We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will definitely come back to Potts Point because of their staff and its stylish establishment!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Potts Point

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quest Potts Point
Ranked #77 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I will definitely come back to Potts Point because of their staff and its stylish establishment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed at Quest Potts Point in Feb 2011. I was planning to stay there for 5 nights but I had to shorten my stay because of health problem.
The staff at Potts Point were so caring and helpful. They did their very best to make sure I was OK. I only stayed one night then I had to leave on the following day. Despite my illness, I enjoyed the breakfast and I really like the establishment; it's so stylish and nicely decorated. I will definitely choose Potts Point when I return to Sydney!

Georges Poon
(Hong Kong)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeshkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    170
    82
    36
    32
See reviews for
43
159
54
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

General
We really enjoyed our 5 day stay at Quest Potts point. The staff always tried their best to be friendly and helpful.
We found it quite safe staying in Kings cross- most of the other visitors we found were also females.
Transport
We arrived late so no shuttle buses were available. Took the train, it was easy enough- if you travel light. The place was quite easy to find (I had a look at google maps and had a walking gps though). When the trains were working it was really handy- less than 5 minutes and we were out in the city and if we missed the train it was just another 5 minute wait. HOWEVER, we were unfortunate enough to have trackworks on a couple of days of our stay which meant that we had to catch connecting buses. Probably would not recommend you stay there when there are trackworks.
Food
The breakfast was nothing great, luckily it was included in our price otherwise we would have gone out to the many cafes in the area.
Room
We stayed in a petite room which was just enough for us. Comfy queen bed, nice pillows. We had a look at the other rooms- huge and decorated very nicely. We had huge problems with the airconditioning at the hotel (and heard that other guests were having the same problem but 42 degree heat, who can blame them) but the staff were very nice and bought us a fan.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potts15, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Potts Point, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Quest Potts Point and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Getting to Quest Potts Point from the airport on public transport is quite quick and easy, although we do generally recommend getting a taxi if there are two travelers, or a lot of luggage! We are sorry to hear that there were track works being performed while you were here, which is a shame because they aren’t scheduled too often.

We would also like to apologise for problems you experienced with the air-conditioning. We did have a heat wave in Sydney, and we have had our maintenance team address this problem to prevent discomfit to our guests in the future.

We are happy to hear that you found the Petite Suite comfortable for your needs and if we would love to hear from you if you plan to return. Please feel free to contact our team if there is anything you wish to discuss.

Kind Regards,
Quest Potts Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel claims to be rated the best in Sydney in its category. It is certainly very well appointed and quite expensively and tastefully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel claims to be in Potts Point, a high class residential suburb, but it is literally accross the road from Kings Cross - the centre of Sydney's red light district and a gathering point for the great unwashed! Nevertheless, the position is quiet and peacefull and we were never bothered by the proximity to the fleshpots. Also, the underground station is 200 yards from the door. On the downside, our bedroom was small and the shower room was tiny and impracticable - it seemed to have been created for design rather than practicality . But all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

An average hotel. Not nice to spot pubic hair looking hair on the wall while standing in the shower and I was the first in the family to enter the shower so obviously there from a previous customer. Good location though!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potts15, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Potts Point, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this chance to apologise for your experience. We want to assure you that this is not acceptable to us, and should you wish to take this matter further please contact our property directly and ask for the general manager.
Our hotel is located in a great area, close to the city and great restaurants and cafes in Potts Point, and we like to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay and enjoy their time with us.
Kind Regards,
Quest Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. As a frequent traveller this is a comfortable and clean hotel with a great team of staff who know the area and sites of Sydney. Am looking forward to a return stay soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarwinRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I have stayed at this Quest three times. This place used to be clean and had small but very well appointed rooms. It has now become a dirty hole-in-the-wall. It is amazing so see such decline in only a year's time. The carpets are filthy, the walls are scuffed, the bathroom and kitchenette were dirty... Really a sad experience this time around. I love this location for New Year's Eve, but I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcnyc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potts15, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Potts Point, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back regarding your recent stay with us Quest Potts Point. Quest Potts Point is certainly in a great location for New Years Eve, with a number of restaurants close by and an easy walk to the city so we do feel sorry that you did not have a positive experience this time. We will certainly address the issues that you have raised regarding our room maintenance and housekeeping. We apologise that this was not satisfactory as we do value our return customers. Management has taken on board your comments and is currently working at addressing them.

Please feel free to email management and if you do choose to stay with Quest Potts Point on your next visit to Sydney, we will make sure you are offered some compensation for your dissatisfaction this stay.

Kind Regards,

Quest Potts Point Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

A poor experience we would not recommend to anyone.

We chose Quest to be near to a New Year's Eve party so we could walk home without worrying about the lack of taxis. If it weren't for this location benefit we would have moved out and not suffered the troubled 3 night stay.

We should point out that at New Year's peak season all room prices are increased ridiculously and the hotel was full. That meant we were paying US$450 for a moderate sized room in a small hotel with few facilities (no pool, room service, no free wifi). We were initially in a petite suite but swapped rooms with a single friend travelling with us as a petite suite was absurdly small for 2 people and luggage.

Most disappointing was management's handling of issues. It was high summer and 30C++ outside and our room had a malfunctioning aircon unit - which staff would not admit. Despite paying US$450 we had to 'sleep' sweating with just a small electric fan on high speed for 2 nights. Staff's initial response was that it was my fault for turning the aircon temp too low (at 17C) so they restarted the aircon claiming that would fix it. The room was like a sauna at this point. We reported it not working again later that day and were told a technician had checked it and reported it was fine. We struggled on with the fan. We were standing in the much cooler hallway and overheard guests in a nearby room with the door open also complaining about the lack of aircon so we know we weren't alone. It was obvious the aircon unit required a re-gas to fix the problem. If management had just admitted the problem, apologised for the discomfort and offered us some recompense starting with a room discount, free breakfast and wifi, we would have been more understanding. Technical issues on a public holiday do happen and can be resolved if you work with guests. Blaming them and hiding the problem to avoid any financial impact has the opposite effect.

I was intending to ask for a refund for our remaining prepaid night and mentioned this to a friend travelling with us staying in a similar room at Quest. He reported a problem with his shower to the manager, received a similar arrogant management response and a refund refusal.

Buyer beware!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potts15, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Potts Point, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at Quest Potts Point. We do understand that New Year’s Eve is an expensive time to travel, and as Quest Potts Point is a smaller, boutique hotel, we don’t have the all the facilities that you can find at larger chain hotels such as a swimming pool. However we do have features such as breakfast in Red Belly, tapas bar and the great view from our rooftop terrace.

We would like to take this chance to sincerely apologise that you were not satisfied with the response from our team during your stay especially concerning the problems with the air-conditioning and to assure you that this is not normal. We usually receive very positive feedback on our customer service

If you do choose to stay at Quest Potts Point in the future, please make contact with management and we will make sure you are offered some compensation for your next stay.

We wish you all the best for 2011

Quest Potts Point Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Potts Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Potts Point

Property: Quest Potts Point
Address: 15 Springfield Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Potts Point 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Potts Point is the latest boutique hotel to open in a remarkable Art Deco building in the heart of Sydney’s Potts Point. Containing 70 studios and suites, Quest Potts Point is a contemporary 'home away from home' ideally located for exploring the city and moments away from Sydney CBD, the Royal Botanical Gardens, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House, and Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Quest Potts Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Potts Point Sydney
Quest Potts Point Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing