgrace. We will not return even though we live around the corner & we will ensure we pass the word on ....do not go here. This is not the first time we have been here but will be the last as the service is consistently rude!!!
Not even the best food can make up for such rude staff though.It costs the staff nothing to smile and be happy,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Macsontour20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, happy, great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was lucky enough to eat at Fratelli Fresh for the first time and again in the space of a couple of days. The entrees and main meals can be very rich and creamy, even to the extent some patrons commented to the waiter about this but I would encourage the chefs not to change. On the other hand, the desserts are not as rich as you might expect, but full of joy nonetheless. Beginning the meal left me very happy but not so much that I thought this is the best food I have ever eaten. However as I began my pasta, an orecheitte with extraordinary clear lemon butter sauce (hiding at the bottom) and later the duck ragu I was seriously impressed. The ragu was on the sweet side but the orechiette ranks among the best pasta I have ever eaten. Compared to Fratelli Paradiso (no relation, but with which it is often pared) this is a less formal, less sophisticated, more generous, brighter and more friendly restaurant. the flavours are fresher but perhaps not as subtle - and the staff enjoy passing plates of food over the table when they could easily put it in front of you themselves. Check out the supermarket and coooking supplies on your way through.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 418Fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost as good as Fratelli Paradiso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cafe style version of Paradiso - good food and wine, attentive service, Italian providor a bonus for the take home crowd

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Always fresh, always seasonal, always genuine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This has become one of my favourite places for fine casual dining. Their ragùs are top class and vary with the seasons (I've had the lamb and the duck varieties). Located within a grocery store and with a chalkboard menu, every dish is full of flavour and the wines are tried and tested. The banoffee pie for dessert is to die for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GekkoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli Fresh also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fratelli Fresh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing