We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value; great ambience and facilities”
Review of Quest Potts Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Potts Point
Ranked #79 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Firstly, the management of this hotel has been taken over by Quest Apartments (www.questpottspoint.com.au). So far as I can tell, however, nothing has been changed in the excellent decor, and customer service.
I agree that the rooms are quite small, but the really clever use of space, colour, and mirrors totally compensates. For a hotel that was refurbished about 2 years ago, it is still in 'as new' condition and a great deal better than many 4 or even 5 star properties. The addition of comprehensive cooking facilities just adds to the appeal, though with so many of Sydney's best restaurants just around the corner, one hardly needs to bother. But the offering of vacuum packed ground coffee to feed the coffee press in the room was extremely welcome on waking up. If you want to enjoy a takeaway, there is a great rooftop terrace with a magnificent view of the city.
Comments about noise will depend on which room you get. The more expensive ones with picture windows do look out on the street and could be noisy at weekends. Mine was a superior studio facing a side alley - and therefore a wall some 10 feet away, but the compensation was total silence at night.
The bed is very comfortable, the bathroom quite sharp and practical, and the presence of limited cable to supplement the free TV channels is a plus as is the availability of broadband.
The comments about the safety of the area will depend on what you find challenging. Yes, Kings Cross is the primary nightlife area, so there may be rowdy people, and there are sex shops, but to suggest it is basically unsafe is entirely incorrect. It is so busy and well-policed that you are more likely to be robbed in the Sydney city centre which tends to die after working hours. Also it must be said that if you turn the other way down Macleay Street, you will be in an area which has become very gentrified over the past few years and offers some of Sydneys best cafes, restaurants, and shopping. If it is entertainment you want, then the other direction leads to the best nightclubs.
Great value at A$145 per night (approx US$100). I will undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Quest Potts Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 537 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed at the Storrier on Nov 22-23, 2008. We booked directly with the hotel for a "petite studio" for 140 AUS/ 98 US per night, and were very happy with our decision. We took the Skybus from the airport, which was great because it dropped us right in front of the hotel, but the place is really close to the King's Cross subway station but a little tricky to find, especially if you are jetlagged! The room was tiny but well appointed and pristine. Although it was so small, it felt luxurious anyway because they really got it right with the details. The bed was comfy and the bathroom very clean. There's a minibar plus a microwave and plates, glassses, and cutlery, and a small table, so if you want, you can dine in. I was pleasantly surprised with the kitchen stuff and the other amenities, which included Molton Brown bath products. There's also a large Storrier print (duh) on the wall and a matching wine bottle. The staff was friendly and helpful too ( especially one desk clerk who printed off directions for us). Points off for the shower (there's no door or separator, just a curtain so things get messy) and the bathroom is really really small. It can get pretty noisy at night and in the early morning, but it was charming to hear birds (as well as trucks) at 8 AM. Unfortunately, we didn't get to see the roofdeck because it was booked for a private function one night and it was rainy the next night. They have a restaurant, The Red Belly, but we ended up eating at a great casual Japanese restaurant across the street from King's Cross station. The location has its pros and cons - it's a young, cool neighborhood with loads of bars and restaurants and really lively on Saturday night (the hotel is right by a dance club). It's about 20 minutes' walking distance from the harbor, if you don't get lost, and right by the subway, which takes you everywhere. Problem is, the subway isn't as frequent as other big cities, so it can take up to 45 minutes to an hour to get to the Rocks or the Circular Quay if you are unlucky. We didn't mind it so much, but if you're keen in being close to "the sights," the Storrier may not be for you. We were extremely satisfied with it, though - they used every inch of space wisely and include everything you need in the room. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We loved the location of the hotel. Easy access to city rail and it is the middle op hip neighbourhood with lots great restaurants, delli kind food stores. In the hotel room there is kitchenette with everything you need to cook breakfast or warm up delicious food from local dellis. The bed is comfy and we had inner courtyard room without nice view but very quiet. Rooms are on smaller side but not so small as mentioned in the earlier reviews. The bathroom was indeed quite small but we managed to shower and shave there;)
The hotel staff is very friendly
The only problem we had was mini bar charges incuring twice for the things we did not take. But on the other hand, reception corrected that right away.
I did not like though the fact that they charge you for WIFI. Come on, it is 21st age, even some big business chain hotels changing their policy and provide internet free of charge ( or as a part of their total service) and to my opinion, smaller, boutique hotels really should have it available without any extra cost.
I would definately return to this hotel if WIFI is free of charge. This is actually the only reason I am not giving excellent rate for this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed at the Storrier for 4 nights in October. There are good and bad points about the hotel.

The good: the hotel itself is very nice. The rooms were a little small, nice and clean. The interior decor is very funky. There are heaps of restaurants, bars and nightlife nearby. The Kings Cross subway station is only a minute walk away.

The bad: To get to the hotel you have to walk either along an alley or a past a dodgy street area. It may be called Potts Point, but the other side of the street is Kings Cross. It didn't feel very safe walking to the hotel late at night.

The Holiday Inn Potts Point is about 50m away, but it's a very important 50m. It felt a lot safer walking to the Holiday Inn, we would walk to the Holiday Inn and the catch a taxi for the last 50m to the hotel door.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

WE stayed three nights in a Petite Studio at $140 a night, which was a reasonable price comparatively.
The room was very small, which we expected, and stylishly furnished. We found the staff to be very efficient and friendly.
On the down side, the worst thing about the hotel was the area. Not being from Sydney, we didn't realise Potts Point (or Kings Cross) is as bad as it really is. The hotel is smack in the middle of the red light district and, although we like some urban grunge, the drug activity is scary and right in your face. We didn't feel safe walking around after dark.
The second major complaint we had was the shower. It's hard to believe a hotel could have such a poor hot water system. In the end, I only used the hot tap for showering and the temperature alternated between hot and freezing cold. My partner didn't have any luck either.
There were a few other disappointments worth mentioning.
1) There was a black pillow on our bed which was filthy dirty. I put it aside so it could be changed with the other linen but the next day it appeared again on our bed- just as dirty.
2) Our room was on the ground floor and quite noisy. We got woken up, not just by outside noise, but noise from the lobby and corridor (like people vacuuming outside our door early in the morning).
All of that said, our stay was okay and not terrible. THe price was quite reasonable compared to others we looked at. We did look at moving hotel but there was no vacancy where we wanted, so in the end we decided it was easier to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ashgirlMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We recently stayed in Sydney at The Storrier and found it to be one of the best Hotels we've stayed at. We live in a regional area and are known for our friendliness so when staying at the Storrier we found it was like staying at a Hotel at home.
Im jealous though, the rooms were better than my own bedroom. Staff were great and very helpful especially allowing us to leavew our car earlier than check-in time so we could relax and see the sites of the city without woorying about the car. Great access to buses, taxis, trains and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Will definetly recommend it and would love to stay again. Thankyou very muchly!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ratchet7112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Had a lovely time at the Storrier! -Great location, close to great coffee (Fratelli's-yum!) walking distance to all my favourite Sydney things; Oxford Street and Ariel bookshop, the Gallery of NSW, the Botanic Gardens and the Darlo for a drink. The Hotel is well appointed, the beds are comfy and the staff are warm,friendly and professional with out being overcooked. We stayed in an executive studio, and it was compact but well designed with a perfect little kitchen. Tucked away off the main street it was surprisingly very quiet for such a busy area. Definitely going back to The Storrier.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank the_artist40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 178 in Sydney
860 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#109 of 178 in Sydney
141 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#99 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Potts Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Potts Point

Address: 15 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $125 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Potts Point 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Potts Point is the latest boutique hotel to open in a remarkable Art Deco building in the heart of Sydney’s Potts Point. Containing 70 studios and suites, Quest Potts Point is a contemporary 'home away from home' ideally located for exploring the city and moments away from Sydney CBD, the Royal Botanical Gardens, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney Opera House, and Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Potts Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Potts Point Sydney
Quest Potts Point Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing